StudentsReview - Washington & Jefferson College - Life at WJChttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html Life at WJC - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about WJC for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html It seems everything is about the money here and the value is just not there for the costs. They offer little to no flexibility on several things. For instance, they promote their Greek life but it is ... Mon, 25 Aug 2014 07:33:24 GMT StudentsReview 1217-121711 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1217-121711 1217 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Class 2016 2nd Year Negative It seems everything is about the money here and the value is just not there for the costs. They offer little to no flexibility on several things. For instance, they promote their Greek life but it is a big rip off. The housing is the most expensive on campus and they do a horrible job of cleaning them. We have complained and they basically make empty promises and nothing gets done. I still haven't figured out what I am getting for the extra $1100/semester for my room in addition to another $1200 for frat dues. All off campus housing is controlled by the college including the frat houses. There is no off campus apartments. Nothing is equipped for meal preparation at the dorms or frat houses and they force you to have a meal plan. Housing and the meal plans are absolute rip off. Meals currently break down to about $150/week. Social life is disappointing as noted in the other reviews. Campus shrinks real quick and you begin to feel boxed in because the surrounding town is a ghetto. Wonder too far from campus and you are inviting trouble. Pre Med professors are arrogant and seem to take pleasure in the weed out process. After you are deemed unfit for medical school, there really isn't a program or department worth the cash they are commanding. This school does an incredible job marketing itself but really it is smoke and mirrors. Short of an highly demanding pre med program they really don't stand out, the surrounding area is a shit hole and the business office seems to be in your pocket every time you turn around and provides little opportunity to curb your costs. For example, if I am going to pay to live in a frat house with a kitchen why am I not able to drop the over priced meal plan? This is just one example where they seem to command premium dollar without delivering a premium product. Mon, 25 Aug 2014 07:33:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about WJC for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html This the type of school that is what you make it. If you're a person who makes friends and connections easily, you will love your time here. Socially, it's very old school, work-hard-play-hard(er... Fri, 22 Nov 2013 09:37:21 GMT StudentsReview 1217-97284 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1217-97284 1217 57 Economics Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive This the type of school that is what you make it. If you're a person who makes friends and connections easily, you will love your time here.

Socially, it's very old school, work-hard-play-hard(er). The greek life here is tremendous and open to most anyone, and is the nucleus of social activity on the weekends.

As far as academics go, you will have endless opportunities thrown at you, everything from internships, research projects, extra-curriculars, anything to sculpt the ideal resume.

Whether or not you take advantage of them will largely define how happy you are. Being bored in some locations is more fun than in others. If you stay busy, and that's easier to do here than most places, you will be incredibly happy.

The professors are easy to get to, want you to succeed, and will bend over backwards to make you succeed. There aren't any 20-something TA's with master's degrees teaching you in classrooms with 400 kids; you'd learn from masters of their respective trades and classes of about twelve.

Don't come here for the food though...
Fri, 22 Nov 2013 09:37:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about WJC for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html I've enjoyed my time so far at W&J... Sat, 16 Feb 2013 04:13:18 GMT StudentsReview 1217-92058 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1217-92058 1217 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive I've enjoyed my time so far at W&J Sat, 16 Feb 2013 04:13:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about WJC for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html W&J provides a steller liberal arts education. The social life is alright though, and so is the city of Washington. Overall, I'm very pleased here.... Sat, 16 Feb 2013 04:08:20 GMT StudentsReview 1217-92057 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1217-92057 1217 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Neutral W&J provides a steller liberal arts education. The social life is alright though, and so is the city of Washington. Overall, I'm very pleased here. Sat, 16 Feb 2013 04:08:20 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about WJC for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html I've thoroughly enjoyed my time at W&J. The professors are helpful, the school rewards hard work, and students are barraged with a seemingly endless variety of opportunities. If you're looking for a... Fri, 25 May 2012 02:16:12 GMT StudentsReview 1217-87539 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1217-87539 1217 17 English Female Undergraduate Class 2013 3rd Year Positive I've thoroughly enjoyed my time at W&J. The professors are helpful, the school rewards hard work, and students are barraged with a seemingly endless variety of opportunities. If you're looking for a party school or a place where you can slack off, W&J isn't for you. On the other hand, individuals who genuinely want a good education should consider this college. With the Magellan Project, ample opportunities to study abroad, and Intersession, W&J offers students the chance to experience the world in ways they might never be able to after graduating. Aside from one or two exceptions, I've had nothing but amazing student-teacher relationships. The class sizes are also exceptional; the largest class I?ve been in contained 25 students and the smallest had only 4. Essentially, if you come to W&J and are genuinely interested in learning, expect individual attention and success no matter WHAT your major. If you have goals and the drive to accomplish them, W&J is for you. If you're more concerned about parties or living in an exciting city, look elsewhere. As someone who has had the time of her life here despite the "boring" surroundings, I believe that any motivated and academic-minded individual should find a perfect fit with this college. Fri, 25 May 2012 02:16:12 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/PA/WJC_comments.html