StudentsReview - Coastal Carolina University - Life at CCU Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html Life at CCU - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about CCU for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html Coming from Boston I was excited to come down to Myrtle Beach and get away from the cold and have a change of environment. I had a good time at orientation, met some good people and was really looking... Mon, 27 Apr 2015 09:09:16 GMT StudentsReview 1243-160207 1243-160207 1243 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Negative Coming from Boston I was excited to come down to Myrtle Beach and get away from the cold and have a change of environment. I had a good time at orientation, met some good people and was really looking forward to spending the next four years here, then I got a real feel for the campus. There were about 20 arrest within the first weekend being here. The cops, greek life, and education really turned me off. The cops will arrest you without having a second thought if you are caught with booze underage and weed is seen as the devils lettuce down here. If you spend a whole year here you are bound to spend a night in J. Reuben (the jail cell) and will usually have to pay anywhere from 300-500 dollars depending on what you were arrested for, usually alcohol being the cheapest at around 300. I guess the one plus side is Horry County post every mugshot of every inmate so you will have a funny mugshot to look at 20 years down the road. Then there is the greek life/social life. For starters there are no fraternity or sorority houses on campus but for some reason greek life here is viewed as a top priority. Very few people go all four year without joining greek life. Coastal wants to be a legitimate greek life organization but simply does not have the ability to do so. Also most the girls in guys in greek life are douches and bitches and the girls won't think twice of you if you aren't in a frat. The parties here suck and had better and more parties in high school than I did here. The common places to go are Monarch and Coastal Club which usually get busted before midnight by security. Before they get busted it is usually too crowded to move around and you do not know most the people at the party most the time. Quail isn't even worth going too because those parties get busted before monarch or coastal club and it is the police instead of security so you will have to run. Campus walk use to have parties my first semester but the cops ruined that and no one over there throws down, while college park right behind it never really threw down in the first place, but would get busted before 12 if they did. If you aren't in a frat or sorority don't bother going to juniper because very unlikely you'll get in or they'll make you pay for a shitty house party that will obviously get busted. Fairways is usually a good time but unfortunately is not in walking distance and you will need a ride there. The few party houses I went to that were actually a good time and never got busted were in the pines and what us to the the sae house, never got busted until there were to many complaints by neighbors and the owners of the house got evicted. They say the beach is only 10 miles away but everyone goes to 64th st. in myrtle which is a good 25 minute drive without traffic which is usually rare. Tongy's is the usual hot spot on thursday night and unless you have money don't bother going. Tongy's is a bar trying to be a club and usually once a month ADT will come and take everyones fakes. Broadway was fun to go to until you realize you are not as rich as everyone else who can afford to spend 30 dollars on cabs and cover fees not including the alcohol you will buy prior to or during the club. Also, don't use your fake at se?or frogs they will know its fake and take it, don't know a single person who has got in with a fake myself included. On a positive note beer and tobacco are a lot cheaper than up north. The education here is half ass at best. If you are not a PGM major and marine science major you should probably transfer out asap. Some of my credits didn't even transfer over to UMass Amherst so now I have to take summer classes to be a sophomore. You really do not think you are at college here because the campus is not a college campus and Conway is not a college town. Coastal is right in between highways 501 and 544 which usually has a major car accident on both highways everyday creating huge traffic jams. Coming from a masshole driver these people are the worst drivers you will come across. No one here has school spirit, most fans including myself just get hammered before the game and leave by half. It is a shame because the athletics here are very good especially the football, basketball, and baseball teams which have got recognition nationwide from beating big D1 teams. The dining halls here suck and have terrible times, unless you live at UP (which several people I know have gotten food poising from UP Cafe) the latest dining hall is open till 9 on weekdays, usually meaning you go to bed hungry every night. You will get the hicks shits and will have the runs many times in the first few weeks. Campus is always under construction with at least five construction sites around campus at any giving time. The gym is very nice with state of the art equipment but can no longer handle the amount students here, usually making you have to work out either before 4 or after 9-10 depending on the night or if you want to wait. Not having a car is also an inconvenience because the shuttle to the local wal-mart runs only once an hour and thats if you want to wait. The dorms are actually very nice, the majority of people have their own rooms and a lot have their own showers. I lived in a triple first semester and it sucked because there is not enough room for three people to live in a tiny dorm, two is manageable but try and get your own room if you can. Don't try drinking in the dorms as well, very few RAs are okay with it and if theres 10 or more people in your dorm pregaming expect to get written up for a noise complaint or alcohol. Some schools people can smoke in the dorms and everything is fine, not here. Even the smell of weed gives the RA to search your room and if you get caught with weed, you will probably be arrested and kicked out of housing no questions asked. Water pong is considered "alcohol paraphernalia" here so can't play pong in your room. WIFI usually sucks but so does every other campus WIFI. Overall, I wish I knew what this place was like before I wasted a year here. I did meet some good people who I'll always be friends with and if you do have a so-so GPA like I did in high school (3.0) you can easily get a 3.5 here without putting in much work like I have and transfer to a better school. Unless you are rich, plan on joining a frat/sorority or are majoring in PGM or marine science, don't come here. Mon, 27 Apr 2015 09:09:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about CCU for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html General Coastal Carolina has great faculty and staff I have a very positive experiences with 90% of its employees. However the higher ups love working for the resort that is coastal Carolina. The on ... Sat, 11 Apr 2015 07:54:28 GMT StudentsReview 1243-159381 1243-159381 1243 17 English Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Advice General
Coastal Carolina has great faculty and staff I have a very positive experiences with 90% of its employees. However the higher ups love working for the resort that is coastal Carolina. The on campus internet is beyond slow. Loading anything is like if you went outside and just waited for Jesus to step down from heaven because that might happen sooner. Nothing is planned for here like making the wifi stronger or housing or enough dining halls. Once Coastal over accepts then realizes they needed more for all the new freshmen then they start to build the new things necessary or just leave it. Everything here is a facade given to us by the higher ups working at Coastal Carolina.
Food
The dining halls they build are not even built like a functioning kitchen everything is so impractical and just a pretty way to do things. The food here is inedible at times; if you like your lettuce will its welting this is the perfect choice for you. The staff at the dining halls are usually very friendly but get aggravated when the students blame them for the awful food. But this is not the employees faults(most of the time) it is the fault of the managers that feel no guilt serving food that would never get you returning businesses in the real restaurant business.

Classes
Dear parents of the children looking at this school this is all up on your child to not only learn but to care. The professors here are amazing but are told to teach basic curriculums requiring very little from the student. I did more work during high school while battling a heroin addiction only ever showing up to half of the school day and graduating thanks to doctors notes. This pertains to your child and what they want to take from the college experience. One very refreshing aspect for me about the lack of enthusiasm to learn at Coastal Carolina is professors often have little traffic during their office hours from an incredibly high percentage of students.

Parties
The liquor stores close at 7 o?clock in the state of South Carolina, for all you out of state potential students. Which means you better know what you want for your night before the pregame?s evening get started. But that?s not really an issue because almost any party you will go to will be surrounded by black and whites anytime between 9 and 10. This is why at Coastal Carolina the pregames often become the activity for the entire night. This is not a party school all of our housing is so separated and it is necessary to get on the highways to go from housing to housing making walking not an option. Also if you like smoking marijuana I hope you like your pot dry and weak.

Student Body

Disclaimer: This is going to be a general stereo typing of students at Coastal Carolina meaning I am not trying to say this is all of the students that go to school here.
There is very little diversity other than black and white. I am From New Jersey where I had many friends of different ethnicities here I only know people that are either black or white this is not by choice, this is due to the lack of other ethnicities presence here. Now let?s learn about a typical Coastal Carolina student, who lacks skills in communication usually out of the moment, sitting on their Smart phone. Show vast amount of uneasiness when invited into conversation. The typical Coastal student will not branch out to meet other instead conform to a group a friends to play a nice long game of follower the leader for an entire semester to only start over the next semester. Not only are the student not branching out but the clubs seemed concealed here making it impossible to find the right club for you unless you like being casually labeled or engage into Greek life. Not to mention how the freshman are split apart from each other via housing reducing the chances of any freshman year student interactions.
Sat, 11 Apr 2015 07:54:28 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about CCU for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html If you're looking for a genuine party school, Coastal is not for you. If you're looking for a decent education, Coastal is not for you. Coastal Carolina is no longer a party school. if your idea of a ... Sun, 11 Jan 2015 06:24:28 GMT StudentsReview 1243-156250 1243-156250 1243 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Negative If you're looking for a genuine party school, Coastal is not for you. If you're looking for a decent education, Coastal is not for you. Coastal Carolina is no longer a party school. if your idea of a party is a frat located in a tiny townhouse in a family orientated area, then you're in luck. parties are busted before 12 without fail each weekend. cops really cracked down and are eager to hand out tickets and arrests. bars are scarce and get old after a few weekends. the surrounding area is lifeless after the month of august. everyone there does not care about school whatsoever and either peaked in high school, or are now just discovering alcohol for the first time. the school is a joke and after the first semester all four of my roommates and i transferred out along with dozens of people we knew. this school is not at all what it's cracked up to be. do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. Sun, 11 Jan 2015 06:24:28 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CCU for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html Before you start judging Coastal Carolina based off of reviews, you should really go visit and experience the school for yourself. I didn't even have the school down as a contender until I stepped foo... Sun, 11 Jan 2015 10:48:38 GMT StudentsReview 1243-156237 1243-156237 1243 1 Accounting Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Positive Before you start judging Coastal Carolina based off of reviews, you should really go visit and experience the school for yourself. I didn't even have the school down as a contender until I stepped foot on the campus and I fell in love! The faculty is very friendly, the campus is beautiful! They've updated A LOT over the last few years so it's new and feels very clean. There's a brand new student center with a movie theater, the HTC recreation center is amazing in itself! The dorms are far better than the other schools I've visited in SC. The fact that freshman aren't required to stay all in one building is great! You have more options. The surrounding city of Conway isn't all too great. You have an outlet mall and some restaurants on the highway outside of campus. You're 9 miles from Myrtle Beach so how can you really complain? There's plenty to do there and the night life is great! The fee to park on campus for the year isn't a bad deal compared to other schools. They also have bus transportation exclusively for CCU students. I feel pretty safe on campus. I didn't find anything flawed security wise. They have a great choice of sororities! The Library is great! It doesn't feel stuffy and out of date. The places you can sit around outside are beautiful! It's not too big of a campus so I'm comfortable just walking everywhere but it's not small and shoved altogether. Overall this is an amazing school and trust me, visit if it's even an option!! Sun, 11 Jan 2015 10:48:38 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about CCU for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html I picked Coastal Carolina University for many reasons in the beginning; I thought my classes would be interesting, I thought there would be many different opportunities, and I thought there would be m... Fri, 05 Dec 2014 09:59:35 GMT StudentsReview 1243-154755 1243-154755 1243 7 Business - Management and Administration Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral I picked Coastal Carolina University for many reasons in the beginning; I thought my classes would be interesting, I thought there would be many different opportunities, and I thought there would be many things to do. Sadly, I was very wrong about all these aspects. The nicest thing about Coastal is there campus, it is beautiful and always has a nice climate. However, aside from the palm trees and sun there is nothing special to it. The education is basically just "eh", there are not many clubs that get together aside from sports, and after the first few weeks of school the nightlife is just terrible. I would suggest this university to someone who does not care much about school and just wants to get by to get by. Before you attend know that the drop out rate is around 75%. Also, if you attend, you are going to need a car asap. Fri, 05 Dec 2014 09:59:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/CCU_comments.html