StudentsReview - Oklahoma City University - Life at OKCU/OCU Copyright 2022 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html Life at OKCU/OCU - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about OKCU/OCU for Music - Performancehttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html I am halfway through the Musical Theatre program at OCU and I am absolutely in love with it. While sometimes I do wish that there was a little more going on outside of the performing arts programs, I ... Mon, 08 Aug 2016 07:01:26 GMT StudentsReview 1095-174762 1095-174762 1095 26 Music - Performance Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive I am halfway through the Musical Theatre program at OCU and I am absolutely in love with it. While sometimes I do wish that there was a little more going on outside of the performing arts programs, I wouldn't trade my time here for anything. Mon, 08 Aug 2016 07:01:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about OKCU/OCU for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html Computer science / software engineering department is a joke.... Tue, 11 Aug 2015 05:00:30 GMT StudentsReview 1095-169316 1095-169316 1095 12 Computer Science Female Undergraduate Class 2016 4th Year Negative Computer science / software engineering department is a joke. Tue, 11 Aug 2015 05:00:30 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about OKCU/OCU for Perfomance Artshttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html ... Wed, 11 Mar 2015 12:49:24 GMT StudentsReview 1095-158045 1095-158045 1095 43 Perfomance Arts Female Undergraduate Class 2019 4th Year Neutral Wed, 11 Mar 2015 12:49:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about OKCU/OCU for Physicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html Oklahoma City University is obsessed with money. It is barely able to keep its head above the crushing wave of its debt. The administration knows this and uses every excuse to fine you. Illegal car ti... Wed, 11 Jun 2014 07:33:48 GMT StudentsReview 1095-110410 1095-110410 1095 33 Physics Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Negative Oklahoma City University is obsessed with money. It is barely able to keep its head above the crushing wave of its debt. The administration knows this and uses every excuse to fine you. Illegal car tickets are given out every day for trivial maters such as parking over the lines, or a car registration being a day late (even though Oklahoma law states that you have a 30 day grace period). The police department is very corrupt and harasses students over anything they want. The on campus police department will usually not punish attractive girls, choosing to instead flirt with them. Sexual harassment cases were brought up many times during my four years as a student. If students are involved in those cases, they are fined for their participation. The dean of students encourages the corrupt behavior of the administrators and has no respect for students as individuals. The dean will fine you for hazing, but deny that hazing happened. The dance school is above the rules of the university as well. They frequently keep students in rehearsals long after they are allowed, without regard for the rules. If a student objects, they take away their scholarship. One Christmas show some girls hair wasn't completely covered by their head pieces. The hair that was visible was shaved off. They were given a choice: shave your hair off or have your scholarship removed. There is no way to object to the treatment of students, no appeals process that they allow you to use.
On a positive note, the professors are excellent and very involved. If this school had a new administration, I would completely recommend it.
Wed, 11 Jun 2014 07:33:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about OKCU/OCU for Music - Performancehttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html OCU is one of the finest music schools in the nation. The quality of education, the quality of educators and the quality of school facility have prepared my two children for successful careers in the ... Thu, 27 Mar 2014 08:43:03 GMT StudentsReview 1095-104711 1095-104711 1095 26 Music - Performance Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Positive OCU is one of the finest music schools in the nation. The quality of education, the quality of educators and the quality of school facility have prepared my two children for successful careers in the performing arts. On top of that, the tuition is much less than some other fellow top schools.

Before my children went to OCU, we look at all the schools....and I mean all! OCU was the only place where we felt our children mattered - both personally and professionally.

My first child graduated in 2009 with a BM (not a BFA like other schools, but a much harder to attain BM. She came in with few years of vocal and dance studies and left four years later with such a compete, well rounded education that she landed her first professional Broadway tour on her sixth NYC audition.

My second child was a later bloomer and started performing in high school when it took over sports as his passion. He was accepted at OCU but wasn't sure he was ready because of the high talent level at the school. Dr Herendeen, the head of the musical theatre and opera department, encouraged him to stay on because he had raw talent that needed to be refined. By his second year, he made leaps and bounds in his skills set. He loved that he took dance classes from teachers at OCUs acclaimed school of dance...no some part time faculty who just come in to teach classes. 6 months after graduating, he was picked up by the Les Miz national tour. He is currently a cast member of another Broadway show.

The bottom line is that OCU is a place where students who are serious go to train. They have all the faculty and facilities to make it happen. While OCU does not have a cut program, it is not uncommon to hear of a few students leaving after freshmen year because they can't meet the demands. If you just want a school where you can get by on academics and maybe do a show or, then do not apply to OCU. They don't play games and, as a parent, I love that.

Each year, OCU produces four main stage productions (two musicals, two operas)on their 800 seat theatre, with full sets, costumes and orchestra. They also have smaller Spotlight productions each year (one musical and one opera). There is also a student run group that produces a showcase of new musicals from all over the nation and the world.

OCU brings out the best in each individual. They don't train you to be a "c"ookie "c"utter "m"ember of the cast....they train you to let your individuality out.

I can't recommend this university high enough.
Thu, 27 Mar 2014 08:43:03 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/OCIU_comments.html