StudentsReview - Lehigh University - Life at LEUhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html Life at LEU - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about LEU for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html I just finished my freshman year at Lehigh and I could easily say that it was the best year of my life. I started off undeclared in the engineering school and I just switched to computer science and b... Tue, 06 May 2014 11:00:32 GMT StudentsReview 1179-107766 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-107766 1179 12 Computer Science Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive I just finished my freshman year at Lehigh and I could easily say that it was the best year of my life. I started off undeclared in the engineering school and I just switched to computer science and business (which is in both the engineering and business schools). Most of the courses you will take freshman year are intro math/science/engineering courses and with the exception of a few, they are generally large lectures. Professors for these courses are a hit or miss, and some courses are known as "weed outs" (so take all the AP/transfer/IB credit you can!!!). Professors and TAs are generally accessible and it is very easy to get help if you are struggling in a class (office hours, tutoring, etc.). Once you get through the intro classes, the classes for your major are much smaller and more intimate. You feel like you are actually learning something, and the professors have a lot to offer. The social scene at Lehigh is very prominent. You could find a party almost any night of the week, and you learn very early on how to balance school and partying. While Greek life is very big at Lehigh, you do not have to join to have a great Lehigh experience. There is definitely pressure to join and it doesn't hurt to rush and try it out, but as long as you are involved with something else you will find your niche and have a good experience. Not everyone finds their place immediately, but as long as you stay open, friendly, and accepting of different types of people, you will make friends. There has been some stuff going on recently with diversity issues on campus. While the student body is primarily white, there are students of different backgrounds and most people at Lehigh are very accepting. Some people love to hate the Greek system or the majority of white people on campus, but they are not bettering their college experience by acting bitter towards everyone else. There are so many organizations on campus to get involved with and students generally like to join clubs. Most students find jobs after graduation and employers are very impressed by a degree from Lehigh. Definitely visit campus if you are considering coming to Lehigh! Admissions really takes interest into account so take a tour, check the online portal, email faculty with any questions, and talk to Lehigh reps at college fairs. My friends at Lehigh are some of the best friends I've ever had and my freshman year was beyond amazing. Definitely consider coming to Lehigh! Tue, 06 May 2014 11:00:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about LEU for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html I would NOT recommend any minority students to come here. Lehigh is a left-extremist and white supremacist school, exactly like what you might have heard. There is NO social life if you are not into g... Sat, 12 Apr 2014 06:34:21 GMT StudentsReview 1179-105898 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-105898 1179 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Negative I would NOT recommend any minority students to come here. Lehigh is a left-extremist and white supremacist school, exactly like what you might have heard. There is NO social life if you are not into greek life and cheap alcohols. You know you are treated differently by the majority of rich white kids who are totally spoilt and so ignorant that they won't even hang out with you if 1. you are not 100% white 2. your parents are not rich 3. you don't like frat parties 4. you are not from NY, PA or NJ. Clubs and activities are jokes. The school claims it has everything you need and you will find your own niche. But most of the clubs died years ago and no one cares. Yup, welcome to Lehigh! Sat, 12 Apr 2014 06:34:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LEU for Chemistryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html Lehigh is not for everyone, while they claim you are able to find your own special niche on campus to grow and prosper i have found that to be rarely true. The university is known for your engineering... Tue, 28 Jan 2014 12:32:46 GMT StudentsReview 1179-100761 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-100761 1179 9 Chemistry Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Neutral Lehigh is not for everyone, while they claim you are able to find your own special niche on campus to grow and prosper i have found that to be rarely true. The university is known for your engineering school so most of the other majors in Arts and Sciences are looked down upon by students. I had the unfortunate experience of dealing with several difficult professors who either satiate you by giving you piles of busy work making it feel like the private school tuition is worth it, or the professors have been found to be rather pretentious. Not to say that all the professors are bad most have good intentions but the course material they are teaching lacks real weight in terms of ideas and lessons you can apply to employment. I will mention that Lehigh's alumni network is very helpful, however, you find most students simply relying on that instead of putting in real effort.

If you have gone on a campus tour please don't make that a factor in your decision to attend this university or any school for that matter, they tell students everything they want to hear in terms of how the social life is, and overall student body is as a whole. Which unfortunately is wrong the whole Lehigh/Lafayette rivalry week is a big excuse to drink, as well as are most other clubs and organizations on campus. Having played club hockey at the university i found the games to simply be a pre-requisite to going out to the bars, which mind you is fun, but at the same time in moderation which lehigh unfortunately lacks.

Socially lehigh is dominated by greek life which if you are interested in you will most likely love this school, i have a lot of friends who simply fall in love with the school bc of the greek life parties, from experiencing greek life first hand and going through the rush process i can say i have experienced many things that at most other schools you wont but at the same time it gets a little redundant. And from a guys perspective there are not that many options considering the very select amount of good looking girls.

From a student like myself who enjoys being academically challenged as well as having a social life i have found lehigh to be overrated in that regard relying primarily on the name of the university to carry students to do great things, not on their own academic merit. Socially kids do like to have fun and a lot of it, however, even as a white male if you are different you will feel discriminated against. Lehigh is unique in that aspect you love it or you hate it, and if you are a prospective student i strongly recommend hearing out unbiased reviews for you to make up your own mind on the university, but one thing i cannot emphasize enough go hear bc you love it not bc of the name it carries or the contacts you can make from it, It is four years of your life that many people regard as the best years of your life so above all go where you feel you fit the rest will fall into place.
Tue, 28 Jan 2014 12:32:46 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about LEU for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html If you're an intelligent student who also enjoys to drink and party then Lehigh is the perfect place for you. If these are 2 things u never wana do, then stop reading and look somewhere else. Otherw... Mon, 06 Jan 2014 06:55:07 GMT StudentsReview 1179-99702 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-99702 1179 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Positive If you're an intelligent student who also enjoys to drink and party then Lehigh is the perfect place for you. If these are 2 things u never wana do, then stop reading and look somewhere else. Otherwise, keep reading.

Lehigh's social scene is really everything you imagine "college life" to be. There are parties (and many of them) literally every day. If you are sociable and actually enjoy doing something other than studying all day, then there's no place like Lehigh.

All the negative reviews you will read are from disgruntled weird introverts who cant find the fun in getting wasted on a tuesday night with all of your friends. Probably because they couldn't make friends.

In addition to how fun it is, the value of receiving a degree from here is hard for any other school to match. Lehigh's post-undergrad job placement rates and average starting salary are amongst the highest of all universities.

This school is fucking awesome. You will learn how to handle going out 3-5 nights a week while maintaining a 3.0+ GPA.

This school is for extroverted intelligent young students who enjoy having fun with alcohol and doing what young people in college are supposed to do.

This school is f**king awesome.
Mon, 06 Jan 2014 06:55:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about LEU for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html I am a junior at Lehigh and its been the worst three years of my life... Faculty is unavailable... students divide between greek and non greek and look at you as lesser if you are not part of thei... Thu, 14 Nov 2013 05:36:11 GMT StudentsReview 1179-97097 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-97097 1179 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Negative I am a junior at Lehigh and its been the worst three years of my life...

Faculty is unavailable... students divide between greek and non greek and look at you as lesser if you are not part of their greek life.

Also, its so boring here! Nothing to do off campus, and you get tired of drinking beer and playing beer pong within the first month ....
Thu, 14 Nov 2013 05:36:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html