StudentsReview - Carnegie Mellon University - Life at CMhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html Life at CM - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about CM for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html Students at CMU spend a lot of time working and professors have high expectation. This makes the social life not as good as a less rigorous college. However, I came out of CMU a much smarter person an... Tue, 04 Nov 2014 02:33:53 GMT StudentsReview 1150-152734 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1150-152734 1150 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Positive Students at CMU spend a lot of time working and professors have high expectation. This makes the social life not as good as a less rigorous college. However, I came out of CMU a much smarter person and better problem solver than I came in as. It is very easy to get involved with research, and there are a lot of students clubs. Pittsburgh is a decent city to go to college in. CMU also is a bit less bureaucratic than many other top tier universities is. CMU is a great size. It's big enough that there's lots of opportunities and recruiters know about the school, but small enough that you will be able to get to know your classmates and professors. Tue, 04 Nov 2014 02:33:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CM for Computer Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html If you are comfortable around geeks and nerds, CMU is the place for you. Academically, it's an exceptional school. Even after graduating, CMUers are well respected in most industry (There is a reaso... Mon, 02 Jun 2014 12:31:08 GMT StudentsReview 1150-109955 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1150-109955 1150 11 Computer Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2018 4th Year Positive If you are comfortable around geeks and nerds, CMU is the place for you.
Academically, it's an exceptional school. Even after graduating, CMUers are well respected in most industry (There is a reason why CMU graduates earn the highest starting salary in the nation). So if you are willing to compromise your social life for your career, come to CMU.

But honestly, the city of Pittsburgh itself isn't all that bad, and I am from NY. But there is nothing much going on in the campus. Expect most of students to be at the library even when Steelers are winning the Super Bowl.
Mon, 02 Jun 2014 12:31:08 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about CM for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html This school is the hub of snobbery. Be sure to visit before you say yes or no. DO not let anyone force you to go there.... Sat, 08 Mar 2014 10:54:18 GMT StudentsReview 1150-103009 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1150-103009 1150 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Advice This school is the hub of snobbery. Be sure to visit before you say yes or no. DO not let anyone force you to go there. Sat, 08 Mar 2014 10:54:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CM for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html There is no shortage of opportunity to be creative here; there are so many clubs, organizations, and activities it is overwhelming. Every university has its bad professors, but I found that if a profe... Mon, 15 Jul 2013 12:54:35 GMT StudentsReview 1150-94859 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1150-94859 1150 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Positive There is no shortage of opportunity to be creative here; there are so many clubs, organizations, and activities it is overwhelming. Every university has its bad professors, but I found that if a professor was a bad lecturer, they would be more than willing to help during office house. Expect the academics to be challenging, and the tuition to be expensive. Mon, 15 Jul 2013 12:54:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about CM for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html Everyone knows the school draws low status groups of people who don't like each other. As far as reputation, I don't see a degree translate to employment status in a city like New York. In NYC, the... Tue, 11 Jun 2013 11:27:45 GMT StudentsReview 1150-94323 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1150-94323 1150 23 Math Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Neutral Everyone knows the school draws low status groups of people who don't like each other.

As far as reputation, I don't see a degree translate to employment status in a city like New York. In NYC, there are sales roles, and slave roles. Sales and "client-facing" roles are more about presentation, not substance.

I've never recommended to anyone to attend this school.

At least I haven't killed any of my family members yet like that kid in my year.
Tue, 11 Jun 2013 11:27:45 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/CMU_comments.html