StudentsReview - The University of Rhode Island - Life at URI Copyright 2019 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html Life at URI - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about URI for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html My biggest complaint about the school is the absolute CRAP administration, particularly the housing department. I moved into a room without know their were BED BUGS there. The university did not belie... Sun, 20 Jan 2019 04:26:56 GMT StudentsReview 1235-184178 1235-184178 1235 54 Communications Female Undergraduate Class 2019 4th Year Negative My biggest complaint about the school is the absolute CRAP administration, particularly the housing department. I moved into a room without know their were BED BUGS there. The university did not believe me or do anything about it until i brought them a live sample. Absolutely ridiculous situation and everyone should stay far away from their housing. Expensive and for WHAT? A place with bed bugs? Good bye. Thank God I won't be living there next year. Sun, 20 Jan 2019 04:26:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about URI for Pharmacyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html Great school. The perfect college experience and so beautiful!... Wed, 23 May 2018 10:19:22 GMT StudentsReview 1235-183254 1235-183254 1235 31 Pharmacy Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral Great school. The perfect college experience and so beautiful! Wed, 23 May 2018 10:19:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about URI for Kinesiologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html Overall URI is not a terrible school to attend, if you are planning on taking on a challenging major I would highly recommend you go elsewhere. Personally speaking only one or two professors I have ha... Thu, 03 May 2018 04:42:27 GMT StudentsReview 1235-183173 1235-183173 1235 21 Kinesiology Male Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Negative Overall URI is not a terrible school to attend, if you are planning on taking on a challenging major I would highly recommend you go elsewhere. Personally speaking only one or two professors I have had truly positive interactions with. Most of the advisors and overall staff don't even seem like they want to be here. The culture between the students and staff here seems off. There is a massive disconnect between the two and it seems like you are working against the people that are paid to help you.
Speaking on social terms the only true way to feel like you are part of any community is to join greek life, that is where I have made all my friends and the only reason I do not want to leave. I will put it this way, if it were not for greek life I would have transfered first week of going here. However even greek life seems it is on the decline, the school gets stricter and stricter by the year and is pushing out the one good thing it actually has going for itself. In 5-10 years im sure greek life will dead or one of the biggest jokes here.
There are alot of other good options out there but most people including myself spend their days extemely frustrated with the school and the undertrained advisors that you have to work with. Getting anything done here is a chore and the parking is terrible. Do not expect anything they try to tell you or sell to you because for the most part it is false. On top of all that parking is terrible and they plan on taking away even more parking
Thu, 03 May 2018 04:42:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about URI for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html There are some very good schools and colleges within the university; including the pharmacy, oceanography and certain engineering programs. On the downside, Rhode Island is a very small state where m... Thu, 16 Feb 2017 06:03:16 GMT StudentsReview 1235-178832 1235-178832 1235 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 1921 1st Year Neutral There are some very good schools and colleges within the university; including the pharmacy, oceanography and certain engineering programs. On the downside, Rhode Island is a very small state where many people know each other. It can seem a bit provincial at times; sort of a continuation of the high school clique scene. This is offset a degree by out of state students many of whom come from Connecticut and Long Island, but the townie mentality still exists. The university is set in a very picturesque location with the ocean being located only 6 miles away. However, as the state?s flagship university, the school itself is not particularly well-maintained and landscaping and building maintenance tend to suffer. Expansion and infrastructure projects always seem to be at the center of political debate; ultimately involving state budget referendums which are routinely defeated. On the balance, URI is neither great nor horrible?.. it?s just an average place. Thu, 16 Feb 2017 06:03:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about URI for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html I am an adult student who attends part time in Providence. That used to be a student friendly place. I don't know what has happened, but it is not friendly any longer. It seems like a very adult stud... Mon, 03 Oct 2016 05:48:38 GMT StudentsReview 1235-176036 1235-176036 1235 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2019 4th Year Negative I am an adult student who attends part time in Providence.
That used to be a student friendly place. I don't know what has happened, but it is not friendly any longer. It seems like a very adult student unfriendly place, in fact. Fewer classes are offered than I ever remember and the staff and faculty are defininely unhappy. In state students are not very wanted.
Mon, 03 Oct 2016 05:48:38 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/RI/URI_comments.html