StudentsReview - The College of William and Mary - Life at CWMhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html Life at CWM - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about CWM for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html William and Mary is certainly a unique college environment. I wasn't one of the science majors that did really well, studied constantly, and loved by all my professors. However, I do think that if you... Sat, 25 Jan 2014 11:38:08 GMT StudentsReview 1400-100627 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1400-100627 1400 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Neutral William and Mary is certainly a unique college environment. I wasn't one of the science majors that did really well, studied constantly, and loved by all my professors. However, I do think that if you do try to a certain extent , you can learn a lot. WM is really about what you make out of it. If you find a good friend-group, get involved, stay busy with schoolwork, and don't care too much about partying, you would love it here & this would be the perfect place for you. If you're looking for a real "college" experience and crazy parties and less work, definitely not the place for you. I'd say that they stress academics a lot, but there is still a lot of improvement that needs to go into the school. It is still a state-funded school, so there are a lot of barriers that have to be overcome by that and funding is limited. I did love being a student at WM in my time here, but in retrospect, I'm not sure it's worth the $40,000 out-of-state tuition because I did not come from a wealthy family.

Once again, everyone has a different experience. At every school, you will find people who love it and people who hate it. You just have to decide is it worth the money and what you ultimately want out of your college experience.
Sat, 25 Jan 2014 11:38:08 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about CWM for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html Going to William and Mary has been one of the best decisions I have made in my life. First, the academic possibilities are limitless. The faculty here treats you as individuals are willing to accommod... Sun, 24 Nov 2013 01:35:22 GMT StudentsReview 1400-97391 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1400-97391 1400 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2015 2nd Year Positive Going to William and Mary has been one of the best decisions I have made in my life. First, the academic possibilities are limitless. The faculty here treats you as individuals are willing to accommodate your learning needs, whether you are struggling with a particular topic or is doing great and want to study the topic in greater depth. The university lends strong support to undergraduate research, and there are numerous opportunities for students to pursue research opportunities across the nation and around the world. Second, William and Mary has a very diverse student population and students generally keep a very open mind. Whatever you 'scene' - be it jocks, nerds, and everything in between - the chances of you finding somewhere you 'belong' is very high. Third, the university has excellent supporting services such as free counselling, a superb sports center, a very helpful writing center, and excellent research librarians. Sun, 24 Nov 2013 01:35:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about CWM for PreMed and Medicalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html First The competition, especially for preMed and preLaw is cutthroat. Be ready to work day in and day out if you want a 3.5+ GPA. Grades here are always deflated and there are many professors who, fla... Sun, 15 Sep 2013 05:07:36 GMT StudentsReview 1400-95955 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1400-95955 1400 36 PreMed and Medical Male Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Negative First The competition, especially for preMed and preLaw is cutthroat. Be ready to work day in and day out if you want a 3.5+ GPA. Grades here are always deflated and there are many professors who, flat out, refuse to give As for anything.

I got into UVA, Stanford and Cornell. Ideally, I would have picked any of those places. My GPA is too low now to transfer because the workload here is ridiculous. Don't believe me? Read the other reviews; many share my experiences.
Sun, 15 Sep 2013 05:07:36 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about CWM for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html Honestly guys, if you're a prospective student you should hear me out. There are some students who absolutely love this school and others who dislike it. After just a year here I have 2 friends transf... Fri, 09 Aug 2013 03:06:19 GMT StudentsReview 1400-95252 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1400-95252 1400 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Advice Honestly guys, if you're a prospective student you should hear me out. There are some students who absolutely love this school and others who dislike it. After just a year here I have 2 friends transferring and 4 or 5 who are thinking about it. (of my circle of like 20-30 closeish friends). That seems like a lot, in my opinion. The people who tend to love WM are the quieter, more studious, liberal artsy, "nerdy" kids. Theyll go on and on about Harry Potter and Dr. Who and Star Trek and spend hours at the library. Their idea of fun is playing video games in a room with some friends or just watching tv or going to a nerd club meeting.
The people who dislike this school are the ones who got in more on natural intelligence and aren't as studious. And people who love social interactions usually dislike the school because the town has next to nothing to do. I read a post about someone talking about "all the fun stuff WM has to do." They mentioned ghost tours, faculty and guest lectures, and getting drinks and playing games at a local tavern and stuff. If that's your idea of fun then yes go here. But honestly, youre not gonna go on ghost tours more than once a year, you can grab the drinks at one of the bars, and faculty lectures can get boring or are at random hours (like when you have class). If you want to party or at least be social, have some fun events like formals and date parties, then you need to go greek or join the rugby team or IR club.
Oh also, this place has zero diversity. No hispanics or blacks except for a few on the football team, 62% of students (rising to 68% over the next 4 years) are in state. And 80% of the instate students are from the same few counties in Northern Virginia. So they all sorta live in this bubble of upper middle class wealth and whiteness/asianness. 8% or so of the students are international, and 90% of that is Chinese students. And they just talk to each other in Chinese and don't mingle with anyone else at all or enrich your cultural experience in any way. That leave 30% for out of state students, who are almost all from New England or the Mid Atlantic and middle class and white.
oh and some kids here are borderline stupid. A lot of the athletes are (not a knock on them as a whole though, a few athletes I've met are geniuses) below average intelligence for the school (we're talking they got 1500-1800 SAT scores). And other kids will study excessively (people take tooth brushes and snacks and stuff to the library and sorta live there for up to a couple days some times during finals) and still get a poor grade on their exam.
On to financial aid. It's pretty bad compared to other schools of the same caliber. An out of state family making around 40,000 a year is going to pay 20,000 a year. But for upper/middle class in state kids it's a great value because they wouldnt get much money from anywhere anyways.

All in all, it's an above average school. The academics are top notch. The dorms are okay (some good ones, some bad ones, and some okay ones). The facilities are above average. The Faculty is good. The city is pretty boring. The student culture is nerdy. Sports aren't big at all (like maybe 200 students max will be in the student section at a basketball game). Social life is lacking unless you're greek. Greek life is great, but not SEC level, so it's a bit more toned down and just a part of life, rather than your entire life.
Fri, 09 Aug 2013 03:06:19 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about CWM for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html Incredible school with incredible people. However, must be willing to work hard and be challenged; the work load is insane... Sat, 11 May 2013 12:32:13 GMT StudentsReview 1400-93809 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 1400-93809 1400 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2015 2nd Year Advice Incredible school with incredible people. However, must be willing to work hard and be challenged; the work load is insane Sat, 11 May 2013 12:32:13 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/CWM_comments.html