StudentsReview - California State Polytechnic University Pomona - Life at CSPUhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html Life at CSPU - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about CSPU for Sociologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html Overall, the difficulty of the university is highly dependent on your major. I changed majors while attending school here, from geology to sociology. The science programs from what I experienced (chem... Wed, 05 Mar 2014 01:29:05 GMT StudentsReview 128-102720 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 128-102720 128 50 Sociology Male Undergraduate Class 2011 4th Year Neutral Overall, the difficulty of the university is highly dependent on your major. I changed majors while attending school here, from geology to sociology. The science programs from what I experienced (chem, bio, geology, math) were very good and challenging. I enjoyed the classes but eventually changed majors because although it was enjoyable, I did not see myself in a career in the field. There were definitely variations in the quality of professors. If you can, do your research on the professor prior to picking your classes.

Once I went to sociology, the courses were MUCH easier. As is expected in an arts major, the courses are going to be much easier. Professors for the most part are highly liberal, which in this field is expected, and closed-minded. I found students who did not agree with most professors' opinions were often chastised in front of the entire class. If you just sit there and regurgitate what they want to hear, you'll get an A, easy. There is usually little to no room for actual debate or discussion...more of a "this is how it is" approach to teaching. There were a few professors, and very few, that were actually enjoyable and encouraged debate (Prof. Jack Fong was my favorite). Anyhow, a lot of the courses were repetitive, and I really felt I did not learn a whole lot or it was not applicable to much of anything else.

I do feel the quality of education went down even as I was attending, largely due to the politics of the university...it seemed like they were more interested in the number of people they could graduate versus the quality of the education. From my observations, this practice seemed to hurt the school more since they were admitting many students who were not at the college level. Many of the courses were highly impacted due to people retaking them because they had already failed them once. I also took far too many classes where students just did not show up to class and were taking up seats in already hard to get courses. Overall, I did not get an academic feeling while attending this university. Most students seemed interested in just passing their courses in the easiest way possible. I felt the university lacked creativity and an emphasis on individual students. It is more of a cookie cutter university and it seemed to take away the passion and interest in many of the courses. But aren't most universities in the US headed in this direction already?

From what I hear, the university has been adjusting their policies to correct the damage of their prior policies, hopefully for the better.
Wed, 05 Mar 2014 01:29:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about CSPU for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html I'm an applied math/statistics major. I find it moderately challenging to be here and it is definitely becoming a top tier university in the future. It's very good already. I think the only thing real... Sun, 29 Sep 2013 04:58:25 GMT StudentsReview 128-96192 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 128-96192 128 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2014 1st Year Positive I'm an applied math/statistics major. I find it moderately challenging to be here and it is definitely becoming a top tier university in the future. It's very good already. I think the only thing really holding it back is that it lacks a football team, it's part of the CSU system (along with Cal Poly SLO), and that the liberal arts programs are filling this university full of dumbasses who shouldn't be here because they aren't smart. The smart students are in architecture, math, physics, engineering...any of the hard sciences. Cal Poly Pomona, SDSU, and SLO should break off from the system because they're shining stars in an otherwise shitty college system. CSULB is only good 'cause of the location, the students are sub-par. There's a lot of good recruitment from top companies for students at Cal Poly Pomona for business, science, and engineering. The professors are top-notch. The social life is improving because it's slowly becoming less of a commuter campus. All they really need to do is get a football team and build more dorms and commuter campus reputation is gone. This campus has a higher return of investment than UCLA. That should tell you something. This university is severely underrated by the general population but people just don't see it yet. This is going to be an extremely prestigious university in the future. Sun, 29 Sep 2013 04:58:25 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about CSPU for Geography and Geoscienceshttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html No social life save the greek system. Decent scholastics but lacks everything else, including school spirit or decent faculty. Its a school that looks good on paper but not going here.... Wed, 29 May 2013 04:12:56 GMT StudentsReview 128-94138 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 128-94138 128 56 Geography and Geosciences Female Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Neutral No social life save the greek system. Decent scholastics but lacks everything else, including school spirit or decent faculty. Its a school that looks good on paper but not going here. Wed, 29 May 2013 04:12:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about CSPU for Urban Planninghttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html Cal Poly Pomona is worthless, especially the Urban and Regional Planning department! Stay away - far, far away!... Wed, 11 Jul 2012 03:18:17 GMT StudentsReview 128-88333 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 128-88333 128 40 Urban Planning Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative Cal Poly Pomona is worthless, especially the Urban and Regional Planning department! Stay away - far, far away! Wed, 11 Jul 2012 03:18:17 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CSPU for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html i went to poly from out of state after hearing about their unique entertainment business program. it's the only state university that offers a full range of entertainment courses that focus on movies... Sat, 10 Mar 2012 11:05:31 GMT StudentsReview 128-85882 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 128-85882 128 7 Business - Management and Administration Female Undergraduate Class 2012 5th Year Positive i went to poly from out of state after hearing about their unique entertainment business program. it's the only state university that offers a full range of entertainment courses that focus on movies, music, and things other than sports. then you get plugged into awesome internship programs right nearby. it's an amazing experience at an amazing university that is one of the most beautiful i've ever seen. highly recommended! Sat, 10 Mar 2012 11:05:31 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSPU_comments.html