StudentsReview - The University of Arizona - Life at ARIZONA Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html Life at ARIZONA - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about ARIZONA for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html What a shock.....for $50000 a year we thought this would be awesome. Well, let me tell you that it is clear that it is nothing short of a large corporation much like a Walmart where they collect as mu... Sat, 16 Jan 2016 12:09:56 GMT StudentsReview 109-172419 109-172419 109 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative What a shock.....for $50000 a year we thought this would be awesome. Well, let me tell you that it is clear that it is nothing short of a large corporation much like a Walmart where they collect as much of your money and give you nothing in return. No one to answer questions, no one to assist with much of anything. It is like a mafia family. Money is all that matters and the collection of the money.
I spent hours on the phone and demanded to speak to a Dean/director/dept head etc and was told that no one is available.$50,000 a year will soon be spent else where and I can guarantee this university that everyone I know will know what a money grubbing facility this place is. THEY CARE NOTHING ABOUT YOUR STUDENT. And a school that charges for their copies? Most schools include copies made in the library if your a student and doing class work. They really to be turned in for raping their students. Just read all the reviews....we are telling the truth. There is no one her who gives a damn. Advisors are never available and the only place you have not trouble getting to talk to someone is at the Bursars office (MONEY Collecting) The classes are not even the caliber of what community colleges are in New York. This place should be embarrassed for selling a good education. GOOD LUCK with that. Your student will not be able to get the classes they need because they are over sold and not enough spots. I have reached out to the attorney general for further action. Stay away!
Sat, 16 Jan 2016 12:09:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ARIZONA for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html i'm an out of state student from Maryland , and i came to the university of Arizona for an education. Sadly that is not what I've been able to pursue. First off, do not stay on campus. The quality of ... Mon, 21 Dec 2015 02:39:35 GMT StudentsReview 109-172152 109-172152 109 54 Communications Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Negative i'm an out of state student from Maryland , and i came to the university of Arizona for an education. Sadly that is not what I've been able to pursue. First off, do not stay on campus. The quality of living on campus is horrible for the amount of money they charge you. I moved in and was happy to live on campus until i realized that it was affecting my mental health and my grades. ( btw U of A says if you stay in the stadium you can't hear the football games or soccer games, that a lie,i would be frequently woken up from the sounds of both) I appealed to leave the dorms due to suffering form depression and was not allowed to leave, apparently the school is so obsessed with money that hardly any of the medical appeals get approved to leave the dorms. The catch is you can leave the dorms but what you're appealing for is to not pay that semesters rent i guess their way of protecting themselves from a liability. Also apparently hardly any of the appeals to leave get approved - I'm not making this stuff up this is what one of the people from the appeals comity told me when i came to complain about my appeal begin denied. apparently if I'm suffering from depression and i feel as though its affecting my grades 2,000 dollars for spring semesters rent that i obviously would not be able to pay on top of living in an apartment is more important . You also won't have a social life on campus unless you're in a sorority or fraternity. As for U of A being a "party school" i feel like thats another trick they se to lure freshman into the school because partys are the only thing to do at he u of a since theres absolutely nothing to do on campus or off campus. All of the parties get broken up fairly early by the police being that tucson is such a small town and everything is 10-15 minutes away, and there is absolutely nothing to do in town. Everything closes around 10 at the latest , and unless you like getting wasted on the small strip of fourth ave theres even less for you to do without a car. People on my floor have already transferred and even expressed that u of a was not what they felt it would be , and honestly i felt as though i was fooled by the aesthetics of the campus and their rankings among other schools , and not the quality of the school that i would not experience full until attending here. I will be transferring next spring to a different school . The hospital and doctors there are are also horrible. I went there for problems i was having with my gallbladder and 3 people had to come in to draw blood on me which was a nightmare . They couldn't draw the blood yet proceeded to act like they knew what they were doing, i left the hospital with 2 sore arms. The people at the front desk were rude and i felt as though they are ignoring me when i told them the issue i was having (came there 2 times for the same issue) The only nice part of the hospital was one of the doctors who seemed genuinely concerned and tried his best to help me. overall I'm writing this review not to bash the school , but to be totally honest because i don't want a potential freshman coming to this school thinking its something that its not like i did when i applied and decided to attend the school , and i hope that this review helps warn anyone who might make the same mistake i did. If you're coming too the U of A for their nursing program or something in the field of science this is the school for you. other than that , i would not recommend going to the university of Arizona for the price you're paying and the quality of the education you're getting. Mon, 21 Dec 2015 02:39:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about ARIZONA for PreMed and Medicalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html I love this school... Tue, 07 Oct 2014 09:37:21 GMT StudentsReview 109-140823 109-140823 109 36 PreMed and Medical Female Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Positive I love this school Tue, 07 Oct 2014 09:37:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about ARIZONA for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html I really enjoy the University separate from the city. This college is growing rapidly with new opportunities emerging every day. This is definitely the place to be for school and social life.... Wed, 16 Apr 2014 01:58:56 GMT StudentsReview 109-105991 109-105991 109 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Positive I really enjoy the University separate from the city. This college is growing rapidly with new opportunities emerging every day. This is definitely the place to be for school and social life. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 01:58:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about ARIZONA for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html U of A's a decent state school. A lot of the problems at U of A can be traced back to Arizona's education system overall. A ton of kids need remedial classes, and a solid third of freshmen drop out at... Mon, 10 Mar 2014 05:38:31 GMT StudentsReview 109-103143 109-103143 109 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2010 4th Year Neutral U of A's a decent state school. A lot of the problems at U of A can be traced back to Arizona's education system overall. A ton of kids need remedial classes, and a solid third of freshmen drop out at the end of their first year.

Like many universities, U of A is becoming more like a business. It's nickel and diming everyone to oblivion, and instead of bolstering the academics, they're plowing money into Rec Centers and Student Unions and new dorms, because that's what gawky seventeen year olds want in a college. Also, if they get kids to live on campus, they can tag them for dorm fees and meal plans. (Hint: Live off-campus. Way more freedom, and cheaper.) One of the departments I was in (I double majored) lost a tenured professor to Ithaca, but instead of replacing her, they juggled classes between cheaper, part-time adjunct professors. To be sure, this kind of stuff is happening at a lot of places, not just U of A.

The best part of U of A is Tucson. Yeah. I said it. This town rocks. There are so many cool little bars and funky little clubs, it's so much more alive than Tempe. Even before you're 21, there's a bunch of hole-in-the-wall food joints off campus (Sonoran Hot Dogs and Carne Asada Burros from El Guero Canelo. If you're down visiting, skip the Student Union and head there instead). Yeah, south of campus is sketch, that's why the new light rail runs to the west towards 4th Ave and downtown. That's where the fun is, folks. If you want your life to be clean and sanitized, go somewhere else. Keep Tucson Weird.

Bottom line: If you're in-state, U of A's your best bet. If you're coming in from California, you might want to check out how shitty Arizona's education system is before these people become your classmates.
Mon, 10 Mar 2014 05:38:31 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AZ/UA_comments.html