StudentsReview - Stanford University - Life at Stanfordhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html Life at Stanford - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Stanford for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html The best thing about this school is that it's one of the best one on the ranking list!! The bad thing is that it is very hard to get in. 😿 sadly.... Mon, 26 May 2014 01:14:54 GMT StudentsReview 196-109459 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 196-109459 196 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Neutral The best thing about this school is that it's one of the best one on the ranking list!! The bad thing is that it is very hard to get in. 😿 sadly. Mon, 26 May 2014 01:14:54 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html StudentsReview: Review about Stanford for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html Love Love Love, thanks for the fast shipping!... Mon, 14 Apr 2014 09:02:55 GMT StudentsReview 196-105946 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 196-105946 196 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Love Love Love, thanks for the fast shipping! Mon, 14 Apr 2014 09:02:55 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about Stanford for Perfomance Artshttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html AARGH!! Visited that blasted law prof's sight broefe I cleared cookies on my browser! I meant my demographic only for Dr. Helen.Now I'm gonna have to take time to consult with the advertising exec's. ... Mon, 07 Apr 2014 10:27:49 GMT StudentsReview 196-105469 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 196-105469 196 43 Perfomance Arts Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Advice AARGH!! Visited that blasted law prof's sight broefe I cleared cookies on my browser! I meant my demographic only for Dr. Helen.Now I'm gonna have to take time to consult with the advertising exec's. I'll just tell 'em anytime folks start babbling about pork busters, I immediately leave the site.Gonna take me at least 30 days to talk to all the ad exec's!!! WHAT an annoyance. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 10:27:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Stanford for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html Stanford University is an excellent college and so far the experience has been phenomenal. I really cannot find anything bad to say about Stanford and I normally like to point things out since I am a ... Tue, 27 Aug 2013 03:15:32 GMT StudentsReview 196-95519 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 196-95519 196 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2015 2nd Year Positive Stanford University is an excellent college and so far the experience has been phenomenal. I really cannot find anything bad to say about Stanford and I normally like to point things out since I am a stickler. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 03:15:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Stanford for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html The common perception people have going into Stanford is that their lives are set and that everything's going to be fun and daisies. The truth is that the competition becomes tougher than ever, you wi... Sun, 18 Aug 2013 06:58:22 GMT StudentsReview 196-95373 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 196-95373 196 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Negative The common perception people have going into Stanford is that their lives are set and that everything's going to be fun and daisies. The truth is that the competition becomes tougher than ever, you will always be worried about getting into "the next step", and you will work harder than ever before. All in an environment where people are expected to be happy all the time and talking about your difficulties is frowned upon. Seriously, I didn't know this kind of atmosphere could exist until I came here.

Want to go to a school where you will be genuinely happy? I don't think Stanford is the place, though I am sure many people are very happy.
Want to go to a school where you will become even more competitive than before to the point of being cut-throat, never really show it, not really know what's wrong with the whole shebang since everyone looks so happy but something doesn't feel right and you'll start to feel too self-conscious about yourself and everyone around you? Stanford.

That being said, the academic quality is truly top caliber. If you are not entirely sure about coming here, I would not base my decision off of Admit Weekend which is not representative of how you will feel on a daily basis at all - try staying for a few days with a friend or something.

The competitive atmosphere you get at Stanford isn't the healthy kind where everyone's cheering each other on to succeed and everyone shares what they do - it's secretive and closed off, despite how open everything seems to be. The general atmosphere of the student body is "me, me" and there is little social activism or community work, and when there is it all seems overwhelmingly for themselves/ourselves.

My biggest complaint would be the bubble. Like RCMan13 said (his observations are right on point) Palo Alto is a horrible college town. Students almost never leave campus, and on campus there isn't much to do either in terms of normal life. You will study all day and get really good at academics/test taking, but miss out on real-life events/work experience/everything else that your friends at less isolated universities are getting because the only people you are interacting with are students and professors, not a real-life community.
Sun, 18 Aug 2013 06:58:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/STFU_comments.html