StudentsReview - Beloit College - Life at Beloit Copyright 2024 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html Life at Beloit - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about Beloit for Financehttp://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html Loved my time at this college.... Thu, 21 May 2015 05:07:03 GMT StudentsReview 1472-161758 1472-161758 1472 79 Finance Female Undergraduate Class 2015 4th Year Positive Loved my time at this college. Thu, 21 May 2015 05:07:03 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about Beloit for Language - French/Spanish/etc.http://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html Beloit College is a wonderful place academically. I have only had one problem with a professor being absorbed into his own career and not teaching the students. So academically, Beloit is wonderful. P... Thu, 26 Feb 2015 04:56:56 GMT StudentsReview 1472-157586 1472-157586 1472 22 Language - French/Spanish/etc. Male Undergraduate Class 2015 4th Year Advice Beloit College is a wonderful place academically. I have only had one problem with a professor being absorbed into his own career and not teaching the students. So academically, Beloit is wonderful. Plus, there are great opportunities for study abroad when compared to other institutions of higher learning.
One thing that Beloit is lacking is a certification in teaching English as a Second Language. It is something I am interested in, but I can't certify here because it is not available. So i will have to spend my money on the certification somewhere else.
In regards to social life and student population...
If you are looking for a great night life during your college years, Beloit is not for you. There is not a lot to do on the weekends as far as entertainment goes other than drink with your friends and then go to an all campus party at one of the residential houses. These parties are very monitored by the campus security and no alcohol is allowed. Just expect loud music and 18 year old freshmen bumping uglies on the dance floor. That being said, Beloit is what you make it. The campus is small and there isn't a lot to do, but you can make it a great time and enjoy your undergrad years if you put your mind to it.
Students that play sports are a minority on campus. The typical type of student that Beloit College attracts is a hipster, cigarette smoking, radical liberal. If you express any slightly conservative views, someone will argue with you aggressively. It's inevitable. During my time here, I have seen certain students on campus take the concepts of race and feminism too far. Some of the radical students will assume that you are racist just based on if you are white or not. It is truly frustrating. A lot of students will talk about how open minded they are, yet if they are faced with any view other than their own (radical, over the top liberal) they shut down and become aggressive. I've even had discussions about this phenomenon on the Beloit College campus with faculty that have worked here for 20+ years and they agree with me completely. It's a shame.
On a brighter note, Beloit College offers wonderful financial aid. The school carries a heavy price tag; however it can become quite affordable after the aid is given. Just consider these things before applying and/ or being admitted.
Thu, 26 Feb 2015 04:56:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Beloit for Chemistryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html Originally came to Beloit College on a large scholarship with additional "scholarship" (grants) for sports...was sold on the idea of being at a private college with small class sizes and access to pro... Sun, 04 Jan 2015 11:07:24 GMT StudentsReview 1472-155837 1472-155837 1472 9 Chemistry Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral Originally came to Beloit College on a large scholarship with additional "scholarship" (grants) for sports...was sold on the idea of being at a private college with small class sizes and access to professors. As well as being able to work with the large array of international students. The school does have great academics, especially when it comes to their science department. Beloit's major shortfall, however, is the student body and surrounding environment. The student body is extremely segregated by athletes (who make up around 20%) and non athletes. It was hard for me coming from a high school where I was friends with both athletes and nonathletes to come to a college that was roughly the same student body size and find it to be extremely closeminded and cliquey. The city of Beloit is horrible. Nothing to do, nowhere to go without a car...alcohol is a large concern at the College Sun, 04 Jan 2015 11:07:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Beloit for Anthropologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html Beloit's professors helped me become a better person. Beloit was a wonderful experience, though I don't miss the social scene.... Thu, 18 Sep 2014 03:41:36 GMT StudentsReview 1472-131796 1472-131796 1472 42 Anthropology Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Positive Beloit's professors helped me become a better person. Beloit was a wonderful experience, though I don't miss the social scene. Thu, 18 Sep 2014 03:41:36 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Beloit for Sociologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html Beloit College says it is "unlike nowhere else" and really lives up to the statement. I am from a less liberal place and once I got to Beloit, I found people that had views very similar to mine. It i... Wed, 30 Jul 2014 11:52:35 GMT StudentsReview 1472-117123 1472-117123 1472 50 Sociology Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive Beloit College says it is "unlike nowhere else" and really lives up to the statement. I am from a less liberal place and once I got to Beloit, I found people that had views very similar to mine. It is very accurate to say that if you have an opinion that goes against the general opinion, there will be some feelings of hostility. Though opinions sometimes get in the way, Beloit is a wonderful place to get your creative juices flowing in the classroom. I took an intro Geology class my first semester and as a class, we took at least one informational trip out of the classroom every week.

Outside of the classroom and on campus, it is very easy to be engrossed in many activities. Many activities add to the Beloit experience (Clubs, Sports, Greek Life, Good Friends) and other activities can be detrimental to said experience (Too Many Drunk Nights, Small Campus Drama, Weird Dating/Hookup Scene). It is very easy to find a group of people that you fit in well with.

I love the fact that in some form or another, most students live on campus. It helps create a tight knit community and brings unlikely friends together.
Wed, 30 Jul 2014 11:52:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/WI/BC_comments.html