StudentsReview - The University of South Carolina Upstate - Life at USCU Copyright 2021 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html Life at USCU - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about USCU for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html I was fortunate. I went here before education got so expensive. For me it was great value. And a great life-experience. It is true that I am still blue collar, but that is due to my personal decisi... Sun, 11 Feb 2018 01:59:51 GMT StudentsReview 1262-182764 1262-182764 1262 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive I was fortunate. I went here before education got so expensive. For me it was great value. And a great life-experience.

It is true that I am still blue collar, but that is due to my personal decisions and no fault of the school. I was almost 40 by the time I got my degree and well established in a good paying Union job. So for me my education was almost entirely for personal improvement. However, I have a four-year computer science degree that at the time of my graduation actually had some market value (unlike my BJU degree). After graduation I made the (perhaps foolish) decision to not walk away from a blue collar job that paid 80k+ a year to start over again at the bottom in a corporate I.T. job.

At the time I was there the Computer Science department was having issues due to the shortage of qualified professors. It was almost entirely taught by mathematics professors who were in over their heads in computer programming. One spoke very poor english. One had poor classroom skills. Two had only rudimentary skills in C++.

But whatever the issues past and present, these local State schools are a remarkable opportunity for working class kids to improve themselves. It can be a ladder into the middle class. Unfortunately, there is a grey lining to that cloud. The costs for students has exploded, even as academic rigor has fallen -- and there is a dearth of vocational training, a falling of off high school academic standards, and an explosion of easy university degrees. But I digress.

If you are looking for a college with a huge campus, high enrollment, and party-town location were you can party hearty for a couple of years before dropping out and getting a job in your father's tire shop, this is not the school for you. This school is best suited for those looking to work hard and to seriously attempt improving themselves. There is a lot of opportunity here to soft fail or to outright fail -- and to fail without even having a good in-your-20's party experience. If your looking for a good party, there are cheaper and better ways to do it.
Sun, 11 Feb 2018 01:59:51 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about USCU for School of Informationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html USC Upstate may not be the largest university, but it offers the chance for one to move forward in life. The informatics department has been fantastic, and most of its professors are knowledgable. USC... Tue, 12 Nov 2013 07:50:41 GMT StudentsReview 1262-97019 1262-97019 1262 62 School of Information Male Undergraduate Class 2015 2nd Year Positive USC Upstate may not be the largest university, but it offers the chance for one to move forward in life. The informatics department has been fantastic, and most of its professors are knowledgable. USC Upstaet may not have the greatest social experience, but it's okay. Every department offers different chances at employment, as with any school. Overall, USC Upstate offers a decent experience. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 07:50:41 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about USCU for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html Everything is about sports which is funny because the teams are terrible and nobody goes to any games. But if you go there a lot of your tuition money will go to pay for sports.... Sun, 13 May 2012 10:35:57 GMT StudentsReview 1262-87303 1262-87303 1262 54 Communications Male Undergraduate Class 2014 2nd Year Negative Everything is about sports which is funny because the teams are terrible and nobody goes to any games. But if you go there a lot of your tuition money will go to pay for sports. Sun, 13 May 2012 10:35:57 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about USCU for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html The School was struggling with their identity when I came through. I had some good instructors and some that were very self centered. The campus has grown through the years and I have certainly lost... Fri, 27 Jan 2012 04:12:07 GMT StudentsReview 1262-84834 1262-84834 1262 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Neutral The School was struggling with their identity when I came through. I had some good instructors and some that were very self centered. The campus has grown through the years and I have certainly lost touch. The degree has been useful but you need to continue with other education after leaving because you are not given a lot of real world exposure in the classroom. Theory does not always match reality when the real world comes knocking at your door. Fri, 27 Jan 2012 04:12:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about USCU for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html This school is not what I was told it would be when I started looking at the last two years of college (transferred from community college in the Upstate). The instructors are unapproachable and those... Fri, 16 Sep 2011 12:11:18 GMT StudentsReview 1262-81040 1262-81040 1262 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 2012 2nd Year Negative This school is not what I was told it would be when I started looking at the last two years of college (transferred from community college in the Upstate). The instructors are unapproachable and those with Ph.d's know their field of expertise, but nothing else about anything else in life. They say come see me if you don't get it, but when you do, it is a very uncomfortable experience because you can feel the tension of them wanting you to hurry up and leave. Not everyone of them but about 85% of them (have had many instructors, never took same one twice if I could help it). One instructor in particular made me feel so stupid I thought about withdrawing from her class. No social life, went here because what I could afford. Just like high school, divided student body, students are not friendly, food sucks. Wish I would of went somewhere else. Best thing about this school is that it is close to Ashville, NC and the mountains for hiking. Fri, 16 Sep 2011 12:11:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/SC/USCS_comments.html