StudentsReview - Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University - Life at VT/VPISU Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html Life at VT/VPISU - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about VT/VPISU for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html The good: School Spirit: One of a kind. I have never participated in something so much fun and so passionate. Let's go Hokies! My heart's cry. The school spirit here is incredible.There is nothi... Wed, 17 Aug 2016 04:34:33 GMT StudentsReview 1430-174980 1430-174980 1430 17 English Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive The good:

School Spirit:
One of a kind. I have never participated in something so much fun and so passionate. Let's go Hokies! My heart's cry. The school spirit here is incredible.There is nothing in the world like a VT football game when enter Sandman gets going and the entire stadium starts a jumpin...

Food: Amazing. Expect to gain weight. I put on at least the freshman 15 and another 5 from the beer. I believe we keep going back and forth between number one and number two for best campus food (stupid JMU).

People: Are there a ton of middle class white people here? Of course, it's a Virginia State college. That is to be expected. However, there are still people for everyone. You want to get smashed 4 nights a week? No problem. Those people exist. You want to engage in a vibrant pentecostal Christian community? They got that. You love the LGBTQ. They have that too. There is something and someone for everyone.

Campus: Beautiful in the Fall. BUTT COLD in the winter. At least 10-15 degrees colder than NORTHERN VA because of the mountains/windchill. BRING LAYERS UPON LAYERS for the spring semester.

Clubs: Like I said, there is something for everyone. Gobble Fest literally fills 50 acres or so full of booths with different clubs. Swing dance, christian clubs, archery, running, biking, underwater basket weaving... whatever you want they have. And if they don't have it, you can start one up easily on your own!

The night life: Don't be an idiot and go out alone if you're a girl. It is safe for the most part but there are definitely instances of date rape that occur about once a month. If you go with friends, you will be fine and you will have a blast.

Christian community: The christian community is incredible! You have to seek it out though. There's FCA, Intervarsity, RUF, Chi Alpha, Young life and literally 20 plus more campus ministries. I met some of my best friends there.

Work: THIS SCHOOL IS NOT A JOKE. Go to class, meet regularly with your professors, do your work, study and you should at least do OK. It's hard. And i was just an English major ;)

SUM UP: You plug into good community, then this school will be some of the most amazing 4 years of your life. I miss it.
Let's go Hokies!
Wed, 17 Aug 2016 04:34:33 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about VT/VPISU for Aerospace Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html Very cool campus aesthetic, a bit like Hogwarts. The faculty are extremely helpful and it is expected that you ask them for internship and research positions as well as attend office hours. The studen... Thu, 07 Jul 2016 12:05:18 GMT StudentsReview 1430-174274 1430-174274 1430 2 Aerospace Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Positive Very cool campus aesthetic, a bit like Hogwarts. The faculty are extremely helpful and it is expected that you ask them for internship and research positions as well as attend office hours. The student community is competitive but also very helpful. Thu, 07 Jul 2016 12:05:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about VT/VPISU for Naval Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html Virginia Tech is a great place to be from. That said, it is an awful place to be. Blacksburg is in the middle of NOWHERE. There is literally nothing to do in town or on campus but drink. The engineeri... Thu, 18 Feb 2016 01:24:48 GMT StudentsReview 1430-172768 1430-172768 1430 28 Naval Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Neutral Virginia Tech is a great place to be from. That said, it is an awful place to be. Blacksburg is in the middle of NOWHERE. There is literally nothing to do in town or on campus but drink. The engineering faculty is mostly indian/asian, and it's almost impossible to understand half of your coursework between thick unintelligible accents and unrealistic expectations. The "Hokie Nation" is the greatest lie ever contrived. Tech will go out of its way to tell you how great it is, whether it is the food or the campus or whatever. There is so much Maroon and Orange you want to gouge your eyes out. The campus is pretty in postcards, but the dorms (especially the Corps) are in a perpetual state of disrepair. Hot water isn't really hot, the floors are always caked with salt, and every single bathroom smells awful. Most of the classrooms are no better-1950's desk/chair combos in windowless rooms with chalkboards on three walls. I've become unbelievably depressed here at VT, and don't understand why anyone would willingly come here except for becoming a Military officer in the Corps (when there is ROTC and OCS at "real colleges") or becoming an engineer. Alumni and professors talk about how marketable a VT Engineering degree is, but my GPA is awful as a result of the terrible teaching here, and there is nothing special about VT Engineering when you compare it to other good engineering schools like Michigan, Purdue, Georgia Tech, or Texas A&M. VT Engineering isn't even a ranked program in any of the "big ticket" degrees (Aero/Chem/EE/Mech/Ocean). If you want to be an engineer, look at Big 10 and Big 12 Schools, it will provide a better value and you will have a better time. Thu, 18 Feb 2016 01:24:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about VT/VPISU for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html Hokie real definition: corny and contrived, fake and melodramatic, insincerely emotional ....... That sums it up. Transfered and so much happier. If you live for football go here. If you have any ... Sun, 15 Mar 2015 09:25:15 GMT StudentsReview 1430-158276 1430-158276 1430 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Neutral Hokie real definition: corny and contrived, fake and melodramatic, insincerely emotional ....... That sums it up. Transfered and so much happier. If you live for football go here. If you have any other interest choose another university . Not progressive -very conservative school. Sun, 15 Mar 2015 09:25:15 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about VT/VPISU for Chemistryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html I was able to get into Medical school and did well in my graduate studies. Virginia tech prepared me well.... Tue, 10 Feb 2015 12:06:35 GMT StudentsReview 1430-157235 1430-157235 1430 9 Chemistry Male Undergraduate Class 1984 1st Year Positive I was able to get into Medical school and did well in my graduate studies. Virginia tech prepared me well. Tue, 10 Feb 2015 12:06:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/VA/VTU_comments.html