StudentsReview - Lehigh University - Life at LEUhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html Life at LEU - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about LEU for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html I would NOT recommend any minority students to come here. Lehigh is a left-extremist and white supremacist school, exactly like what you might have heard. There is NO social life if you are not into g... Sat, 12 Apr 2014 06:34:21 GMT StudentsReview 1179-105898 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-105898 1179 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Negative I would NOT recommend any minority students to come here. Lehigh is a left-extremist and white supremacist school, exactly like what you might have heard. There is NO social life if you are not into greek life and cheap alcohols. You know you are treated differently by the majority of rich white kids who are totally spoilt and so ignorant that they won't even hang out with you if 1. you are not 100% white 2. your parents are not rich 3. you don't like frat parties 4. you are not from NY, PA or NJ. Clubs and activities are jokes. The school claims it has everything you need and you will find your own niche. But most of the clubs died years ago and no one cares. Yup, welcome to Lehigh! Sat, 12 Apr 2014 06:34:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LEU for Chemistryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html Lehigh is not for everyone, while they claim you are able to find your own special niche on campus to grow and prosper i have found that to be rarely true. The university is known for your engineering... Tue, 28 Jan 2014 12:32:46 GMT StudentsReview 1179-100761 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-100761 1179 9 Chemistry Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Neutral Lehigh is not for everyone, while they claim you are able to find your own special niche on campus to grow and prosper i have found that to be rarely true. The university is known for your engineering school so most of the other majors in Arts and Sciences are looked down upon by students. I had the unfortunate experience of dealing with several difficult professors who either satiate you by giving you piles of busy work making it feel like the private school tuition is worth it, or the professors have been found to be rather pretentious. Not to say that all the professors are bad most have good intentions but the course material they are teaching lacks real weight in terms of ideas and lessons you can apply to employment. I will mention that Lehigh's alumni network is very helpful, however, you find most students simply relying on that instead of putting in real effort.

If you have gone on a campus tour please don't make that a factor in your decision to attend this university or any school for that matter, they tell students everything they want to hear in terms of how the social life is, and overall student body is as a whole. Which unfortunately is wrong the whole Lehigh/Lafayette rivalry week is a big excuse to drink, as well as are most other clubs and organizations on campus. Having played club hockey at the university i found the games to simply be a pre-requisite to going out to the bars, which mind you is fun, but at the same time in moderation which lehigh unfortunately lacks.

Socially lehigh is dominated by greek life which if you are interested in you will most likely love this school, i have a lot of friends who simply fall in love with the school bc of the greek life parties, from experiencing greek life first hand and going through the rush process i can say i have experienced many things that at most other schools you wont but at the same time it gets a little redundant. And from a guys perspective there are not that many options considering the very select amount of good looking girls.

From a student like myself who enjoys being academically challenged as well as having a social life i have found lehigh to be overrated in that regard relying primarily on the name of the university to carry students to do great things, not on their own academic merit. Socially kids do like to have fun and a lot of it, however, even as a white male if you are different you will feel discriminated against. Lehigh is unique in that aspect you love it or you hate it, and if you are a prospective student i strongly recommend hearing out unbiased reviews for you to make up your own mind on the university, but one thing i cannot emphasize enough go hear bc you love it not bc of the name it carries or the contacts you can make from it, It is four years of your life that many people regard as the best years of your life so above all go where you feel you fit the rest will fall into place.
Tue, 28 Jan 2014 12:32:46 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about LEU for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html If you're an intelligent student who also enjoys to drink and party then Lehigh is the perfect place for you. If these are 2 things u never wana do, then stop reading and look somewhere else. Otherw... Mon, 06 Jan 2014 06:55:07 GMT StudentsReview 1179-99702 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-99702 1179 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Positive If you're an intelligent student who also enjoys to drink and party then Lehigh is the perfect place for you. If these are 2 things u never wana do, then stop reading and look somewhere else. Otherwise, keep reading.

Lehigh's social scene is really everything you imagine "college life" to be. There are parties (and many of them) literally every day. If you are sociable and actually enjoy doing something other than studying all day, then there's no place like Lehigh.

All the negative reviews you will read are from disgruntled weird introverts who cant find the fun in getting wasted on a tuesday night with all of your friends. Probably because they couldn't make friends.

In addition to how fun it is, the value of receiving a degree from here is hard for any other school to match. Lehigh's post-undergrad job placement rates and average starting salary are amongst the highest of all universities.

This school is fucking awesome. You will learn how to handle going out 3-5 nights a week while maintaining a 3.0+ GPA.

This school is for extroverted intelligent young students who enjoy having fun with alcohol and doing what young people in college are supposed to do.

This school is f**king awesome.
Mon, 06 Jan 2014 06:55:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about LEU for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html I am a junior at Lehigh and its been the worst three years of my life... Faculty is unavailable... students divide between greek and non greek and look at you as lesser if you are not part of thei... Thu, 14 Nov 2013 05:36:11 GMT StudentsReview 1179-97097 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-97097 1179 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Negative I am a junior at Lehigh and its been the worst three years of my life...

Faculty is unavailable... students divide between greek and non greek and look at you as lesser if you are not part of their greek life.

Also, its so boring here! Nothing to do off campus, and you get tired of drinking beer and playing beer pong within the first month ....
Thu, 14 Nov 2013 05:36:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LEU for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html Lehigh is very pre-professional. Think yuppies, before they end up on Wall Street. Lots of designer clothes and technology (so.many.apple.products.) lots of business causal, lots of business jargon (n... Tue, 12 Nov 2013 11:17:45 GMT StudentsReview 1179-97025 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1179-97025 1179 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Neutral Lehigh is very pre-professional. Think yuppies, before they end up on Wall Street. Lots of designer clothes and technology (so.many.apple.products.) lots of business causal, lots of business jargon (networking,personal brands, selling yourself, cost-benefit etc) and I'm not even in the business school.
Lehigh attracts people who like to "play the system," people who look at life through the eyes of an economist (i.e., what is in this for me, what can I get out of this, rational-choice theory.) That's really the common denominator of Lehigh students. They're self-absorbed and want to get the most out of the least amount of effort. It's a personality type and it's the culture of this school. When I was in high school I thought the same way. I figured out how to bullshit my way through classes and getting straight As, while everybody else struggled. Every student at Lehigh is similar to me in that regard; they're all champion bullshitters. The choice you have to make is whether or not your top priority is yourself or not. If you want to cultivate relationships for reasons other than their instrumental value, you might be disappointed at Lehigh. If you believe in intrinsic human value separate from income capacity, again, you may become disillusioned at Lehigh. It's a vapid place but it never presents itself as anything other than what it is. If your principle goal in life is money, status, power, than Lehigh is a great means to those ends, and the people you meet here will be perfect "resources" for you. Just be sure that's what you want. If it's not, after a while here, you won't be able to deal with the bullshit, people will begin to seem to be garbling, speaking in tongues.
Professors are generally great, if you take classes you're interested in.
Also, there's recently been some underlying racial tensions cracking Lehigh's usually placid facade of self-absorbed apathy. Don't think though, that the minorities here are any different than their white counterparts. They're here entirely for themselves too, and many of them are just as rich and just as privileged. They just get upset when some sociopathic douchebag decides to wind them up by spray-painting the n word around campus.
The point I've been laboring at is, if you go to Lehigh, you outta know yourself before you arrive on Campus. If you are suited for the emptiness you'll find here, you'll feel at home. If you're not, you might be charmed for a few weeks, but that'll change when some gust of mountain air blows down Lehigh's dormitory of cards.
Tue, 12 Nov 2013 11:17:45 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/LEU_comments.html