StudentsReview :: Florida International University - Graduate (MS/PhD) Ratings
-or-
Search for Schools by Region
 

or within distance of city

Similar Schools
Florida State University -- Tallahassee, FL
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University -- Tallahassee, FL
Florida Atlantic University -- Boca Raton, FL


  Who's got the Best?

Perceptual Rankings:
You Make 'Em.
We Post 'Em.
You Vote 'Em Up.
You Vote 'Em Down.
Aww yeah.


Florida International University

Total Grad Surveys 20
Females 10
Males 10
Avg years at University 2.8
Research Quality B (7.1)
Research Availability B (6.9)
Research Funding C+ (5.7)
Graduate Politics B- (6.4)
Errand Runners B- (6.1)
Degree Completion B (6.7)
Alternative pay [ta/gsi] B+ (7.8)
Sufficient Pay B- (6.4)
Competitiveness B- (6.3)
Education Quality B (6.7)
Faculty Accessibility B+ (7.5)
Useful Research B+ (7.8)
"Individual" treatment C+ (5.5)
Friendliness C+ (5.5)
Safety A- (8.1)
Campus Beauty B+ (7.3)
Campus Maintenance B+ (7.5)
University Resource/spending B (7.0)
Extracurriculars B (7.0)
Success-Understanding B (7.1)
Surrounding City B+ (8.1)
Social Life/Environment B (7.0)
FriendlinessC+
SafetyA-

Dr. Lakshmi N

Aug 20 2014Computer Engineering
Dr. Lakshmi N. Reddi, Dean
University Graduate School
Florida International University
PC 230, Modesto A. Maidique Campus
11200 Southwest 8th Street
Miami, Florida 33199
Email:

Dr. Kang K. Yen, Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
FIU College of Engineering and Computing
10555 West Flagler St. EC3900
Miami, Florida 33174
Email:
Re: Jose J. Garcia ? Panther ID 1390133
Dear Dr. Reddi and Dr. Yen:

The undersigned law firm has been retained by Mr. Jose J. Garcia (Panther ID 1390133) to assist in ascertaining the propriety of his dismissal from Florida International University?s (?FIU?) College of Engineering and Design Graduate Program (?Graduate Engineering Program). Pursuant to FIU?s Academic Grievance Procedure, we are submitting this Informal Grievance Letter on behalf of Mr. Garcia. Mr. Garcia?s grievance is as follows:

In November 2000, Mr. Garcia was accepted into FIU?s Graduate Engineering Program, where he received his Master?s Degree. Thereafter, in July 2002, Mr. Garcia was accepted to FIU?s Graduate Engineering Program for pursuit of his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering.

In January 2004, Mr. Garcia submitted the required form for the Appointment of Dissertation Committee (?Form D-1?) with ?Networking? identified as the subject of his dissertation. Mr. Garcia?s dissertation committee consisted of the following professors: Dr. Kia Makki (Major Professor), Dr. Shih-Ming Lee, Dr. Subbarao Wunnava, Dr. Tadeusz Babij, Dr. Jean Andrian, and Dr. Syed Ahmed. Thereafter, in November 2004, Mr. Garcia submitted the form for the Program for Doctoral Degree and Application for Candidacy (?Form D-2?) and he was advanced a candidate for the Ph.D.

In November 2007, Dr. Makki advised Mr. Garcia that he ?did not understand? what Mr. Garcia was trying to do in his dissertation and that another committee member should be identified as Major Professor. The other committee members declined and one member advised Mr. Garcia that his project would be very difficult to implement. Dr. Makki identified a new Major Professor, Dr. Jian Wang, and on Dr. Wang?s recommendation, Mr. Garcia changed his dissertation topic to ?Optical Routers.?

When Mr. Garcia attempted to submit the form for the Appointment of Revised Dissertation Committee (?Form D-1r?) to reflect the changes, Dr. Makki advised him that Form D-1r was not necessary because he remained the Major Professor and would supervise the project. Notwithstanding these representations, Dr. Makki later advised Mr. Garcia that the dissertation subject would have to be changed a third time. On November 19, 2007, Mr. Garcia submitted Form D-1 identifying ?Wireless Telecommunications? identified as the new dissertation area. Per Dr. Makki?s instructions that same day, Mr. Garcia submitted the form for the Doctoral Dissertation Proposal (?Form D-3?), but Mr. Garcia?s proposal was returned by the Graduate School due to grammatical and language revisions.

On April 7, 2008, Mr. Garcia submitted Form D-1r, to reflect the new composition of his dissertation committee. Dr. Stavros Georgakopoulos replaced Dr. Kia Makki as the Major Professor, and Dr. Subbarao Wunnava would no longer be serving on the committee. No replacement was identified for Dr. Wunnava at that time. That same day, Mr. Garcia submitted Form D-3.

On November 7, 2008, Mr. Garcia received an email from Stephan Mintz, Ph.D., Associate Dean of the Graduate School, noting deficiencies in his dissertation proposal, and the need to have the proposal revised and reviewed by the dissertation committee prior to submission to the Graduate School. Dr. Mintz also acknowledged the need to have a Major Professor identified immediately. Mr. Garcia forwarded Dr. Mintz?s email to another FIU employee and acknowledged the changes to the committee?s composition and the need for revisions.

From Fall 2008 through August 2009, Mr. Garcia continuously emailed Dr. Georgakopoulos. The nature of these emails consisted primarily of updates on Mr. Garcia?s research and drafting of his dissertation. Furthermore, Mr. Garcia also advised Dr. Georgakopoulos of other publications being submitted to the Latin American & Caribbean Consortium of Engineering Institutions (?LACCEI?), to which seven (7) papers were submitted, published, and presented at LACCEI?s 9th Latin American and Caribbean Conference for Engineering and Technology during August 3-5, 2011, in Medellin, Colombia. Dr. Georgakopoulos stopped providing feedback to Mr. Garcia in November 2008.

On or about August 24, 2010, a meeting was held with Kevin O?Shea, then-Interim Dean of the Graduate School, Dr. Victoria Castellanos, and Dr. Georgakopoulos, where Mr. Garcia was advised of the nine-year deadline for the completion of his Ph.D. According to Mr. Garcia, Dr. Georgakopoulos advised him that an external dissertation committee had been formed to evaluate his dissertation.

As a follow up to the August 24, 2010 meeting, on September 3, 2010, Dr. Amir Mirmiran, Dean of FIU?s College of Engineering and Computing, and Dr. O?Shea sent Mr. Garcia a letter summarizing his submissions of the requisite dissertation forms, advising him of missed deadlines, and providing an action plan for completion of his dissertation. The letter does not address the formation of any external committee.

The September 3, 2010 letter goes on to state that in order for Mr. Garcia to graduate by the summer of 2011 (in accordance with FIU?s 9-year limit policy), he would have been required to submit his Form D-3 by July 1, 2010. The September 3, 2010 letter emphasizes that Mr. Garcia should not pursue a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering, but rather receive a Master?s Degree, however instructions for the completion of the dissertation were given. Specifically, Mr. Garcia was advised of the following:

1. The dissertation committee would need to be reconstituted, and Form D-1r would need to be submitted by October 1, 2010. Committee members were identified, along with the designation of Dr. Kang Yen as Major Professor.

2. The development and approval of a Dissertation Research Proposal (?Form D-3?) by the dissertation committee. The defense of the proposal in front of the dissertation committee and the approval of Form D-3 must occur by December 13, 2010.

3. Completion of dissertation research. Having the approved Form D-3 on file with FIU would allow a one year extension to the 9-year time limit to complete the dissertation.

4. Submission of the form for the Preliminary Approval of Dissertation and Request for Oral Defense (?Form D-5?) by October 24, 2011; submission of the form for the Dissertation Defense Report (?Form D-6?) by November 14, 2011; and submission of the form for the Final Approval of Dissertation (?Form D-7?) by December 9, 2011.

On November 23, 2011, Dr. Mirmiran and Dr. Reddi, Dean of the Graduate School, sent another letter in follow up to a meeting held with Mr. Garcia regarding the conclusion of his doctoral degree studies at FIU. The November 23, 2011 letter mentions that Mr. Garcia appeared on two (2) occasions in front of the dissertation committee and received feedback and guidance. The letter goes on to state that Mr. Garcia?s dissertation draft does not consist of quantity and quality of original research necessary to compile an acceptable dissertation draft and submission of Form D-5 and that Mr. Garcia did not adhere to the November 14, 2011, deadline for the successful defense of his dissertation.

Mr. Garcia?s dissertation theme has changed several times on the advice of faculty prior to September 2010, due in part to Mr. Garcia?s lack of substantive mentorship from both Dr. Makki and Dr. Georgakopoulos. As a result, we are submitting this Informal Grievance letter pursuant to FIU?s Grievance Procedure within ten (10) university days after classes began for the Spring 2012 semester. We believe that FIU?s Grievance Procedure covers Mr. Garcia?s dismissal, because said dismissal is the result of:

(1) ?unprofessional conduct by a professor which adversely affects either a student?s ability to satisfy academic expectations, . . . or the student?s actual performance;? and

(2) ?improper counseling by an adviser.?
The failure by Dr. Makki and Dr. Georgakopoulos to properly serve as Major Professors to Mr. Garcia adversely affected his ability to meet expectations associated with the dissertation component. Moreover, the multiple changes to the dissertation theme on the recommendation of Dr. Makki constituted improper counseling that resulted in a large portion of the 9-year window period to be wasted on fruitless research and drafting. Such time could have been dedicated to editing and refining language and grammatical issues faced by Mr. Garcia, which is considered common among extremely intelligent individuals that speak multiple languages? five (5) languages in the case of Mr. Garcia.

Based on the foregoing, we kindly request, at your earliest convenience and per FIU?s Informal Grievance Procedure, a meeting with Dr. Reddi, Dr. Mirmiran, and Dr. Yen, to address how the sub-standard mentorship and counsel provided to Mr. Garcia effectively prevented him from completing the Ph.D. program in time.

I look forward to your timely cooperation.
Sincerely,
ESPINOSA | JOMARRON
By: Jesmany Jomarron, Esq.
cc: Via Email only
Dr. Amir Mirmiran, Dean,
Dr. Kevin O?Shea, Associate Dean,
Dr. Victoria Castellanos, Associate Dean,
Dr. Stavros Georgakopoulos, Professor,
Dr. Kia Makki, Professor,

Question

I received a degree from FIU in 1999,

Mar 06 2014Other
I received a degree from FIU in 1999, but returned to enroll in a different masters program in 2012. I had negative experiences with both the university administration and the professors administering the particular department in which I was enrolled. On the FIU administrative level, we were charged a fee of $230.00 per credit above and beyond the standard grad in-state tuition of $422.16. This increased the program cost by $14,000.00. This fee was not properly disclosed to students. When I began to ask about it, I was told by 2 different administrators that without it being charged, the program would be shut down. However, they would not tell me the purpose to which the money was applied. Through my inquiries, I found that the fee had never been properly and legally assessed and approved.

On the departmental level, one of the central professors gives exams that contain invalid questions. Some questions require knowledge that was not made available in the course. Others were so poorly written that it was difficult to understand what was being asked. This professor assigned no other work than 3 exams per course. If you receive a grade below B (including B-) you have to pay and retake the course. If that happens twice, it is grounds for your termination from the program, which means all your tuition money, study efforts, and time in practica will be lost. This professor never changed his exams, so students had been able to obtain them previously when the courses were given online. Students were studying from the exams, and knew that was the only way they could pass. Those who "cheated" passed, and those who didn't cheat failed. I tried to communicate with this professor, but he was intransigent and would not admit that anything was wrong.I was appalled by the lack of professional ethics at FIU.

Question

Waist of time and money

Sep 15 2013Biology
Waist of time and money. You get your degree from this university and you will have problems with finding jobs. University is not doing enough, actually nothing, to help its graduate students to find jobs. In fact some of the advisors are discouraging their students from continuing doing research, even if they accomplished a lot. It's like they want to eliminate competition. Post graduate mentoring is a fiction in most cases. There are some great faculty members and some that just want to produce as many graduate students as possible, which helps them get their tenures. It's like a factory; students don't matter much, what matters is numbers; how many grad students they produced. Some graduate students are briliant and some should never ever be admitted even close to PhD or in some cases, masters program. University prestige should be measured based on hoe many students upon graduation can find jobs. Unfortuntelly, FIU would not be in the first 50. The campus is too Cubanized. I am not a racist but this name, International University, should mean something. If it is latin/cuban oriented university only, than it should be renamed to Florida Cuban University. No one except for cubans cares about this third world country. All communist countries freed themselves, but cuba. Rediculous! There should be some rule about diversity at this university. All the comments that I see here are not too far from truth. Even though I met some amazing people here, the local people are just lazy and think abut how to get the degree the easiest possible way without overworking themselves. I would not recommend FIU. I love the campus appearance but this cubanization, especially in administration should stop NOW.
Question

This is a pretty good university

Nov 08 2011Business - Management and Administration
This is a pretty good university. People (student and staff) are approachable, friendly, and knowledgeable. After attending Florida State University for my undergrad, I can't say FIU has a gorgeous campus, but I can say, they have great student life/spirit. There is always an activity, a fair, or something going on. The campus itself isn't ugly, and they are definitely improving, but it still needs some work to look like those impressive universities we see up north.

You will find a whole lot of people from everywhere in this university (this is actually the reason why I came here for my MBA). You get to meet people from every continent. The diversity is quite impressive.I honestly recomment this university. They might be a bit picky when hiring people, requiring them to be bi-lingual and such, but thing is, they need to. Most of their students have English as a second language. Great thing is! you will most likely graduate knowing a second language as well :)

Question

I am in the Corporate MBA program

Aug 18 2010Business - Management and Administration
I am in the Corporate MBA program. So far the program is pretty good. It is very time consuming though and there is a lot of work. I wasn't expecting the work load to be as heavy. I have several friends who have earned degrees online from various colleges and they seemed to breeze through their courses. Their work load was very light. I like this program and I have learned so much. I look forward to completing it.
Question

FIU in general is a not so good

Jun 03 2010Business - Management and Administration
FIU in general is a not so good university, except for the fact that it is in a fun place like Miami(which is expensive on the other side).

It has lost it's funding from government, well first of all the management doesn't knows to budget with the enough funding (some university funded student organizations are worthless and more than 70% of books in library are useless for students and public, when researched, internal peoples said, it is done just to show the expenditures, wow!). They waste money on unnecessary things than in useful ways that will improve their quality of education.

I'm not trying to be racist (I myself belong to a particular race), but the university is biased to Hispanic community. It is tough to get an on-campus job if you are not a Hispanic or Bilingual. Non-teaching staffs are sincere but again the Human Resource Management is biased to Bilinguals and prefer hiring people having connections and qualification becomes secondary.

Complaints apart, Faculties are nice, helpful and qualified. Students are friendly too but Campus safety has to be improved, since there have been some incidences, some even fatal.

Not so worth to join if you are an out state student or an international student. You may receive a better education else where for the money that you spend here. Needs lots of improvements, but for now it is still developing.

Question

It's sad really

Apr 17 2008Geography and Geosciences
It's sad really. This University has potential. The Faculty (at least in the sciences) are good, smart, and understanding. The classwork is challenging but directed, and the opportunity to do reserach is good. The University administration is another story. The different branches of the university (schools, fin aid, registrar, etc.) do not communicate. If you have a problem, you will be running from department to department trying to resolve it. GOD forbid you have a problem, the staff is unhelpful, in general they don't care if you are there or not. There is no sense of understanding that the reason they have a salary is the students (undergrad and grad) are paying tuition for them to be there. I have had far too many problems getting paid, getting tuition reimbursements, getting contracts entered, getting credits added, so on, so on. I have been dropped as a student twice due to incompetence that has NOTHING to do with me. Someone simply did not do their job, took a week vacation that lasted two weeks....In one case they actually dropped my contract BEHIND the filing cabinet, and said I would have to go to my department, the office of the Dean, and the registrar to refill out my paperwork. I thought I was supposed to be working on my degree???? I can't recommend this school. They operate as a business, and a poor one at that. I would suggest you contact the person you would like to work with here, go somewhere else and put the FIU faculty on your committee. You will save yourself years of your life and a number of ulcers.
Question
Research Topic(s): Geochemistry of Biscayne Bay and the Coastal Aquifer system

I can only speak for the electrical and

Aug 06 2007Electrical Engineering
I can only speak for the electrical and computer engineering department. If I could have gone to another school I would have. My advisor and a few other professors are good but the rest suck! The majority of professors are old and don’t care anymore. A majority of the labs are empty and unused and an assistantship is hard to get unless you get a fellowship (but if you have a fellowship why would you go here). The department is bringing in some new professors so hopefully things will change for the better. The digital signal processing (DSP) graduate courses are good here but if you are interested in VLSI or power, go somewhere else. Most of the PhD students from my department are having difficulty finding jobs. The undergraduate program is totally useless. Most of the students in the undergrad are not very competitive. You probably will not land an engineering job unless you have at least a masters and that still does not guarantee anything. Miami does not have any industry, so if you do land a job it will probably be outside Miami. If you are not from Miami, expect to be really lonely.
Question

not all but a few outstanding professors in

Feb 10 2007History/Histories (art history/etc.)
not all but a few outstanding professors in each department. They are not only smart baut also very responsible to take care of students. But administrarion was hoeeible. confuison and misunderstanding. Students have to spend a lot of time to solve many problems. Employees did not have any working ethics.
Question

My name is Elisabeth

Nov 01 2005Education
My name is Elisabeth and I´m from brazil...I will undergraduate in december 2005 and I would like to know about the master...the prices and the possibility of scholarship...os the posibility of stying at least one semester...

thank you elisabeth weiss

Question

i am interested in

Jan 05 2005PreMed and Medical
i am interested in going to med school becuase of a tramatic incident that has recently changed my life and made me want to do this to help others. I am bright and went to college in boston as well as two years of fiu. Hope to hear from you
Question

Even if there are some thing that should

Jun 02 2004Business - Management and Administration
Even if there are some thing that should be revised, the International MBA program within the Chapman Graduate School of Business in FIU is the best value for money. As a one year, full-time program and with extremely experienced faculty, it worth the tuition while you are back in business in less than a year. I strongly recommend it to those who want an effective, fast and useful MBA with an international focus.
Question
Florida International University
Florida International University

StudentsReview Advice!

• What is a good school?
• Statistical Significance
• How to choose a Major
• How to choose your Career
• What you make of it?
• How Ivy League Admissions works
• On the Student/Faculty Ratio

• FAFSA: Who is a Parent?
• FAFSA: Parent Contribution
• FAFSA: Dream out of reach

• College Financial Planning
• Survive College and Graduate
• Sniffing Out Commuter Schools
• Preparing for College: A HS Roadmap
• Talking to Your Parents about College.
• Is a top college worth it?
• Why is college hard?
• Why Kids Aren't Happy in Traditional Schools
• Essential College Tips
• Cost of College Increasing Faster Than Inflation
• For parents filling out the FAFSA and PROFILE (from a veteran paper slinger)
• How to choose the right college?
• Create The Right Career Habits Now
• Senior Year (Tips and experience)
• Informational Overload! What Should I Look For in a College or University?
• Personality Type and College Choice
• A Free Application is a Good Application
• College Academic Survival Guide
• Getting Involved: The Key to College Happiness
• Choose a Path, Not a Major
• The Scoop on State Schools
• The Purpose of a Higher Education
• The Importance of Choosing the Right College Major (2012)
• How to choose a college major
• How to guarantee your acceptance to many colleges
• Nailing the College Application Process
• What to do for a Successful Interview
• I Don't Know Where to Start (General College Advice)
• Attitude and Dress Code for an Interview (General College Advice)
• Starting College (General College Advice)
Earn $$
Write an Article for us!
About Us | Advertise! | Press
Send Comments/Suggestions to: sradmin@studentsreview.com.

Copyright © 2000-2014. StudentsReview, All Rights Reserved.
 

 

Disclaimer: StudentsReview makes no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of this site, and expressly disclaims liability for errors and omissions in the contents of this site. Furthermore, StudentsReview is not affiliated with any University or Institution.

All Universities in Florida (FL), College Search, College Rankings