StudentsReview - Pennsylvania State University - Life at PSUhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html Life at PSU - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about PSU for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html If you want a quality education, I would suggest you avoid Penn State. While there are some outstanding professors that do care about educating the next generation of scientists and health care profes... Fri, 14 Mar 2014 12:44:42 GMT StudentsReview 1192-103531 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-103531 1192 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Advice If you want a quality education, I would suggest you avoid Penn State. While there are some outstanding professors that do care about educating the next generation of scientists and health care professionals, they are very rare. The majority of the professors at this university do not care about undergraduate students and would rather put their attention to their research. This is evident by the fact that the Millennium Science Complex (a multi-million dollar facility) does not have any space dedicated to undergraduate instruction. Classes usually do not encourage active learning or critical thinking; most classes are simply based on multiple choice exams with a professor that typically reads off lecture slides and nothing else. The fact of the matter, most (but certainly not all) of the faculty are mediocre in teaching the subject matter and will be quite condescending should you ask for explanation or clarification. Instructional labs are amongst the most poorly implemented, typically assigning tedious busy work instead of assignments that actually have value and merit. Often times in these instructional labs, you would run out of reagents because the lab coordinator would not provide the sections with enough. That is just a further reflection of how poorly they regard undergraduates. Some advisors have little to no concept of undergraduate life and oftentimes will advise students very poorly (e.g. since when is advising students to take 16+ credits of science/semester a feasible and smart piece of advice?)The only good thing I can say that relates to the academics is that research is phenomenal, but sadly education quality takes a hit because of this.

The atmosphere is a different story. Student life is great at PSU. Contrary to what a lot of people say, there is a lot of stuff to do besides drinking. There are many clubs you can get involved in; there is something for everyone at PSU and chances are you will find other students with similar interests. Football games are outrageously fun. The campus has 3 great fitness facilities (really do take advantage of this, because it is a great way to de-stress). Downtown is a nice scene, especially with the wide variety of restaurants and bars that you could go to. Then there is, of course, THON (the 46 hour dance marathon dedicated to pediatric cancer). THON really is the shining star of philanthropy and service at PSU.

PSU is definitely not for everyone. If you are alright with large classes and little to no professor-student interaction, you may do well here. If you would rather have meaningful student-professor interaction that could benefit you in your schoolwork, Penn State is definitely not a school for you. I guess it also depends on your program as well so just research your particular program and do talk to current students, as they will give you the best portrayal of the school.
Fri, 14 Mar 2014 12:44:42 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about PSU for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html If you're coming to penn state simply for education... Don't. The reality is that the education is poor. the physics department is virtually incompetent, and the most of the faculty could care less a... Wed, 26 Feb 2014 01:44:14 GMT StudentsReview 1192-102205 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-102205 1192 8 Chemical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Negative If you're coming to penn state simply for education... Don't. The reality is that the education is poor. the physics department is virtually incompetent, and the most of the faculty could care less about students. They only care about themselves and their research. Most of this gets overlooked by people who "bleed blue and white" because they love frats and football. Well this university is basically just frats and football. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 01:44:14 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about PSU for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html I believe that all reviews contain a certain bias. If students have positive experiences then they render favorable reviews. On the other hand, students reflect their negative experiences in their r... Fri, 10 Jan 2014 02:21:18 GMT StudentsReview 1192-99944 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-99944 1192 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Advice I believe that all reviews contain a certain bias. If students have positive experiences then they render favorable reviews. On the other hand, students reflect their negative experiences in their reviews. It is important to remember that the truth often lies somewhere in the middle. There is no one 'right' school for any student, and your college experience is what YOU make of it!

Having stated that I have only positive things to say about Penn State. I believe that I received an excellent education, and as a Schreyer Honors College scholar, I had many learning opportunities both inside and outside the classroom. I know that PSU has a party school rep, although I think that the same reputation could be hung on almost any school, with the exception of some small Christian colleges and BYU! If you want to party, then come to Penn State. However, if you want to work hard and learn in a world class educational environment, then come to Penn State! I had to maintain a higher GPA at PSU to remain in the SHC than any of my friends in their honors programs at other universities. I also had a graduation thesis requirement to satisfy. All those reviewers who comment on the poor work ethic of Penn State students might be reflecting on their own lack of effort, and perhaps that is why they were unsuccessful. Also, it amazes me that some students complain about the lack of diversity. What do they expect to find in a small college town in the middle of Pennsylvania? Seriously, if you want tons of diversity then choose a inner city college or university. Penn State attracts students from all over the world, but the majority of students come from the mid-Atlantic area, so the student body is only slightly diverse. However, there are clubs and organizations for many different groups of students. As with any school you will need to get involved, join organizations with like-minded people and you will find your peer group.

I had some really good professors and some not so good ones, but, again, I think this would be the same at any university. Penn State is a big school environment so choose to go elsewhere if you are not a self-starter, and still need some high school type hand-holding. Freshman year lecture classes seat hundreds of students, but if you sit in the front row then who cares how many others are in the same room seated behind you? I made some good friends, did some partying, went to some exciting sporting events (not just football), graduated in four years, landed a good job in my career field, and have some wonderful college memories. That's what it's all about! I would definitely choose Penn State all over again.
Fri, 10 Jan 2014 02:21:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about PSU for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM THIS UNIVERSITY AS POSSIBLE! It is by far the worst school ever! The professors are arrogant and don't give two shits about their students they have no time in the day to stop an... Thu, 09 Jan 2014 04:17:37 GMT StudentsReview 1192-99868 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-99868 1192 8 Chemical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM THIS UNIVERSITY AS POSSIBLE! It is by far the worst school ever! The professors are arrogant and don't give two shits about their students they have no time in the day to stop and answer your questions. There is no campus life, the parties suck! There is nothing to do there the campus is in the middle of nowhere and people in general from the students, to faculty, to the administration staff are all arrogant and are just plain FUCKERS! DO NOT GO HERE I will guarantee you that you'll want to transfer after your first semester there. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 04:17:37 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about PSU for Anthropologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html DON'T ATTEND THIS SCHOOL! I went to the University Park campus, and then transferred to the online World Campus. Both were terrible. This school's biggest sell is partying, and football. They are clos... Wed, 18 Dec 2013 09:16:58 GMT StudentsReview 1192-98603 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1192-98603 1192 42 Anthropology Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative DON'T ATTEND THIS SCHOOL! I went to the University Park campus, and then transferred to the online World Campus. Both were terrible. This school's biggest sell is partying, and football. They are closed-minded, and NOT at all kind to minorities, and they're homophobes. I actually received an email from the University's President after an incident in October 2013. White students (unapologetically) wore "blackface" and KKK costumes for Halloween (see link below). This upset many minority students, and the school's only response was an email. Asians are openly made fun of, and forget it if you're gay or lesbian. Please, please, please stay away from this school! Especially if you're a woman who does not enjoy the prospect of being date raped, and no one caring after you report the rapist.

You will be disappointed, and waste your parents money. The financial aid packages are nonexistent. The teachers are dunces, and their English is poor. The teachers' born in America are even worse. Typos by the ton. The World Campus courses are excessively outdated in some areas. For example, my Biology teacher constantly had to change the grades on the weekly quizzes because the answers did not pertain to the newer edition of the assigned materials. Also, many links to the assignments we had to complete were dead, so she had to update it as we went along. Admittedly, this was one of the better professors, kind of.

The administration are f**k ups, and I had three different academic counselors in the time I attended Penn State. There is nothing to do but drink, party, and watch football games. There are a ton of clubs, but who cares, since no one actually participates. This school is all show, and nothing about it is worthwhile. I ended up applying to another college after I got fed up with the atmosphere. I will be attending Columbia University come Spring. I am more than happy to pay the extra money, and the financial aid is better, including scholarship opportunities. To summarize my opinion of Pedo State University...STAY FAR AWAY!!!

Post Gazette article on racist Halloween costumes at PSU (Oct. 2013):
http://old.post-gazette.com/localnews/20031206psublack1206p7.asp
Wed, 18 Dec 2013 09:16:58 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/PSU_comments.html