StudentsReview :: The FIDM Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising Los Angeles - How to Get into FIDM (Undergraduate)
-or-
Search for Schools by Region
 

or within distance of city

Similar Schools
Fashion Institute of Technology -- New York, NY
Art Center College of Design -- Pasadena, CA
Pratt Community College -- Pratt, KS


  Who's got the Best?

Perceptual Rankings:
You Make 'Em.
We Post 'Em.
You Vote 'Em Up.
You Vote 'Em Down.
Aww yeah.


The FIDM Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising Los Angeles

Men
Women
# Applicants
229
1,722
# Admitted
151
1,083
% Admitted
65.9%
62.9%
% Overall
63.2%
Students who got into FIDM:

Tips mention: Interview (7), ACT/SAT (1), Grades (3), Sports/Extracurriculars (0), College Essay (4)

Dec 01 2011Business - Management and Administration
I was a good high school student so it was not hard to get accepted to fidm. You do need to do more then turning in your SATs. I had two write several essays and complete a project but it was nothing I could not handle. My best friend did not get accepted due to her grades and was required to go to a community college first. It is not hard to get in if this is where your passion lies. Someone will help you with the process if you ask and will guide you through everything.
Female
Jul 05 2011Other
I did an entrance project and started a Fashion Club at my high school (to show my leadership skills and passion for fashion)
Female
Mar 22 2011Art & Design Department
I had to do an Entrance Project and fill out an Application to Apply a year ago. I am in my 4th quarter of my first year. The Entrance Project required me to draw/create 3 different things that showed my visual and art skills from creating a 2 visual displays & using certain items to create a drawing to see how far I could stretch my creativity JUST using those three things. I also was able to show my Admissions Advisor more of my sketch and drawing work. Then I filled out an essay that explained what I wanted to do goal wise and how I felt FIDM would get me there.After that I went to a final interview and was accepted then and there! :) I recommend that if you want to go to FIDM be prepared to do a project and have fun with it! Also, keep your grades up while in high school. They need to be passing so make sure you don't get too tired your final year in high school. I had a friend who did that and she had to retake a few classes to get a passing grade to get accepted to FIDM. Look into scholarships if you need to on the FIDM website and outside places like scholarships.com. Talk to a Financial Aid advisor at FIDM and set up meetings to make sure you understand and have what you need. They are really helpful in pointing you to aid that will help, if you need it. Go to an Open House! They are a lot of fun and you get to talk to some of their successful graduates and instructors.
Female
Mar 10 2011Art & Design Department
I had to do an Entrance Project and fill out an Application to Apply a year ago. I am in my 4th quarter of my first year. The Entrance Project required me to draw/create 3 different things that showed my visual and art skills from creating a 2 visual displays & using certain items to create a drawing to see how far I could stretch my creativity JUST using those three things. I also was able to show my Admissions Advisor more of my sketch and drawing work. Then I filled out an essay that explained what I wanted to do goal wise and how I felt FIDM would get me there.After that I went to a final interview and was accepted then and there! :) I recommend that if you want to go to FIDM be prepared to do a project and have fun with it! Also, keep your grades up while in high school. They need to be passing so make sure you don't get too tired your final year in high school. I had a friend who did that and she had to retake a few classes to get a passing grade to get accepted to FIDM. Look into scholarships if you need to on the FIDM website and outside places like scholarships.com. Talk to a Financial Aid advisor at FIDM and set up meetings to make sure you understand and have what you need. They are really helpful in pointing you to aid that will help,, if you need it. Go to an Open House! They are a lot of fun and you get to talk to some of their successful graduates and instructors.
Female
Aug 27 2010Interior Design
If you can pay for it they'll let you in.
Female
Aug 05 2010Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etc
They take everyone. They tell you that you need a portfolio and sketches and need to see it, blah blah they still take you.
Female
The FIDM Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising Los Angeles

StudentsReview Advice!

• What is a good school?
• Statistical Significance
• How to choose a Major
• How to choose your Career
• What you make of it?
• How Ivy League Admissions works
• On the Student/Faculty Ratio

• FAFSA: Who is a Parent?
• FAFSA: Parent Contribution
• FAFSA: Dream out of reach

• College Financial Planning
• Survive College and Graduate
• Sniffing Out Commuter Schools
• Preparing for College: A HS Roadmap
• Talking to Your Parents about College.
• Is a top college worth it?
• Why is college hard?
• Why Kids Aren't Happy in Traditional Schools
• Essential College Tips
• Cost of College Increasing Faster Than Inflation
• For parents filling out the FAFSA and PROFILE (from a veteran paper slinger)
• How to choose the right college?
• Create The Right Career Habits Now
• Senior Year (Tips and experience)
• Informational Overload! What Should I Look For in a College or University?
• Personality Type and College Choice
• A Free Application is a Good Application
• College Academic Survival Guide
• Getting Involved: The Key to College Happiness
• Choose a Path, Not a Major
• The Scoop on State Schools
• The Purpose of a Higher Education
• The Importance of Choosing the Right College Major (2012)
• How to choose a college major
• How to guarantee your acceptance to many colleges
• Nailing the College Application Process
• What to do for a Successful Interview
• I Don't Know Where to Start (General College Advice)
• Attitude and Dress Code for an Interview (General College Advice)
• Starting College (General College Advice)
Earn $$
Write an Article for us!
About Us | Advertise! | Press
Send Comments/Suggestions to: sradmin@studentsreview.com.

Copyright © 2000-2014. StudentsReview, All Rights Reserved.
 

 

Disclaimer: StudentsReview makes no claims, promises, or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of this site, and expressly disclaims liability for errors and omissions in the contents of this site. Furthermore, StudentsReview is not affiliated with any University or Institution.

All Universities in California (CA), College Search, College Rankings