StudentsReview - The University of Houston - Life at UHouston Copyright 2019 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html Life at UHouston - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UHouston for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html Don't come here if you want to study biology or chemistry. Unless you're a pre-med, you won't get much from studying at UH.... Mon, 04 Mar 2019 12:48:26 GMT StudentsReview 1367-184340 1367-184340 1367 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 1922 1st Year Neutral Don't come here if you want to study biology or chemistry. Unless you're a pre-med, you won't get much from studying at UH. Mon, 04 Mar 2019 12:48:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UHouston for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html The good: UH is still accredited so you can get a degree. The math department is better than most of the other NSM departments, at least for the first two years of math. Higher level math courses have... Sun, 21 Oct 2018 04:17:55 GMT StudentsReview 1367-183829 1367-183829 1367 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Negative The good: UH is still accredited so you can get a degree. The math department is better than most of the other NSM departments, at least for the first two years of math. Higher level math courses have problems with consistency, and with quality instructors.

The bad: The University does not make any effort to provide a quality education to the students. Course evaluations are not part of a quality improvement or assurance program. Course evaluations are only viewed by the professor.

A few professors are so unprofessional they should not be permitted to speak to any students.

Many professors are engaged in research and are not interested in teaching. In these cases they rely heavily on student teaching assistants. TA's will create and grade assignments and tests without oversight from the professor, or the department. A third of you class time can be spent with a TA that may not even speak to the class for more than five minutes. TA that could not teach a class on tying your shoes outside of the university are inappropriately teach a university level course that awards credit.

Most professors, including the few that make a sincere effort to teach, are simply not prepared to teach a course. Most have never taught in an environment that is designed to develop their ability to teach, or to develop and improve a specific curriculum. The departments do not observe the professors, therefore corrective action of any form is impossible. The departments do not support faculty in any meaningful way, and do not make an effort to improve the courses of instruction. Therefore you can have an instructor that has been teaching for several years, but is no better at teaching than they were when they taught their first course ever. That said I ave had two courses taught by an an instructor that had just finished a Masters, and is teaching a university level course, but has never had even the most basic introduction to teaching, to developing a lesson plan, and they are not given guidance from the university.

Often computer science courses, that require the use of a computer during the class time, are placed in rooms without computers, without power outlets and without desks. TAs write assignments that are not proofread before they are given, so they contain many errors. When you write a program, it may work on 13 of 15 hidden bench tests, so it is impossible to know if the test case had errors, if it being graded correctly, or what if anything you did wrong. So there is no way to learn because you do not know what you did wrong or what the test even was. UH policy actually requires that the student be given the opportunity to view their graded coursework and see the test, but the TA refuses largely because they do not know any better, and the professor is there to do research, and not to teach.

Most professors are approachable with respect to their demeanor, but they are simply not good at teaching and do not have the support needed to to help them become good at teaching.
Sun, 21 Oct 2018 04:17:55 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UHouston for Architecturehttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html As an architecture major, I dropped out of the program because I got a definite zero on a project without any explanation. My professor refused to look into my grade again. That's Architecture for you... Mon, 18 Dec 2017 11:55:46 GMT StudentsReview 1367-182266 1367-182266 1367 3 Architecture Male Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Negative As an architecture major, I dropped out of the program because I got a definite zero on a project without any explanation. My professor refused to look into my grade again. That's Architecture for you and you'll be dealing with biased professors. Architecture is a hard major so be prepared to be excessive to do well. Mon, 18 Dec 2017 11:55:46 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UHouston for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html This university pretty much demonstrates how broken our education system is. As someone with a learning and mental disability, I've been constantly facing an obstacle of all these absurd rules and pol... Tue, 18 Jul 2017 10:06:11 GMT StudentsReview 1367-180560 1367-180560 1367 52 Undecided Male Undergraduate Class 2019 3rd Year Negative This university pretty much demonstrates how broken our education system is. As someone with a learning and mental disability, I've been constantly facing an obstacle of all these absurd rules and policies imposed by this university. Now I have been suspended and there is actually no way to appeal a suspension in this university. Pretty much every school I've searched for actually allows students the opportunity to appeal their suspension... Yet UH cannot do the same and I even went as far as contacting the President's Office to appeal my suspension and to suggest that they give students the opportunity to appeal their suspensions like every other school. They would not budge. What was even much more disheartening was that President Khator came to our 600-person class on the first week of school and told us that:
- we shouldn't have to "be trapped in bureaucracy"
- most of the people at UH don't graduate on time and she wanted to change it, then proceeded to say that we shouldn't have to waste time and money following everything just to graduate
- to contact office or the Academic Affairs should we encounter an obstacle that could hinder us from graduating on time

I contact her office, the Academic Affairs, and everyone I could think of whenever I faced an obstacle, it was as everything the President said came out of be bogus. I expected to be a year away from graduating, but now I will not be able to graduate on time. I won't even graduate for two more years now due to the fact that some of the courses I still need to take are only taught once per school year. Unbelievable.
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 10:06:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UHouston for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html The Chemical Engineering Department is broken. They have more students advancing through the program than desired. There is a hiring freeze in place so they can't add more professors to teach more cl... Mon, 15 May 2017 12:38:05 GMT StudentsReview 1367-179815 1367-179815 1367 8 Chemical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2019 4th Year Negative The Chemical Engineering Department is broken. They have more students advancing through the program than desired. There is a hiring freeze in place so they can't add more professors to teach more classes. The solution is to fail out as many students as possible so the class size remains below 60. While it's normal to have a "weed-out" class or two in Chemical Engineering programs in order to limit the class size, UH Chem Engineering has 1-2 "weed-out" classes EVERY SEMESTER along the degree program. The professors are very open about this policy and adjust the test difficulty and grade curves to achieve the the desired failure rate.

To make matters worse, almost all of the key Chem Eng courses are only offered once per year. So if you make a D in a Chem E class, it will set you back an entire year since the class is not offered the next semester.

I would strongly recommend you select another university for Chemical Engineering. My father graduated from the University of Texas in Chem Eng. They had one major weed-out class in the program, Thermodynamics. He made a D in Thermo and had to take it again. However, he was able to do that the next semester and still managed to graduate on time by taking some of the base classes during the summer.
Mon, 15 May 2017 12:38:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UH_comments.html