StudentsReview ™ :: Mark a survey Invalid or inform SR staff

-or-
Search for Colleges by Region
 

or within distance of city





  Who's got the Best (variable)?

Perceptual Rankings:
You Make 'Em.
We Post 'Em.
You Vote 'Em Up.
You Vote 'Em Down.
Aww yeah.


Mark a survey and Inform Staff

Please do not overuse -- this is just intended to notify SR staff of probably invalid surveys. We will not "edit" or censor existing valid surveys.

This Survey/Comment is:
Valid
Invalid
Wrong location/Incorrect School
None of the above
Mark all that apply:
Content Nonsensical
Content Useless
Duplicate Survey
High Vulgarity
High Grammatical Error
Malicious Intent/Faked
Probably Admissions
SPAM
Added notes (max 100 chars):

Please remember that all surveys, even vulgar ones or those with poor grammar, convey something about the student body and the institution.

 
Existing Review Notes:
Administration:

Peer Review:
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1
5.45.80.218:valid:Content Nonsensical, Duplicate Survey, High Vulgarity, High Grammatical Error, Probably Admissions, Content Useless, Malicious Intent/Faked, SPAM, :1

Statistical Analyzer:

 
Survey (Identifying information hidden.)
ACT:
AcademicSuccess: 6.92
Again:
Attitude:
Competitive: 9.23
Creativity: 3.85
ExCuricular: 5.38
FAttitude1:
FAttitude2: 1
FAttitude3: 1
FAttitude4: 1
FAttitude5:
FAttitude6: 1
FacultyAcc: 7.69
Friendly: 6.92
FromArea: 1
FundingUse: 4.61
Gender:
GradYear: 11
Grounds: 7.69
Intellect: 3
Maint: 7.69
MindExpect: 3
MindUse: 2
Programs: 4.61
SAT:
SAttitude1: 1
SAttitude2:
SAttitude3:
SAttitude4: 1
SAttitude5: 1
SAttitude6:
SAttitude7:
SAttitude8: 1
Safety: 6.15
Social: 0.77
Standing: 4
SurroundingCity: 5.38
TAclasses: 2
USE_THIS_DATA: 1
Usefulwork: 3.08
Worth: 3.08
No/invalid Email Address left

Overall, the difficulty of the university is highly dependent on your major. I changed majors while attending school here, from geology to sociology. The science programs from what I experienced (chem, bio, geology, math) were very good and challenging. I enjoyed the classes but eventually changed majors because although it was enjoyable, I did not see myself in a career in the field. There were definitely variations in the quality of professors. If you can, do your research on the professor prior to picking your classes.

Once I went to sociology, the courses were MUCH easier. As is expected in an arts major, the courses are going to be much easier. Professors for the most part are highly liberal, which in this field is expected, and closed-minded. I found students who did not agree with most professors' opinions were often chastised in front of the entire class. If you just sit there and regurgitate what they want to hear, you'll get an A, easy. There is usually little to no room for actual debate or discussion…more of a "this is how it is" approach to teaching. There were a few professors, and very few, that were actually enjoyable and encouraged debate (Prof. Jack Fong was my favorite). Anyhow, a lot of the courses were repetitive, and I really felt I did not learn a whole lot or it was not applicable to much of anything else.

I do feel the quality of education went down even as I was attending, largely due to the politics of the university…it seemed like they were more interested in the number of people they could graduate versus the quality of the education. From my observations, this practice seemed to hurt the school more since they were admitting many students who were not at the college level. Many of the courses were highly impacted due to people retaking them because they had already failed them once. I also took far too many classes where students just did not show up to class and were taking up seats in already hard to get courses. Overall, I did not get an academic feeling while attending this university. Most students seemed interested in just passing their courses in the easiest way possible. I felt the university lacked creativity and an emphasis on individual students. It is more of a cookie cutter university and it seemed to take away the passion and interest in many of the courses. But aren't most universities in the US headed in this direction already?

From what I hear, the university has been adjusting their policies to correct the damage of their prior policies, hopefully for the better.

StudentsReview Advice!

• What is a good school?
• Statistical Significance
• How to choose a Major
• How to choose your Career
• What you make of it?
• How Ivy League Admissions works
• On the Student/Faculty Ratio

• FAFSA: Who is a Parent?
• FAFSA: Parent Contribution
• FAFSA: Dream out of reach

• College Financial Planning
• Survive College and Graduate
• Sniffing Out Commuter Schools
• Preparing for College: A HS Roadmap
• Talking to Your Parents about College.
• Is a top college worth it?
• Why is college hard?
• Why Kids Aren't Happy in Traditional Schools