StudentsReview - San Diego State University - Life at SDSU Copyright 2020 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html Life at SDSU - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about SDSU for Civil Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html I think this school is in a great location and with all the building construction can really become a good university however, the staff is quite unhelpful, the rules are very dumb and punishments out... Tue, 09 Apr 2019 02:55:34 GMT StudentsReview 185-184512 185-184512 185 10 Civil Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 1921 3rd Year Neutral I think this school is in a great location and with all the building construction can really become a good university however, the staff is quite unhelpful, the rules are very dumb and punishments outlandish, besides that the abroad programs are a joke definitely find your own program, the food gets old real fast since it is all fast food, prepare for a delay at any turn you make as the school really cares more about itself then the students. Tue, 09 Apr 2019 02:55:34 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about SDSU for Chemistryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html I came here because I earned a full ride scholarship. The school is amazing. I didn't join any sororities but I still have lots of friends here. The students are friendly and open minded. The athletic... Tue, 30 Jan 2018 04:22:07 GMT StudentsReview 185-182455 185-182455 185 9 Chemistry Female Undergraduate Class 1988 4th Year Positive I came here because I earned a full ride scholarship. The school is amazing. I didn't join any sororities but I still have lots of friends here. The students are friendly and open minded. The athletics program here is AMAZING. I went to all the football games and basketball games. The weather is amazing and the trolley system is great. Also you can take the bus to Mission Beach. The tuition is cheap for a good state school. Tue, 30 Jan 2018 04:22:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about SDSU for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html I attended SDSU for a Master's degree in European history, and I also worked as a teaching assistant. Most of my professors were intelligent, knowledgeable, and capable people who did challenge me and... Tue, 21 Nov 2017 09:24:06 GMT StudentsReview 185-182019 185-182019 185 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Neutral I attended SDSU for a Master's degree in European history, and I also worked as a teaching assistant. Most of my professors were intelligent, knowledgeable, and capable people who did challenge me and provide the the opportunity to learn and develop independently.

But graduate students comprise only a small part of the overall SDSU community. This is a state college with a predominantly working class and now minority student body. Overall, the admissions standards are quite low. I was repeatedly shocked at the low levels of literacy and general understanding exhibited by most of the undergraduates. I quickly found out that I could not assume any kind of a knowledge base. My students frequently interrupted me because they didn't understand my vocabulary or even what I was talkinga about in the first place. As for my fellow graduate students, well, they were a mixed lot: some were quite capable and engaged, but a large proportion of them were simply frittering their lives away there, and as a result many seminars ended up being a waste of time.

Compared to the UCs, the "public ivies," the Ivy League itself or the "Little Ivies," SDSU is underfunded, and it shows. The campus may be superficially attractive, but in many places it is dirty and poorly maintained, notwithstanding the conspicuous, showy newer buildings that dot the landscape. The administration, while not unusually bad, is fairly typical of schools of this kind: there is a lot of red tape to deal with with, files get lost, and staff can be extremely rude and unhelpful.

If you have no other choice due to financial and/or logistical constraints, and you are a self-starter with a lot of initiative, San Diego State is perhaps not the worst option. Even today it is still inexpensive, at least relatively so, and if you work in or around downtown San Diego, the drive isn't too horrendous. But it would definitely not be my first choice.
Tue, 21 Nov 2017 09:24:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about SDSU for Journalismhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html Honestly, there are good and bad parts about this school. A lot of the general education classes that freshman are forced to take are a waste of time and money. I felt like it was useless for me to ta... Wed, 05 Oct 2016 01:59:40 GMT StudentsReview 185-176066 185-176066 185 20 Journalism Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Neutral Honestly, there are good and bad parts about this school. A lot of the general education classes that freshman are forced to take are a waste of time and money. I felt like it was useless for me to take Anthropology when I'm a Journalism major. Also, if you're not in greek life it can be very difficult to find things to do since a large population of SDSU is involved in greek life. Other than that, the campus is beautiful and the weather is amazing year round! Wed, 05 Oct 2016 01:59:40 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about SDSU for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html Ok obviously SDSU is a party school, but the faculty and students are laid back. There's a lot to do on and off campus, so if you're complaining about your college experience is boring, that's because... Thu, 04 Jun 2015 06:35:49 GMT StudentsReview 185-162059 185-162059 185 54 Communications Male Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Neutral Ok obviously SDSU is a party school, but the faculty and students are laid back. There's a lot to do on and off campus, so if you're complaining about your college experience is boring, that's because you're not looking in the right place. Lots of hot women but try to avoid the fraternities and sororities like it's the plague since every semester there's a brand new strain of STD's. Hopefully you'll come to this awesome school. Thu, 04 Jun 2015 06:35:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SDSU_comments.html