StudentsReview - Pennsylvania State University - Life at PSUhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html Life at PSU - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about PSU for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html It's all about partying for the students and all about making money for the administration. Don't expect to go 5 minutes on a Saturday night without finding drunk people, or a Monday night for tha... Tue, 15 Jul 2014 09:33:49 GMT StudentsReview 1192-113883 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-113883 1192 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Negative It's all about partying for the students and all about making money for the administration.

Don't expect to go 5 minutes on a Saturday night without finding drunk people, or a Monday night for that matter.

Given the chance I'd have gone to a different school.

We Are,
SUB PAR
Tue, 15 Jul 2014 09:33:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about PSU for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html I was raped repeatedly at PSU. During one of the football games, as I was coming out of the bathroom I saw a bunch of guys yelling at an Asian girl. When I stepped in to defend her they turned on me, ... Thu, 19 Jun 2014 10:59:06 GMT StudentsReview 1192-111283 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-111283 1192 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative I was raped repeatedly at PSU. During one of the football games, as I was coming out of the bathroom I saw a bunch of guys yelling at an Asian girl. When I stepped in to defend her they turned on me, dragged me screaming down the corridor and no one stopped to help. This happens frequently and the faculty and staff do nothing to help. Neither does police on or off campus. They told me I should watch my drinking in the future after a half-assed police investigation. I don't even drink! That place is terrible and I don't recommend it to anyone. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 10:59:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about PSU for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html Do not come here if you expect to be treated as an individual student. In the Eberly College of Science, you are treated as a number. The majority of professors (but not all) do not care about teachin... Sun, 18 May 2014 09:54:49 GMT StudentsReview 1192-108796 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-108796 1192 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Negative Do not come here if you expect to be treated as an individual student. In the Eberly College of Science, you are treated as a number. The majority of professors (but not all) do not care about teaching students or their learning. Many of the professors I've had are nothing but arrogant and incompetent at teaching. They either do not know how to get their message across to undergraduates or simply do not care. Research is the thing at this college, not education of undergraduates. Just because you have a Ph.D does not mean you can teach. The majority of classes are based on exams and that's it (no papers, presentations, etc.)Exams are fine but not the only way (and most efficient way) to gauge your learning. Avoid this school. It is not worth the money, especially when your tuition is part of the salaries of professors that do not care. The College of Science prides itself on being "one of the best in the nation." MY ASS. You can present all the numbers you want, it doesn't reflect the sad and inadequate reality of the Eberly College of Science. Sun, 18 May 2014 09:54:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about PSU for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html I study English as a major here at Penn State. The English program here is excellent. However some of the lecturers can be a bit stuck up/arrogant, and one department head of the Rhetoric department... Sat, 10 May 2014 02:36:35 GMT StudentsReview 1192-107965 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-107965 1192 17 English Female Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Positive I study English as a major here at Penn State. The English program here is excellent. However some of the lecturers can be a bit stuck up/arrogant, and one department head of the Rhetoric department takes too many drugs. The professors are of very high quality and do challenge you as a student.

Professors are easily accessible but you have to be the one to contact them and make the time/effort to communicate with them.

The student body consists of mainly middle/upper class white students but you're in the middle of rural central Pennsylvania, and most people come from out of state, other countries, or from Pittsburgh or Philadelphia.

If you are an LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, or trans) student Penn State is very accepting of LGBT people, and LGBT students. The surrounding community is very LGBT friendly as well.

If you are from a large city the town/small city of State College will take some time to get used to as it is sort of rural. Yes people do drink a lot but there are many other things to do besides drink.
Sat, 10 May 2014 02:36:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about PSU for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html I transferred from a community college. I always thought that it would be hard coming from a community college, because it should be more challenging at a good school like Penn State. Imagine the surp... Sat, 03 May 2014 03:41:22 GMT StudentsReview 1192-107511 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-107511 1192 7 Business - Management and Administration Female Undergraduate Class 2014 3rd Year Negative I transferred from a community college. I always thought that it would be hard coming from a community college, because it should be more challenging at a good school like Penn State. Imagine the surprise.
In one case my marketing professor argued that 2 marketing terms have the same definition, when by definition they are completely different (for the marketers among you, the terms were "promotion" and "advertising").
In other classes my teachers didn't teach at all, expecting us to learn by ourselves. In one case we were given take home exams, which were the questions that come with the instructor's book. He didn't even bother to go ahead and pick the relevant question, resulting in multiple questions with the same answers sequentially (each test has about 150 questions). Not only that, by the end of the course we completed only 10 quizzes for 10 chapters out of the 24.
To sum up - great campus, but don't go if you actually want to learn anything.
Sat, 03 May 2014 03:41:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html