StudentsReview - Bucknell University - Life at Bucknell Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html Life at Bucknell - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Bucknell for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html Wrong choice! I was happy to get in here for engineering. Now that I am here I feel like I am back I'm high school. Rich, privileged white jocks abound. They obviously accept anyone who can pay in ... Sun, 17 Apr 2016 09:51:09 GMT StudentsReview 1146-173314 1146-173314 1146 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 1920 1st Year Negative Wrong choice! I was happy to get in here for engineering. Now that I am here I feel like I am back I'm high school. Rich, privileged white jocks abound. They obviously accept anyone who can pay in full and are not shy about it. Nothing to do in this quiet town except get stinking drunk every weekend. Fine for first year terribly boring every other year. College is about stepping out of your comfort zone, mixing with new types of people and learning new things. I have found neither of these at Bucknell. Sun, 17 Apr 2016 09:51:09 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Bucknell for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html BE VERY CAREFUL ABOUT CHOOSING TO GO HERE! I visited the summer before my senior year. The gorgeous campus drew me in. By the end of the tour, my mom and I fell in love with the school. I applied ED1 ... Tue, 13 Jan 2015 10:53:48 GMT StudentsReview 1146-156344 1146-156344 1146 23 Math Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral BE VERY CAREFUL ABOUT CHOOSING TO GO HERE! I visited the summer before my senior year. The gorgeous campus drew me in. By the end of the tour, my mom and I fell in love with the school. I applied ED1 and got in (but didn't get a penny of scholarship money :/). I chose the school because of its great academics, beautiful campus, nice facilities, and proximity to home. I DID NOT ASSESS THE SOCIAL ASPECT! I figured that friends would come on their own as long as I wasn't in my dorm all day everyday. It turns out that despite my efforts, I cannot make friends here and I feel like I don't fit in. I talked to a counselor (at least Bucknell has a good student development center) and she said that I should consider transferring. She told me that a lot of people put on a mask to fit in with the crowd and that friendships are often superficial. If you're like me (a shy introvert with a hatred of partying/drinking and a need for one or two close friends instead of a bunch of casual ones), DO NOT GO HERE! I'm so lonely here that I might even transfer in the fall.

That being said, the social aspect is the only problem I have with the school, so if you're not like me, you'll fit right in and I HIGHLY recommend it. The professors are awesome, the food's alright, the gym is great (I was able to start working out thanks to the free group fitness classes offered there), and the dorms are nice.
Tue, 13 Jan 2015 10:53:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Bucknell for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html Overall, this school is all about what you make of it. The "stereotypical" Bucknellian is white, rich, and arrogant, but there is so much more to this campus than that, you just have to let yourself ... Thu, 10 Apr 2014 05:03:58 GMT StudentsReview 1146-105816 1146-105816 1146 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Positive Overall, this school is all about what you make of it. The "stereotypical" Bucknellian is white, rich, and arrogant, but there is so much more to this campus than that, you just have to let yourself find it.

All of the academics here are completely top notch, this is the sort of university that only attracts professors who are brilliant and are interesting in teaching more than doing research. It's easy to get involved in research and to work with faculty.

Also, Greek Life is enormous here. Like, enormous. I thought I was never going to join a fraternity, and what do you know, I did. I firmly believe that there is an organization for everyone on this campus, regardless of how you may feel about the idea of going Greek.
Thu, 10 Apr 2014 05:03:58 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Bucknell for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html Bucknell is a great college experience!! Most importantly they make sure you graduate in 4 years and get a good job after.... Wed, 18 Sep 2013 11:50:42 GMT StudentsReview 1146-96012 1146-96012 1146 61 Engineering Department Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Neutral Bucknell is a great college experience!! Most importantly they make sure you graduate in 4 years and get a good job after. Wed, 18 Sep 2013 11:50:42 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Bucknell for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html Bucknell is definitely a name recognition school that attracts a lot of "ambitious/competitive" kids. Unfortunately I would not characterize it as being an "Intellectually" ambitious culture. It is mo... Tue, 29 Jan 2013 04:55:40 GMT StudentsReview 1146-91672 1146-91672 1146 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative Bucknell is definitely a name recognition school that attracts a lot of "ambitious/competitive" kids. Unfortunately I would not characterize it as being an "Intellectually" ambitious culture. It is more of a "Socially" ambitious/competitive culture.

Being in the middle of nowhere has a detrimental effect on the school. Without other outlets in the surrounding communities or towns students have no alternative but to pour all their energy into a one-dimensional social scene. That leads to an excessive use of alcohol and drugs on campus. Maybe it has changed since I was there but the habits were absolutely reckless.

I realize all colleges have this to a certain extent but when the frat scene is literally the ONLY outlet for a highly-driven student body it devolves into an exceedingly unhealthy subculture - one that is the exact opposite of what a well-rounded intelligent person would hope to get from a higher-education experience. Forget about character-building, you are more likely to be more inconsiderate and juvenile when you leave than when you arrived.

I will say that the name "Bucknell" has helped me in my career. But then again, many "top school" names could have also done the same. If small-circle social ambition and getting mind-blowingly wasted are more of your drive than intellectual development and personal growth you may find Bucknell to be your place - certainly a good number of people do. But if you are looking for a well-rounded higher education experience with some diverse experiences and opportunities to stretch your character, I would highly recommend going somewhere else.
Tue, 29 Jan 2013 04:55:40 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/BUU_comments.html