StudentsReview - The University of North Texas - Life at UNT Copyright 2022 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html Life at UNT - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UNT for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html the school helps alot with minorities... Tue, 27 Oct 2020 12:54:28 GMT StudentsReview 1370-186544 1370-186544 1370 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Class 1924 1st Year Negative the school helps alot with minorities Tue, 27 Oct 2020 12:54:28 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UNT for Criminalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html I enjoyed everything i learned from my Criminal Justice Degree, but i am disappointed that i did not learn more information specifically towards the career path i want to go into. I was actually told ... Tue, 04 Aug 2020 11:19:04 GMT StudentsReview 1370-186440 1370-186440 1370 44 Criminal Female Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Neutral I enjoyed everything i learned from my Criminal Justice Degree, but i am disappointed that i did not learn more information specifically towards the career path i want to go into. I was actually told in an interview with Richardson Police Department that they were "ashamed" of the education i had received regarding police work. I didn't take this too much to heart because i've done my homework, gone on ride alongs etc., so i know what the job is like. But i will say they had one point - this school could've done a lot better to offer more policing relevant courses. The only course they had specific to policing was police systems, and it was just a rough general overview. All the other courses focused on criminal procedure, criminal investigations and criminal law - all helpful, but not quite helpful for when trying to get that job first out of college. While i loved learning everything i did from this degree program, i am sad to say i don't think i would do it over again. I didn't learn enough, and no one seems to want to hire me because i am young, fresh out of college with no life experiences. I would say if you want to get into policing, major in something else - something you can get a good paying job in out of college, and then later once you're older with life experiences, you should then try for a policing job. They don't seem to care much about what you've majored in. The only places that will look at me right now are companies who will pay you about $14.50 an hour - and that's ridiculous considering how much money i just spent obtaining a degree. Just something to think about! I minored in psychology, and right now i'm just wishing i had majored in that. It's still a helpful background for law enforcement. Right now i'm just crossing my fingers hoping one of these policing jobs come through - but with COVID, and the political issues going around these days, it is making getting hired as an officer very difficult if you are female. Tue, 04 Aug 2020 11:19:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UNT for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html I really hated this school. UNT is silly crappy school trying to make them look fancy by using the name of Norah Jones who just attended for one semester. Simply, UNTis not worth out-of-state tuition.... Sat, 18 May 2019 10:36:52 GMT StudentsReview 1370-184872 1370-184872 1370 60 Art & Design Department Male Undergraduate Class 1920 1st Year Negative I really hated this school. UNT is silly crappy school trying to make them look fancy by using the name of Norah Jones who just attended for one semester. Simply, UNTis not worth out-of-state tuition. It's just "oversized community college". Many classes are taught by grad students and many times we just watched YouTube video together in the class. Most of facilities are outdated and about to fall apart. Even new buildings look like cheesy imitation of franchise hotel. The biggest issue on campus is Parking. It is impossible to find a spot after 8:30 am. UNT doesn?t strive to improve this issue, instead they just give parking tickets for any reason. I got $60 ticket because I put parking permit sticker on the front window of driver side. Administration refused to issue my transcript until I paid the ticket. They mixed up academic matter and parking issue. Dean showed up at the orientation and shouted ? we are mean green!! We are better than UT AUSTIN or A&M!! ? ..... seriously? Sat, 18 May 2019 10:36:52 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UNT for Kinesiologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html This alumni review pertains to the Recreation, Event and Sport Management Program (within the Kinesiology, Health Promotion and RECREATION Department) The history of this program area within the UNT ... Sun, 02 Dec 2018 11:38:10 GMT StudentsReview 1370-183980 1370-183980 1370 21 Kinesiology Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative This alumni review pertains to the Recreation, Event and Sport Management Program (within the Kinesiology, Health Promotion and RECREATION Department) The history of this program area within the UNT KHPR Dept. is illustrative of how dysfunctional and pointless it has become.

During the previous 20 years ALL of the quality instructors (two full professors, two assistant professors and one lecturer) LEFT the program by choice - one retired, and the others left primarily because of the incompetence of two of the remaining instructors, and the toxic culture created by one of the tenured, full professors who remains within the program to this day. The College of Education faculty actually voted 'NO CONFIDENCE' in this person's administrative ability, but because of tenure, they could not be terminated from employment.

Of the two primary professors who remain teaching in the reformed program area, neither of them have ANY PROFESSIONAL, full-time experience managing ANY events, as in having had a full-time JOB managing a sporting event or even RECREATIONAL events (full time). That's right, they only have FULL-time experience obtaining multiple degrees in school and/or serving on boards or committees, or writing research papers that have to be co-authored because neither of them is good enough to publish on their own. If either of them ever actually had a full-time job in recreation, it was only a summer job or a part-time job while they went to graduate school. This is classic "blind leading the blind."

But both of them do excel at BS'ing, and you could easily be misled into choosing this as your major, and learning absolutely NOTHING of real value. You may waste several undergraduate years of your life, and find out that you will likely NEVER actually work in the field of "Recreation, Event and Sport Management' as this is a pseudo term invented by them when the other two, former legitimate program areas fell apart due to faculty resignations. Do yourself a favor before deciding on this program or major, and research the mediocre "Internship Evaluations" for the remaining supervising faculty to get an idea of just how meaningless this program area could be for you.

FACT: If you are truly interested in working in any type of event MANAGEMENT, you would be better off getting a BUSINESS degree and minoring in recreation. At least with a business degree, WHEN (not IF) you discover that you can't make a decent living (defined as being able to purchase a home, a car and save fore retirement) as a 'special event' or 'sport management' person, you could get a good-paying job in an unrelated field with your LEGITIMATE BUSINESS degree.
Sun, 02 Dec 2018 11:38:10 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UNT for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html Upper level course offerings are too few and scheduled at the same day and time making it impossible to graduate in a normal 4 year time frame.... Mon, 21 Aug 2017 09:24:50 GMT StudentsReview 1370-180831 1370-180831 1370 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Negative Upper level course offerings are too few and scheduled at the same day and time making it impossible to graduate in a normal 4 year time frame. Mon, 21 Aug 2017 09:24:50 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/TX/UNT_comments.html