StudentsReview - San Jose State University - Life at SJSU Copyright 2022 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html Life at SJSU - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about SJSU for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html I recently completed my first year at San Jos? State, so definitely take this review as well as the ratings with a grain of salt. I am only doing this review based on my first-year experience because ... Fri, 09 Jun 2017 11:23:10 GMT StudentsReview 189-180149 189-180149 189 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 1920 1st Year Neutral I recently completed my first year at San Jos? State, so definitely take this review as well as the ratings with a grain of salt. I am only doing this review based on my first-year experience because it is fundamental to the rest of my undergraduate studies and second-year retention is crucial for college rankings. I am throwing in some other experiences and things I found in the Internet.

THE GOOD

? Professors in faculty will be open to teach you as much material as they can. We are a teaching university, after all. You will barely encounter TAs if you're not remedial.
? SJSU has NCAA Division I FBS athletics, the most prestigious athletic participation out of any level. This is definitely the spot for anyone who is crazy about sports. The only other schools in the state of California that offer this distinctive pro are California, Fresno State, San Diego State, Stanford, UCLA, & USC.
? There is a reason why people make a big deal out of this location. It is located in the San Francisco Bay Area. The surrounding location has several prestigious companies (most of which SJSU has several alumni in, such as Cisco and Apple). The best public transportation in the nation (maybe behind New York City). There is still a lot to do even though we cannot compete with Los Angeles (Santa Cruz, San Francisco, Great America, etc.) The people at SJSU and the metropolis are friendly as well as collaborative. Alumni network is phenomenal, particularly in the bay.

THE BAD

? The student body may be questionable in terms of intelligence, particularly most commuters (thx CSU system with that priority area crap). Unless if you look really hard or be conservative socially, do not expect to talk with geniuses. There are people who know the potential of this school, but you just have to look
? Unless if you become a RA, work at a prestigious company, join a IFC/NPC Greek organization, commute (raised and born in SJ), and/or just plain rich...good fucking luck finding and comfortably living off-campus.
? You might be stuck with Lecturers who own a Master's, too old, or just lack basic skills of teaching...and they fucking suck. Avoid them at all costs. I'm surprised SJSU does this even though it isn't a CC. They each took a large piece of piling shit on my GPA and time.


Advice for first-years not from the Santa Clara county: get involved, register for the right classes and professors in the faculty (research!), explore the metropolis, be proactive in the worst of situations, and know that you'll be miles ahead compared to those who decided to stay home..you'll be independent!!! :) (no offense to commuters)
Fri, 09 Jun 2017 11:23:10 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about SJSU for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html PLEASE DO NOT STUDY HERE!!! YOU WILL END UP LIKE MOST OF MY FRIENDS WHO STUDIED ECON AT SJSU: UNEMPLOYABLE!!! Some of the teachers are great, but the school is NOT!!! I got nearly straight A's and lea... Wed, 29 Jun 2016 07:10:42 GMT StudentsReview 189-174147 189-174147 189 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative PLEASE DO NOT STUDY HERE!!! YOU WILL END UP LIKE MOST OF MY FRIENDS WHO STUDIED ECON AT SJSU: UNEMPLOYABLE!!! Some of the teachers are great, but the school is NOT!!! I got nearly straight A's and learned NOTHING of value!!! NOTHING!!! YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!! LEAVE IF YOU ARE JUST BEGINNING!!! The classrooms are filthy, if you have allergies, expect SINUS INFECTIONS!!! The rooms are fucking filled with mold despite lacking air conditioning!!! RUN DON'T WALK!!! Wed, 29 Jun 2016 07:10:42 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about SJSU for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html Before you decide on attending SJSU, I'd recommend taking a visit to Student Services. There is a GHETTO obese black woman with 3 inch finger nails (usually plays music out loud using her phone). Now,... Wed, 29 Jun 2016 06:58:15 GMT StudentsReview 189-174146 189-174146 189 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Before you decide on attending SJSU, I'd recommend taking a visit to Student Services. There is a GHETTO obese black woman with 3 inch finger nails (usually plays music out loud using her phone). Now, move to the room on the left, the financial aid area. Hmmm, is this a trailer attached to the building? Oh yes, I think it is! Or...from the ghetto black woman, take a right and try to get help from one of the other counters. Huh? No one is there? Opps! Well, why not leave Student Services! Yummy, the scent and sounds of the ghetto. Losers with face tattoos and coaches in front of their houses smoking crack. Probably alumni of this BRILLIANT institution of higher learning!

Student Services closed? Don't worry, check out the library -- it is likely open, since, well it IS a public library! Ah, how the crazy hobos jack off to porn, staff turning a blind eye. Ah, the sound of junkies attacking each other on the first floor. The library that you'll be paying thousands of dollars to use, because the school is just so accepting <3 In fact, got a 2.0 gpa in high school? They'll accept you! Can't speak your first language? You too! Hell, get all the felonies you'd like, but step on campus and become a student too (You can even bring your gun if you'd like!).

Walk around campus, meet your classmates and fellow alumni. Some may be sitting on the moldy coaches parked outside their houses. <3 Your fellow friends <3

Since graduating a few months ago, the school is already treating me like family, rather than just a friend like before. I LOVE IT!!! The SJSU magazines ask me to donate $5,000 to the "youth" (guess I'm over the hill since graduating, huh?). This months publication featured a ghetto 50 year old #BLM alumni, with a photo of SJSU's shitty BLM olympics statue. <3 so inspiring!!! (btw: FUCK OLD WHITE MEN!!! THEY ARE ALL AWFUL RACISTS WHO ARE OBVIOUSLY RACISTS AND ONLY USED THEIR STUNNING CRUSTY OLD LOOKS TO GET THEM AHEAD REEEEEEEEE!!! (as taught by my SJSU teachers. Thank you, now I know that it's not just slutty women using their looks to get ahead <3). Want to become FAMILY with SJSU too? Then just spend a few thousand buckaroos (few = $20,000), and you can be too <3 Otherwise, go to a fucking UC (Seriously, just go. Anywhere but SJSU).
Wed, 29 Jun 2016 06:58:15 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about SJSU for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html I went to SJSU for my undergraduate business degree, and it was terrible. I was fortunate to study abroad at a high-ranking institution, in which I was able to see the difference between a ghetto stat... Wed, 29 Jun 2016 06:20:24 GMT StudentsReview 189-174145 189-174145 189 7 Business - Management and Administration Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative I went to SJSU for my undergraduate business degree, and it was terrible. I was fortunate to study abroad at a high-ranking institution, in which I was able to see the difference between a ghetto state-run school and an actual university. Despite receiving multiple confirmations that I was set to graduate on time, SJSU staff lost my records and fumbled around for 6 months (with my having to call them everyday after what was supposed to be a celebratory time). They treated me terribly, even though I had done everything right. I received my diploma 6 months late, and also discovered I was supposed to have been recognized with honors, but the school never did that either.

If I could turn-back the clock, I'd never have gone to SJSU. Many of the alumni can't even string a coherent sentence together. The off-campus area is dangerous, and there are reports regularly of violent offenders entering the campus (as a student, I received emails on a regular basis warning of gunshots, stabbings, burglaries etc. happening -- I and 4 of my roommates were victims of crime at SJSU on separate occasions!). Many of the classrooms are filthy and lack air conditioning. Do not expect to feel like you are studying in the "silicon valley" -- the classes teach outdated information, and the classrooms lack modern equipment.

At the graduation ceremony, multiple graduating seniors appeared drunk, with one stripping naked and screaming. The woman who was chosen to speak was a secretary, and used the moment as an open-therapy session (the speech had nothing to do with graduating, career, etc. Rather, she went on about her family issues, and "sob" stories -- it was not inspiring in the least). There are some wonderful staff and teachers at SJSU, but unfortunately the bad ones are all-too prevalent and cannot be avoided. The university lacks study areas, and utilizes a public library, that is filled with mentally ill homeless and screaming children -- they take education so lightly that they can't even spare space for students to work! Instead, it is common during finals and midterm exams to see students sitting on the hallway floors.

From my experience at SJSU as an undergraduate student, I would personally NEVER recommend the business school to anyone. I will be studying elsewhere for my Master's degree (currently self-employed, because I wanted to teach myself what I never learned in the classroom aka BUSINESS), and I'd recommend others do the same. I've taken classes at campuses around the world since graduating, and SJSU is extremely lacking due to their outdated subjects and failing classrooms. If you just want a degree, fine, but if you want to gain (relevant) knowledge then this is not the place to study. While I understand that the United States educational system is behind-the-times in many ways, I write this because many people assume the silicone valley to be an exception (It's NOT).

Best of luck to anyone who chooses to attend this mistake of a school!
Wed, 29 Jun 2016 06:20:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about SJSU for Educationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html Go into this department with your eyes open. When I went there, the professors were great (most) and classes were fine, but the student teaching placement was beyond awful. The department didn't make... Sat, 04 Apr 2015 05:31:00 GMT StudentsReview 189-159137 189-159137 189 15 Education Female Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Advice Go into this department with your eyes open. When I went there, the professors were great (most) and classes were fine, but the student teaching placement was beyond awful. The department didn't make the effort to place us in advance and was scrambling to halfway through the semester to find ANY place for us to go. The placement coordinator didn't even know what my field was and tried to place in a completely different area. She was soo disorganized but apparently a friend of the Dept chairman so she had this job, which she just didn't have time for. The mentor teachers weren't vetted whatsoever, because SJSU was desperate for anyone to take us. I was placed in a bad situation midway through the fall semester, and although I worked my butt off 100% of the time trying to deal with the disorganized teacher, the class I was given (his most difficult class ever, according to the teacher himself, a veteran of 20 years teaching), and a supervisor who was off her rocker (second semester), I was failed from the program. It turned out the last student teacher that mentor had had, had quit out of frustration. The mentor laughed when he told me that ? but since we were already halfway through the semester, I didn?t have the luxury of time to quit. Honestly, I have had many jobs and experiences, but the people in charge in the University took absolutely NO responsibility for their disorganized and awful student teaching program. Just put me on probation (for having to deal with a mentor teacher who kept changing his mind about what he wanted to do every other week ? I was supposed to be planning for PACT?.had to change that 3 times?.) I didn't mention my predicament to any other student till I realized I was going to fail, then heard from half a dozen students that they had had the same experience and were repeating their student teaching. NOT because they had done anything wrong - but because the school just let them hang in the wind when they were in with a bad teacher or situation. I heard so many complaints from other students then I realized this wasn't an isolated case. The woman in charge of the Education department also completely out to lunch and dismissed the whole thing as my fault. Truly, I worked hard, spent 100% of my time inside and outside the classroom trying to do the right thing, and SJSU did nothing to rectify but make excuses for themselves. Actually they didn't even do that, just drew the cloak of authority around themselves. I would say don't go there at all, but if you have to, take charge of your student teaching experience. Students who had good experiences knew the schools they were going to, or got lucky. Sat, 04 Apr 2015 05:31:00 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/SJSU_comments.html