StudentsReview :: Johns Hopkins University - Graduate (MS/PhD) Ratings
  
-or-
Search for Schools by Region
 

or within distance of city

Similar Schools
Harvard University -- Cambridge, MA
Columbia University in the City of New York -- New York, NY
George Washington University -- District of Columbia, DC


  Who's got the Best?

Perceptual Rankings:
You Make 'Em.
We Post 'Em.
You Vote 'Em Up.
You Vote 'Em Down.
Aww yeah.


Johns Hopkins University

Total Grad Surveys 21
Females 2
Males 19
Avg years at University 2.3
Research Quality B (6.9)
Research Availability B+ (7.8)
Research Funding B+ (7.7)
Graduate Politics B- (6.2)
Errand Runners B- (6.2)
Degree Completion B (6.7)
Alternative pay [ta/gsi] B+ (8.1)
Sufficient Pay B- (5.9)
Competitiveness B- (6.0)
Education Quality B (6.9)
Faculty Accessibility B- (6.5)
Useful Research B- (6.4)
"Individual" treatment C (5.0)
Friendliness C+ (5.2)
Safety C (4.9)
Campus Beauty B (6.8)
Campus Maintenance B (6.6)
University Resource/spending C+ (5.8)
Extracurriculars B- (6.3)
Success-Understanding B- (6.3)
Surrounding City B- (6.5)
Social Life/Environment C (4.8)
Social Life/EnvironmentC
Alternative pay [ta/gsi]B+

I'm in the online engineering masters programs offered

Jul 15 2013Engineering Department
I'm in the online engineering masters programs offered through the Engineers for Professionals (EP) program. So far (6 courses into it) I would say that the quality of courses has been generally excellent, in terms of what I have learned. The on-line environment can be challenging. There is a lot more work involved than face-to-face. There is a relatively high turnover in the classes. On average, I would say that for every course I've been in which started with 20 students, there are 10 to 15 remaining in the course after the first few weeks. It's not for everyone and is very time consuming. However, I think it works very well - I have come away from each course feeling like I got a lot more out of it than most undergraduate engineering courses I ever had. Just don't be looking for world-class lectures... most courses are reading-based only, with a few courses having sort-of decent lectures in the form of narrated powerpoints.

I do not feel that the AAP program

Feb 27 2012Other
I do not feel that the AAP program in Biotechnology is not worth the money. If you are an international student and need a visa, and you do not get in elsewhere, then I might recommend this program at Hopkins. This program is overpriced and there are inadequate controls in place to assure that faculty members are useful. The faculty is very hit-or-miss. And if you miss....your experience will be compromised.

Overall, most of my classes have been interesting,

Jul 05 2011Other
Overall, most of my classes have been interesting, and taught by somewhat competent professors (all but one are adjunct, which says something disturbing about the quality of education received). The administration, advisor, and some of the professors treat you as a number, and will not respond to your emails or phone calls. Furthermore, some of them actually will lie in your face, and are constantly covering their rear-ends to protect themselves and their jobs. They do not enjoy speaking with you more than necessary, as they feel their lives are so much more important then yours. The majority of the students are somewhat similar in that they are arrogant, ultra-competitive, mean, frequently cheat and lie, and self-absorbed. My feeling is that this school is a rip-off. Stay away, unless you enjoy throwing away your money.
Research Topic(s): None required
Aug 20 2010Other

Great school. Don't expect easy A's.

Research Topic(s): Master's Portfolio

Graduate education at the School of Medicine grows

Feb 12 2008PreMed and Medical
Graduate education at the School of Medicine grows increasingly smothered by corporate tunnel vision and bureaucratic mediocrity. There remain plenty of faculty who are committed to providing resources -- good luck finding them. Most will hand you a hamster wheel to keep you busy for the next several years.

The university sucks

Oct 11 2007Physics
The university sucks. They tell you it is a "cheap" place to live, but if you compare to most other university towns, it is way costlier. The university is focussed on its own money and doesn't give anything: a living wage, a decently prestigious program, housing of any sort. The univ wants you to exist in the shadows and keep teaching for next to nothing.

study and work in

Apr 17 2007Mechanical Engineering
study and work in a congenial environment to enhance my engineering knowledge and skill through continuous learning within a team having a goal lean towards improvement in manufacturing and production by implementing innovative ideas to achieve organization objectives in a best way.
Research Topic(s): CAD/CAM

Johns Hopkins students are passionate about intellectual exp

Jan 20 2007Computer Science
Johns Hopkins students are passionate about intellectual exploration; they are eager for life in a community of similarly passionate, equally ambitious scholars and teachers. This community is based at Homewood, a serene, tree-lined 140 acre campus next to the eclectic north Baltimore neighborhood of Charles Village. Here, students partner with their mentors to push the boundaries of knowledge. Johns Hopkins exposes these independent thinkers to new tools of analysis and new perspectives on the arts, humanities, social and natural sciences and engineering. At the same time, they engage with fellow students outside the classroom in intellectual, cultural, service and recreational pursuits that greatly enrich their education. When our students graduate, they join a global alumni body of men and women who use knowledge and experience acquired at Johns Hopkins to change the world.

Hopkins is amazing if

Dec 27 2005Computer Science
Hopkins is amazing if you want to work on biomed projects for your masters thesis. The course can be completed in just a year. Classes are exciting and challenging. I love it here...
Jul 11 2005Business - Management and Administration

great school, school to be proud of

This is the last place you want to

Jul 01 2004PreMed and Medical
This is the last place you want to come if social life and any other aspect of your life besides academics and research is what you are interested in. No body here gives a care about who you are and what you want to do. I came here because I thought people would provide somewhat decent guidance. The truth is that medical students are last on these guys lists--all they care about putting their dollars into research money. I really believe that Hopkins will not be what it is today in the next 25 years--there is way too much Ego here and not enough encouragement. The city is aweful--all you see are heroine users, theives, homocide! Baltimore and Johns Hopkins have brought nothing to my life except depression!!! I regret my decision to attend the medical school--it is really not all that people say it is.

Ivy school, people are

Mar 30 2004Engineering Department
Ivy school, people are so hardworking, extremely competitive atmosphere and you can choose to come here if you want to achive something in your research. especially in the medical field.
Jan 12 2003Other

ok

Johns Hopkins University
Johns Hopkins University
Johns Hopkins University
About Us | Advertise! | Press
Send Comments/Suggestions to: sradmin@studentsreview.com.

Copyright © 2000-2014. StudentsReview, All Rights Reserved.
 

 

Disclaimer: StudentsReview makes no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of this site, and expressly disclaims liability for errors and omissions in the contents of this site. Furthermore, StudentsReview is not affiliated with any University or Institution.

All Universities in Maryland (MD), College Search, College Rankings