StudentsReview - California State University Fresno - Life at CSUFRhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html Life at CSUFR - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about CSUFR for Geography and Geoscienceshttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html Fresno state is located in an agricultural community. This means that 50+ of students are super religious, close minded and conservative. The city of Fresno is about 35 years behind in terms of social... Mon, 21 Apr 2014 01:34:58 GMT StudentsReview 135-106315 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 135-106315 135 56 Geography and Geosciences Female Undergraduate Class 2015 2nd Year Negative Fresno state is located in an agricultural community. This means that 50+ of students are super religious, close minded and conservative. The city of Fresno is about 35 years behind in terms of social progress. If you want to attend, make sure you are not gay, too dark, have any sort of creativity or open mindedness. Do make sure you love your guns, your tractor, Jesus and the republican party.Some of the people here are so close minded that i wonder why they even bother coming going to college, i mean they already know everything they need to know from the bible so why are they paying 5K a year to scoff and roll their eyes when a teacher mentions evolution. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 01:34:58 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CSUFR for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html Fresno State is one of the top universities in the Cal State system, a top 10 university in the entire western United States; you could check the rankings if you'd like. While most people only recogni... Wed, 19 Mar 2014 12:26:43 GMT StudentsReview 135-103943 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 135-103943 135 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Positive Fresno State is one of the top universities in the Cal State system, a top 10 university in the entire western United States; you could check the rankings if you'd like. While most people only recognize Fresno State for its success in NCAA Div I sports, many are unfamiliar with its excellent academics. The university boasts a nationally recognized top-50 business school, a nationally recognized top 15 rehab counseling program, one of the best agricultural programs in the entire country, a distinguished political science and sociology department, a top nursing program that works closely with UC San Francisco, a competitive engineering and computer science program...you get the point. The faculty is diverse, well-educated, experienced, and come from all over the world. Sure, you may run into a few professors that don't seem to be on par with other members, but what school is perfect? While the tuition here is among the cheapest in the nation, you get an excellent education and great preparation for both grad school and/or your career. Fresno State is rising in academic competitiveness, prestige, and prominence. Under President Castro, Fresno State has already made many developments to both academics and infrastructure. As a matter of fact, the multimillion dollar Jordan Research Center is expected to be established in a couple years, while the Campus Pointe Shopping Center (near the Palazzo Apartments and the Savemart Center) is in the process of being built and should be completed by this Fall or Spring 2015.

As far as extracurricular activities are concerned, there are plenty of academic, social, and Greek organizations for you to join. It's a great way to meet new people and become a part of the community. In regards to pride, well, there's a whole lot of it here. I'll admit. For someone who isn't even from Fresno (I'm from San Diego), I found it hard to accept the city and the university during my first semester here.

Now, the not so positive part. Fresno State is located in Central California, the breadbasket of the world. In other words, in a city surrounded by a whole lot of agricultural land. However, don't let that discourage you. Yeah, it's not Los Angeles or San Francisco, but considering how the city is in the middle of the state, you are only within a handful of hours from LA or a couple hours from the Bay Area. Also note that Fresno is a short drive from Yosemite and China Peak, great for sightseeing or outdoor activities. However, keep in mind that North Fresno and Clovis (borders Fresno State) some nice places to hangout. For example, River Park is about 10 minutes away from campus on Blackstone Ave. while the Fashion Fair mall is about 10 minutes away on Shaw Ave.

While Fresno State does have an attractive campus, it's obvious that some areas lack in maintenance. In addition, while many of the buildings on campus are up to date and look like those you can find at the bigger research schools, a number of buildings are in need of a facelift (i.e. The Quad). The roads around campus are also not that great. They aren't smooth and are uneven in quite a few places. Parking can be a pain, but once you learn the times when students leave campus throughout the day, then it shouldn't be too problematic. Crime isn't necessarily an issue here, but Fresno isn't exactly the place you want to be walking around alone at night. Generally, however, you're safe on campus. Just be aware of your surroundings. Weather wise, it's not San Diego, I'll tell you that. Summers get dry and humid, making its way into triple digit heat. Winters can be rainy and chilly, but this past year (2013), it was a mild winter; it wasn't as cold or wet as many expected.

Socially, most people are friendly here. You'll run into people who are the sweetest people you'll ever meet, but also, you'll meet a few d-bags. In case you're wondering, yes. There are good looking people here. I mean, c'mon. This is California! Parties go on in and around campus, so make friends. Just choose who you make friends with though. In addition, you will certainly meet people that will force you to question how they even got accepted. Most students work hard and give effort, but of course, you'll see a few who will most likely "slow the class down" for everyone.

In the end, let me say this: It's you who decides the direction of your academic and professional career. Should you decide to attend Fresno State, establish relationships with faculty! They will guide you and will serve as your best resource for information pertaining to your field of study. Join organizations, engage in undergraduate research if you can, take advantage of the study abroad program, apply for an internship, etc. Fresno State is a great university that offers an excellent education that is on par with some of the top institutions in the state and in the country as a whole. Take a tour of the campus and decide if you want to be a Bulldog.
Wed, 19 Mar 2014 12:26:43 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about CSUFR for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html I had a positive experience once I changed my Major from Chemistry to Health Science. The Health Science Dept was very personable and students worked hard.... Wed, 30 Jan 2013 10:13:28 GMT StudentsReview 135-91706 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 135-91706 135 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 1995 4th Year Positive I had a positive experience once I changed my Major from Chemistry to Health Science. The Health Science Dept was very personable and students worked hard. Wed, 30 Jan 2013 10:13:28 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about CSUFR for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html Best decision I ever made was to attend Fresno State! It's so much fun and I am getting a great education!... Wed, 26 Oct 2011 11:40:48 GMT StudentsReview 135-82268 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 135-82268 135 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Negative Best decision I ever made was to attend Fresno State! It's so much fun and I am getting a great education! Wed, 26 Oct 2011 11:40:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about CSUFR for Financehttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html I am having the best time of my life at Fresno State. I made the best decision by coming here.... Mon, 24 Oct 2011 01:13:38 GMT StudentsReview 135-82180 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 135-82180 135 79 Finance Male Undergraduate Class 2014 2nd Year Positive I am having the best time of my life at Fresno State. I made the best decision by coming here. Mon, 24 Oct 2011 01:13:38 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/CSUFR_comments.html