StudentsReview - Vassar College - Life at Vassar Copyright 2021 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html Life at Vassar - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about Vassar for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html The campus is beautiful and the education really makes you think, rather than at other colleges which are based on testing and training you for jobs.... Thu, 17 Sep 2020 10:13:04 GMT StudentsReview 1024-186484 1024-186484 1024 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 1923 1st Year Positive The campus is beautiful and the education really makes you think, rather than at other colleges which are based on testing and training you for jobs. Thu, 17 Sep 2020 10:13:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Vassar for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html As a science and humanities double major, I can confidently say Vassar has an exceptional combination of breadth and depth across academic disciplines. On top of being aesthetically beautiful, the cam... Tue, 12 Sep 2017 01:57:33 GMT StudentsReview 1024-180995 1024-180995 1024 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2017 4th Year Positive As a science and humanities double major, I can confidently say Vassar has an exceptional combination of breadth and depth across academic disciplines. On top of being aesthetically beautiful, the campus environment promotes inclusivity, creativity, and constant intellectual stimulation. The diverse student body fosters a community unlike anywhere else, where people are valued based on a shared desire to change the world. Tue, 12 Sep 2017 01:57:33 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Vassar for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html Vassar made all the difference for me and I have seen classmates of mine excel in their fields (business, arts, science, medicine, etc.). These include awards at Cannes, Sundance and an Academy Award ... Sun, 29 Jun 2014 06:39:16 GMT StudentsReview 1024-112355 1024-112355 1024 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Vassar made all the difference for me and I have seen classmates of mine excel in their fields (business, arts, science, medicine, etc.). These include awards at Cannes, Sundance and an Academy Award nomination; profiles in Forbes, Fortune, WSJ and FT; and Fulbright and Macurther Genius awards. It is an exceptional place to study and learn. Sun, 29 Jun 2014 06:39:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Vassar for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html Not a bad place, but overall a little boring. Very much a "bubble", almost totally isolated from the surrounding area, understandably given that there's very little of interest in the area. Social and... Fri, 13 Dec 2013 09:23:59 GMT StudentsReview 1024-98401 1024-98401 1024 52 Undecided Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Negative Not a bad place, but overall a little boring. Very much a "bubble", almost totally isolated from the surrounding area, understandably given that there's very little of interest in the area. Social and extracurricular life is limited by that, and usually takes the form of drinking in people's rooms (especially senior housing) every weekend. Alcohol definitely a big thing as it is for all bored college students, drugs a little less than you might expect actually, marijuana fairly common but anything "harder" very difficult to find (I personally do use "harder" drugs occasionally and I'm the only one in my friend group that does). Different organizations exist and are definitely a big way to meet people-most common seem to be theater, a capella, that kind of stuff. Not a huge variety though, and as mentioned nothing that involves going outside of campus.

Students are generally intelligent, interesting people and pretty friendly. They are of course very privileged, overwhelmingly white, materialistic, sorta spoiled, in other words what you would expect from such an expensive private college, and if that atmosphere bothers you this isn't the place. Can be cliqueish at times, not necessarily based on the typical college stuff (no greek life for example). Most people fall into the generic New York hipster/future yuppie mold. People are definitely dedicated to work and driven, most seem to have some future planned out already, usually involving something like grad school, traveling abroad after graduation, etc. Definitely not a "nerdy" or anti-social place though, "work hard, party hard" is very much the attitude.

Academics are pretty good. Geared towards social/liberal arts over hard sciences but not to the point that the sciences are totally left behind, actually the school is spending a lot of effort to boost the sciences. Classes and work are definitely hard and grade inflation is not a thing. Also, class attendance is rather big here compared to other schools. Basically what you would expect of a place that is definitely "elite" and offers a quite good quality of education but not really leading the country in anything.

Overall, my biggest complaint would be that it can get boring-the "bubbly" atmosphere, the lack of diversity, the limited activities and few places to go can be tiring. Life tends to follow a predictable cycle of work really hard during the week, go get drunk in dorm rooms or senior housing on the weekends and hook up with someone, wake up Sunday and start working really hard again. I'd say there are plenty of things Vassar does well and plenty that it does terribly, but there are places that do all of the same stuff well with less of the bad, or that do better at any of the good than we do. Not terrible but not great either-I wouldn't recommend it but if you want to go I wouldn't try to dissuade you either.
Fri, 13 Dec 2013 09:23:59 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Vassar for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html I was one of about fourteen students majoring in mathematics among my graduating class. Not only did I enjoy opportunities to make personal friendships with the members of the faculty, take advantage ... Sun, 29 Sep 2013 03:06:10 GMT StudentsReview 1024-96184 1024-96184 1024 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2010 4th Year Positive I was one of about fourteen students majoring in mathematics among my graduating class. Not only did I enjoy opportunities to make personal friendships with the members of the faculty, take advantage excellent opportunities for work and undergraduate research, and organize social events and official seminars, but the department has even tracked it's graduates' professional success, and I have been back to talk about my experience in economics research.

During my years at Vassar I changed from a highschool kid to an adult. Call it a finishing school, call it a quirky melting pot of hippies and hipsters and kids of wealthy media moguls, call it a school resting on reputation and stunning campus where coursework comes second to your social life if you want it to. These things are all true, and they made it the perfect place for me.

Notes:
Prestigious I-banking jobs are certainly within reach. If you follow the career development office's instruction then medical school and law school placement will fall into your lap.

Poughkeepsie is awesome, if for no other reason than the NYC quality pizza. The Hudson Valley is a beautiful place. Try to make it out to the little towns and wonderful parks, hike the Catskills and Adirondacks, and go skiing in the winter.

The Swinging Monks are all I ever wanted.
Sun, 29 Sep 2013 03:06:10 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/VC_comments.html