StudentsReview - The University of Oklahoma - Norman - Life at OU/UOklahoma-Norman Copyright 2022 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html Life at OU/UOklahoma-Norman - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about OU/UOklahoma-Norman for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html I love OU. For the most part, everyone is friendly and willing to help you out. There is a heavy influence on Greek life so freshmen year can be difficult if you aren't involved with a sorority or fra... Wed, 09 Mar 2016 04:00:43 GMT StudentsReview 1109-172969 1109-172969 1109 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Female Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Positive I love OU. For the most part, everyone is friendly and willing to help you out. There is a heavy influence on Greek life so freshmen year can be difficult if you aren't involved with a sorority or fraternity. However, after you move out of the dorms for the following years, you hardly notice the divide. Professors are always willing to help you and, that I have experienced, never put their work before their students. It's a great campus in an even better town. Hopefully you'll love OU as much as I do! Wed, 09 Mar 2016 04:00:43 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about OU/UOklahoma-Norman for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html Older family members of mine graduated from OU and loved it so I believed that I was making a great choice by coming here. Don't get me wrong, many people love this school; there are great colleges wi... Fri, 02 Oct 2015 02:16:19 GMT StudentsReview 1109-171152 1109-171152 1109 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Advice Older family members of mine graduated from OU and loved it so I believed that I was making a great choice by coming here. Don't get me wrong, many people love this school; there are great colleges within OU, football season is a blast, the campus is beautiful, and greek life here is strong. That being said 1) DO NOT come here if you don't like sports or football. The campus compensates for its lack of activities by throwing OU sports in your face 24/7. 2) Do not come here to get a liberal arts degree. The career services caters to the business college, oil & energy students, journalism college (PR, communications, journalism), meteorology, and a few select others. I majored in international studies and post-grad life has been extremely tough for my peers and I to find jobs. 3) [This is a dramatic statement] There is nothing to do in Norman except drink. Which is hilarious since this is a "dry" campus. There are rarely any music festivals, concerts (unless you go to OKC, but those are still rare), great outdoors, or public parks to explore nearby). Thankfully I was greek, so I was able to drink undeterred by the rules. 4) While on the topic of Greek life, I will say that had I not gone Greek, I probably would have left OU after freshman year and transferred elsewhere. Greek life served as a alcohol induced distraction from the malaise and monotony of Norman/OU life. 5) If you are Greek, you are at a major advantage in terms of campus involvement. It was a revolving door of appointments and nominations for Campus Activites Council and Student Government. 6) Freshmen and Sophomores will feel the greatest divide in regards to greek and non-greek, especially if you are non-greek and of color. There is definitely segregation and innate hostilities between these cleavages of the OU student body. However, most of us in Greek life get over the "prestige" and become more immersed in the greater OU student body by Junior and Senior year due to campus involvement and not giving a shit about Greek life. 7) Lastly, get ready for a major religious presence on campus. I'm surprised the comments don't chime in on this more. People here are VERY religious (mostly Protestant [Baptist specifically]) and will not hesitate to judge you or separate themselves for you if you do not match their beliefs. Fri, 02 Oct 2015 02:16:19 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about OU/UOklahoma-Norman for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html Not surprised at all by the recent controversy surround OU and the racist actions of SAE fraternity. I witnessed similar incidents several times when I was there. Its seems like racism was almost pa... Fri, 13 Mar 2015 12:49:42 GMT StudentsReview 1109-158171 1109-158171 1109 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Positive Not surprised at all by the recent controversy surround OU and the racist actions of SAE fraternity. I witnessed similar incidents several times when I was there. Its seems like racism was almost part of the culture there. Then only thing that suprises me is in this case the students allegedly taking a leadership role in the racist chants were actually from Dallas, not Oklahoma.


Also, none of the other reviews seem to mention this but there was something really strange about the water in the dorms at OU. I was very hesitant to drint it...
Fri, 13 Mar 2015 12:49:42 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about OU/UOklahoma-Norman for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html If you take a tour of the beautiful Norman campus, you will fall in love. The Caf, the squirrels, and just the college feel. It's a lie. OU is a greek based school and if you are not in a sorori... Tue, 09 Dec 2014 10:48:47 GMT StudentsReview 1109-154948 1109-154948 1109 30 Nursing Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral If you take a tour of the beautiful Norman campus, you will fall in love. The Caf, the squirrels, and just the college feel.

It's a lie.

OU is a greek based school and if you are not in a sorority/fraternity you are immediately left out of conversations and don't have very many friends.

The classwork, depending on major and classes, seems to be mainly dominated by difficult classes.

The life around campus is a pretty religious and also a very party-centered campus.

Just look more into OU before paying 25K a year for the education here.
Tue, 09 Dec 2014 10:48:47 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about OU/UOklahoma-Norman for Meteorologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html The social life in the university usually revolves around greek life and the individuals who run the campus activities. The campus is supposedly dry so parties and fun events are rarely hosted by the ... Wed, 22 Oct 2014 07:27:55 GMT StudentsReview 1109-149758 1109-149758 1109 76 Meteorology Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Negative The social life in the university usually revolves around greek life and the individuals who run the campus activities. The campus is supposedly dry so parties and fun events are rarely hosted by the campus, and when they are the atmosphere is still boring. Norman itself is a very dead area, with only a few bars as entertainment. Wed, 22 Oct 2014 07:27:55 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/OK/UO_comments.html