StudentsReview - Loyola Marymount University - Life at LMU Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html Life at LMU - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LMU for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html I came to LMU for film, like so many others. And now I'm transferring, like so many other film students who realized that they don't actually want to study film. I wanted to go to school in a big city... Fri, 25 Mar 2016 12:21:37 GMT StudentsReview 168-173101 168-173101 168 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Neutral I came to LMU for film, like so many others. And now I'm transferring, like so many other film students who realized that they don't actually want to study film. I wanted to go to school in a big city, but LA is just so inaccessible, especially from LMU. Either bring your car or be prepared to spend a lot of money on Uber if you want to go to any of LA's landmarks. Or to go to UCLA/USC every Friday and Saturday night which is, to my knowledge, the only place to go party if you go here. Most of the students here are rich enough to afford it and a bunch of expensive trendy clothes. Honestly, the majority of the students are rich in Greek life, fall (politically) either in the center or to the right, and only want to talk about partying. When it was rush weekend for the sororities, every single girl I passed was talking about what sorority they were rushing. It makes everyone just seem so boring, like they just accept whatever society and their parents tell them to do. As an LGBT student, I definitely felt like a minority. And some students are actual Donald Trump supporters.

That said, I had some pretty awesome professors. The academics are OK, but nothing you couldn't get for a lot less money at a Cal State. Financial aid, from what I can tell, is pretty lacking. Come here if you want to feel like you're attending a country club for college.
Fri, 25 Mar 2016 12:21:37 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about LMU for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html Loyola is the perfect size school, not too big not too small. Great location with most of the students feeling like a large family.... Mon, 30 Mar 2015 11:31:41 GMT StudentsReview 168-158987 168-158987 168 54 Communications Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive Loyola is the perfect size school, not too big not too small. Great location with most of the students feeling like a large family. Mon, 30 Mar 2015 11:31:41 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about LMU for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html I loved attending Loyola Marymount University. I was very active on campus as a resident assistant for 2 years and socially in a sorority . If i could have I would have continued my graduate schooli... Wed, 22 Oct 2014 02:21:39 GMT StudentsReview 168-149176 168-149176 168 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 2007 4th Year Positive I loved attending Loyola Marymount University. I was very active on campus as a resident assistant for 2 years and socially in a sorority . If i could have I would have continued my graduate schooling here, but they didn't have my major.
I have since completed my doctorate and I am a director in a clinic in San Bernardino.
Wed, 22 Oct 2014 02:21:39 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LMU for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html I didn't love my time at LMU and I know a lot of other people who also didn't enjoy it. But then again, there are plenty of people who LOVE LMU. If you are a sorority or fraternity type person, this... Sun, 06 Apr 2014 04:42:02 GMT StudentsReview 168-105264 168-105264 168 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2014 3rd Year Neutral I didn't love my time at LMU and I know a lot of other people who also didn't enjoy it. But then again, there are plenty of people who LOVE LMU. If you are a sorority or fraternity type person, this is a decent place. If the thought of paying hundreds of dollars to be part of a mindless drinking organization doesn't appeal to you, then definitely don't go to LMU. I know there is more to Greek life then drinking...but seriously, if you want to have a social life at LMU it is pretty much mandatory to join a sorority or fraternity. Also, the campus is somewhat suburban, which was boring--rent in the area was still absurd, but you have to drive like 30-45 minutes to get anywhere fun, I was a member of the honors program, which helped a little, but just honestly didn't feel like I had anything in common with most people I met. Also (and this may be true of many schools) I felt like I was one of the only biology majors who was interested in biology and not just getting into medical school. I had hoped to meet some other science-minded people, but many biology major groaned about classes like ecology and botany, whereas I was stoked to be taking them. I have come out of LMU with a few excellent friends and close relationships with a few of my professors, and it wasn't a waste of time or anything, but if I knew then I what I knew now, I would have gone somewhere else. I think I could have been a lot happier during my undergraduate days. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 04:42:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LMU for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html I truly hope someone reads this review and it makes you not go to LMU anymore. This school truly sucks. Unless you want to be surrounded by a a bunch of rich spoiled kids, who care solely about what f... Sun, 24 Nov 2013 09:52:51 GMT StudentsReview 168-97397 168-97397 168 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Neutral I truly hope someone reads this review and it makes you not go to LMU anymore. This school truly sucks. Unless you want to be surrounded by a a bunch of rich spoiled kids, who care solely about what frat you are in or who you know, then LMU is the school for you.
AND don't even think about be able to get classes, which is completely ridiculous . Overall this school is overpriced, paired with crappy classes, an even worse social scene, and above all an administration that simply doesn't care about anything more then money. Please head my warning and don't go to LMU
Sun, 24 Nov 2013 09:52:51 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/LMU_comments.html