StudentsReview - Longwood University - Life at Longwood Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html Life at Longwood - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about Longwood for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html I just graduated this past May, and overall, I loved it. It has a great sense of community, and as soon as you get plugged in you find great friends, especially within your major. The professors in th... Thu, 14 May 2015 10:12:47 GMT StudentsReview 1410-161551 1410-161551 1410 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 2015 4th Year Positive I just graduated this past May, and overall, I loved it. It has a great sense of community, and as soon as you get plugged in you find great friends, especially within your major. The professors in the psychology department are great, with a few exceptions.

The worst part about this university is the location. We just got a good quality coffee shop that doesn't close at 5 o clock. Off-campus activities are almost non-existent, unless you want to go to the same bar and bowling alley every weekend.

The university is 70% Greek-life. So, if you're into that, you're in luck. If not, we have a few other organizations. But almost everyone you run into is in a sorority or fraternity.

Some, not all individuals, still have a small town mind-set, which is why I rated that the students are closed-minded.

Diversity is not one of its strong points, but people are overall friendly, in my personal experience.
Thu, 14 May 2015 10:12:47 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about Longwood for Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html Horrible experience. Had no support from my own advisers. My Professors were conceded and there was no tutoring or any sort of assistance in my major.... Tue, 21 Apr 2015 11:36:36 GMT StudentsReview 1410-159739 1410-159739 1410 18 Fine Arts - Painting/Sculpture/Photography/etc Male Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Negative Horrible experience. Had no support from my own advisers. My Professors were conceded and there was no tutoring or any sort of assistance in my major. Tue, 21 Apr 2015 11:36:36 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Longwood for Sociologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html I am a graduating senior, and I have honestly loved my four years at Longwood. Campus is absolutely beautiful! The surrounding town of Farmville is a cute little southern town, however there isn't a w... Tue, 21 Apr 2015 01:44:57 GMT StudentsReview 1410-159728 1410-159728 1410 50 Sociology Female Undergraduate Class 2015 4th Year Positive I am a graduating senior, and I have honestly loved my four years at Longwood. Campus is absolutely beautiful! The surrounding town of Farmville is a cute little southern town, however there isn't a whole lot to do. Some of the shops and diners are neat, there is a bowling alley and movie theater and High bridge trail nearby. Overall, the student body is friendly and pretty approachable. The professors in my department are wonderful! They truly know their stuff and actually give a damn about their students. They are always willing to help you. Greek life is huge here, some of the Greeks can be a little stuck up and cliquey though, but there are many who are friendly as well. Besides greek life, there are a variety of clubs and organizations to choose from. I'll be honest, Dhall seems really good at first, but after a while it gets old. Our athletics are ok for a small division 1 school, the women's softball team kicks ass! If you are looking for a small school with a college town atmosphere, then definitely come visit Longwood. I have made friendships that will last a lifetime here at Longwood. Tue, 21 Apr 2015 01:44:57 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Longwood for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html Overall you should choose the school that feels right for you. I went into Longwood separate from my friends at home and gained a whole new group of people I couldn't imagine having never met. Cherish... Wed, 10 Jul 2013 03:41:14 GMT StudentsReview 1410-94733 1410-94733 1410 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Class 2014 3rd Year Positive Overall you should choose the school that feels right for you. I went into Longwood separate from my friends at home and gained a whole new group of people I couldn't imagine having never met. Cherish your freshman year, once it's over time flies by and you're graduating.

I am a third year Photography student and I haven't regretted my decision once that Longwood was the school for me. Most people don't realize what our art program has and how talented a lot of the students are. We have a brand new building and all new equipment that makes it being an art major the best. The professors enjoy coming up with projects that will literally beat the creativity out of you. As a majority we turn into night owls and don't finish our work until the last minute. This is a trait that comes as a college student in itself but it's a different story when you have to do sculptures and prints. For the most part the professors are really helpful and the good ones go above and beyond their job as a teacher. By the time you graduate you should have several exhibitions to put on your resume and there's the opportunity to work at the Longwood Center for Visual Arts that should be taken advantage of. You don't need a resume to get into the program and it's designed specifically so that they can assess you on the art you create while at school. That time each year is stressful but it really evaluates whether you're in the right field or not.

Go to Longwood! It'll be the best years of your life!
Wed, 10 Jul 2013 03:41:14 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Longwood for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html There are many positive things about Longwood University. The campus is beautiful, the people are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the faculty treat you more as a friend and colleague than an inf... Thu, 16 May 2013 11:08:23 GMT StudentsReview 1410-93910 1410-93910 1410 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2014 3rd Year Neutral There are many positive things about Longwood University. The campus is beautiful, the people are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the faculty treat you more as a friend and colleague than an inferior. Most are always willing to talk with students about problems, whether school, class, or personal.

However, Longwood Administration is horrid. The communication between Administration and students is poor, and the planning of parking, especially for events, is beyond bad. Administration needs to work on their communication and parking around Longwood.
Thu, 16 May 2013 11:08:23 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/LCF_comments.html