StudentsReview :: Arizona State University - Comments and Student Experiences
  
-or-
Search for Schools by Region
 

or within distance of city

Similar Schools
Alabama State University -- Montgomery, AL
Duke University -- Durham, NC
Arkansas State University -- Jonesboro, AR


  Who's got the Best?

Perceptual Rankings:
You Make 'Em.
We Post 'Em.
You Vote 'Em Up.
You Vote 'Em Down.
Aww yeah.


Arizona State University

Select Comment

Positive Neutral Negative Advice

There are 149 Comments

Sort By: [Date] [Major] [Rating]  

View

Cost to attend is very high

Dec 06 2013Art & Design Department
Cost to attend is very high. ASU touts that they have low tuition. I think it's comparable. But watch out for the fees! Sometimes, they can exceed over $1000/semester.

Here's a sample:

2014 Sprng Special Class Fees (AME 385) 50.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Special iCourse Fee 50.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Special Class Fee (AME 394) 50.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Special Class Fee (ART 294) 50.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Financial Aid Trust Fee Tempe 44.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Recreation Fee 25.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Technology Fee 50.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Health and Wellness Fee 40.00 01/08/2014
2014 Sprng Student Programs Fee 25.00 01/08/20142014 Sprng Student Services Facility Fee 75.00 01/08/2014

3rd Year Female -- Class 2015
Surrounding City: A, Individual Value: F

Engineering Program - The engineering program has great

Oct 26 2013Engineering Department
Engineering Program - The engineering program has great ratings. Of course the first semester or two of classes you take are generic and can be extremely boring. It's a nice mix though to take your normal classes with other majors however. They really try to get you involved in the engineering moment from the moment you get to campus, sort of like a cult. E2 Camp for engineers absolutely sucks, but if you are out of state and don't know many people at ASU I'd recommend going, easy way to make friends and hopefully some attractive chicks.Social Life - If your a girl( and not horribly ugly), sorority or not, you will find invites to parties here beyond plentiful. If your a guy, the first few weeks you can get in to frat parties and such, either by showing up with a lot of girls or meeting some frat dudes before hand. After rush though expect these invites to be gone forever, unless you rush you will not be welcome by the frats anymore regardless of how many girls you bring. Try to make friends in the off campus apartments(especially the hub, district, 922 Place and Vista) a lot of smaller parties and "kick backs" occur here. Off campus house parties are popular as well, but finding them is semi-exclusive unless you know the hosts. To sum it up: If you want parties on a weekend basis as a guy, rush a frat. For girls, being in a sorority is just basically ensuring you will never go partyless, even though everyone will invite you anyway. I'm not 21 so I can't comment on Mill Ave. but many say it's a very fun time. You can get away with a lot in dorms (DONT PLAY LOUD MUSIC). Try not to get an MIC the first week either.
1st Year Male -- Class 2017
Individual Value: A, Useful Schoolwork: B

If I didn't have such a specialized major

Mar 03 2014Other
If I didn't have such a specialized major I would go somewhere else. I work two jobs to pay for my own school and get good grades.

Parking and Transit at the Polytechnic Campus is one of the most useless departments. There is enough parking for all students so there should be no need to charge such a high amount for parking. I already pay thousands in tuition to attend school I shouldn't have to pay extra to be on campus.

Student Accounts is absolutely useless all they do is direct you somewhere else. If you have a question they can't answer they just repeat the same thing over and over. They can not help anyone with any charges. I don't understand what they are there for. There are also additional fees on top of tuition totaling around $800. They're for various things like property maintenance and using the gym. I don't understand why that isn't already included in tuition. Also there is a tuition disbursement charge. If you look up what its for essentially it is a charge for majors who's potential careers have high earning, Air Traffic Control, Medical, Law, etc. They charge you more cause they anticipate you earning more. Don't be fooled though, they don't guarantee you a job or even an interview anywhere, you still have to do that all on your own, but they charge you extra just to get a bit more out of you.

If you ask what you get out of your tuition they'll tell you an education. When you go to your Math 101 or Chemistry 101 class you're in an auditorium with a couple hundred other students being taught by a teachers aid. If you need help, the professor will just direct you to the TA. ASU is so large they can't provide students with a quality education because they are so stuck on quantity.

ASU is not a school designed to promote education as a whole. It is there to make money to promote themselves. They want your tuition to pay for projects to make themselves appear to be more appealing.

Look up how much they want to put into the football stadium. Then think about some of that money being applied to your tuition and your friends' tuition. How many students could graduate without loans for that amount of money?

I referred to students away from ASU and they both got full ride scholarships elsewhere. One went to Iowa the other to Georgia. At the schools they attend, they aren't nickel and dimed through fees, they get all the services they need covered in tuition. Plus all the departments actually assist them when they need help, they are not directed to another place, who can't help them either.

If you want to go to ASU make sure you are aware of what you are paying for. Taking an online class has a fee, parking has a fee (at the Tempe campus its around $900 and if you're in the wrong lot, prepare for a $50 ticket), being a part of a certain major has extra tuition charges, and when you graduate, they will still call you for more money. If you have the opportunity to attend somewhere else, do it. Don't waste your money on ASU because they don't actually work to help you.

4th Year Female -- Class 2014
Education Quality: A+, Individual Value: F
Want to Learn More?
Get free info from: Arizona State University
Powered by CampusExplorer.com
 

Similar Schools

Alabama State University -- Montgomery, AL

Duke University -- Durham, NC

Arkansas State University -- Jonesboro, AR

About Us | Advertise! | Press
Send Comments/Suggestions to: sradmin@studentsreview.com.

Copyright © 2000-2014. StudentsReview, All Rights Reserved.
 

 

Disclaimer: StudentsReview makes no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of this site, and expressly disclaims liability for errors and omissions in the contents of this site. Furthermore, StudentsReview is not affiliated with any University or Institution.

All Universities in AZ, College Search, College Rankings