StudentsReview - Gordon State College - Life at GSC Copyright 2022 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html Life at GSC - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about GSC for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html Best four years of my life!... Wed, 06 Jul 2011 12:37:29 GMT StudentsReview 1985-78807 1985-78807 1985 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2011 4th Year Positive Best four years of my life! Wed, 06 Jul 2011 12:37:29 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about GSC for Criminalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html Gordon is the typical "junior college." Its about a 45 minute drive from south-metro atlanta and, in comparison to other near-by campuses, on-campus living arrangments are affordable. I'm currently at... Mon, 09 Feb 2009 01:33:05 GMT StudentsReview 1985-57628 1985-57628 1985 44 Criminal Female Undergraduate Class 2009 1st Year Advice Gordon is the typical "junior college." Its about a 45 minute drive from south-metro atlanta and, in comparison to other near-by campuses, on-campus living arrangments are affordable. I'm currently attending GC to complete most of my core classes and save money. Upon completion of these classes, (about 50 credit hours), I plan on transferring to UGA in Athens. THe total cost to attend Gordon out of pocket is a maximum of about $3,500 a semester. (That's including room and board and not taking hope scholarship into consideration.) Of course, include the hope and it's less. Had I decided to attend uga just upon graduation of highschool, I would be spending about $6,000 on IN-STATE tuition alone (per semester) That means, even with hope (who grants a maximum of 35oo a semester) I would have to come out of pocket with $2500 for tuition alone. (That's not including room and board!)So, to sum everything up, Gordon is a great place to 'knock out" some core classes and move on to "bigger things." I personally can't give any recommendation as to whether or not a new-coming student should persue a teaching degree or even an associates, but I have had a great experience overall, taking some core classes that are required for my intended major at UGA, and at the same time, saving A LOT of money. Mon, 09 Feb 2009 01:33:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about GSC for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html Gordon is an ok college to get preliminaries out of the way but for degree programs they need help. Being in the nursing program was a dream that turned into a nightmare rather quickly. I had to repea... Thu, 11 Dec 2008 09:35:25 GMT StudentsReview 1985-56231 1985-56231 1985 30 Nursing Female Undergraduate Class 2009 2nd Year Negative Gordon is an ok college to get preliminaries out of the way but for degree programs they need help. Being in the nursing program was a dream that turned into a nightmare rather quickly. I had to repeat a semester and when I needed help and sought out the instructor I either was put off by have to make an appointment or well you need to study more then. But I spend 6 to 8 hrs. at night studying and reading what they require. Most classes required you to read 5 to 10 long chapters a night and by the time you got half way through the first chapter was a complete blank. Then you are required to do at least 20 hours plus of computer work, a 8 page paper, clinical paperwork of 16 pages and expected to be in top shape on clinical days. When does anyone find time to have a life or family time during all of this. Plus some of the older students who have to work and support themselves have less time to study. So if I can give any advise to those wanting to go into the nursing profession DO NOT go to Gordon, they may say they have the best program and it is hard to get into but it is harder to stay in by the second semester half of the student will be kicked out for not having passing grades. You can be a good compassionate person but not able to read and retain every single thing read. Yet stupid people who can read and retain and pass a test have no compassion or clinical skills to give good patient care but can get through the gordon program because they know how to read. Better yet how about a student who states she never read a book all through high school and graduated, now she is going to become a nurse because she can take a test by guessing the right answers. Yes those are the nurses we want taking care of us and our families in the future. Thu, 11 Dec 2008 09:35:25 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about GSC for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html The staff and students here all seem very nice and friendly at first, the reason why I came here. It's also a very beautiful New England campus. It's not too far from Boston so as long as you have a c... Wed, 07 Sep 2005 11:15:04 GMT StudentsReview 1985-18529 1985-18529 1985 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2008 2nd Year Negative The staff and students here all seem very nice and friendly at first, the reason why I came here. It's also a very beautiful New England campus. It's not too far from Boston so as long as you have a car you won't get too bored.
Unfortunately after being here a while, it's obvious that the people are just fake and phony. They act all nice and always keep a smile on their face, but in reality they're just doing it because they feel that they have to because of their Christianity.
This place is very evangelical Christian and there is no room for dissenting opinions or ideas. People are extremely judgemental and close-minded. This not only goes for ideas on Christianity, but also politics. But 99 percent of Gordon students believe they are attending a very open-minded school due to a little propaganda technique like so; the new testament teacher will say something pro-Catholic or a politics major will say something pro-Democrat and all of the sudden they are open-minded to ideas other than traditional Baptist. It's the same technique Fox News uses to convince people they aren't bias, they'll say something pro-John Kerry and then keep say, "see, I told you it wasn't Neo-con bias"
I am hopefully transfering out of here soon and would not recommend it to people unless they are Evangelical neo-cons. I know this is kind of a political review but that's my major.
Wed, 07 Sep 2005 11:15:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about GSC for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html Gordon is a great place to get started in college because the courses are very easy for the most part. Most students here have plenty of time to work and play without having to worry too much about s... Thu, 05 Feb 2004 10:42:55 GMT StudentsReview 1985-8359 1985-8359 1985 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Class 2004 2nd Year Neutral Gordon is a great place to get started in college because the courses are very easy for the most part. Most students here have plenty of time to work and play without having to worry too much about school. Some of the professors are hard or not very helpful, but the majority of them are great people who are willing to match the students' efforts. The student body is friendly, and there are a lot adults and working students here. Thu, 05 Feb 2004 10:42:55 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/GC0_comments.html