StudentsReview - The University of California - Berkeley - Life at UC-Berkeley Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html Life at UC-Berkeley - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about UC-Berkeley for Mechanical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html I will begin by saying this: Berkeley is HARD. You will be challenged on a daily basis to stretch the boundaries of your understanding, and there will be little time to sit on your laurels and rest. T... Mon, 14 Mar 2016 08:50:11 GMT StudentsReview 199-173029 199-173029 199 24 Mechanical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Positive I will begin by saying this: Berkeley is HARD. You will be challenged on a daily basis to stretch the boundaries of your understanding, and there will be little time to sit on your laurels and rest. That being said, if you maintain a reasonable courseload and a reasonable set of study habits, you can succeed. Berkeley engineering, specifically, has friendly, understanding advisers, and in general you can find research positions, clubs, study groups, etc. quite easily. I have never felt more at home, nor happier, anywhere else.
There is, however, a dark side. Berkeley students are all bright, hardworking, and in many cases driven by GPA. Because of this, students who receive poor grades can feel cheated and disheartened. In too many cases, students saw admission to Cal as an endgame, which is simply not the proper mindset to take. See every class as an opportunity, force yourself (sometimes) to go, even if you don't think it will help/you don't want to. It will pay off in the end.
The school has limited funding, and as such some of the older buildings (Wheeler, Dwinelle, and LeConte come to mind) are less than ideal for lab, or discussion, but this does not detract from the quality of professors and academic rigor inherent to the school.
If you feel that you are willing to accept the downsides of a public university, which are real, and are willing to devote yourself to your studies and to advancing your career, coming to Cal is a decision you will never regret. As always, Go Bears!
Mon, 14 Mar 2016 08:50:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UC-Berkeley for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html It's a great school. The curricula are rigorous and relevant, career paths are well delineated based on a student's background, and opportunities to excel abound. If you're interested in doing academi... Wed, 30 Sep 2015 07:03:58 GMT StudentsReview 199-171136 199-171136 199 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2000 4th Year Neutral It's a great school. The curricula are rigorous and relevant, career paths are well delineated based on a student's background, and opportunities to excel abound. If you're interested in doing academic work, UCB is a great place to study. If you're interested partying and just getting by, it's the last place you want to go. Most importantly, if you're independent and not interested in being coddled, intellectually or otherwise, UCB will make you feel right at home. Be prepared to question everything you know, how well you think you know it, and have some assumptions stomped on, and you'll be just fine. Culturally, it is very broad and exclusive, which is to say, you will find people who share your interests quickly, but becoming part of the social circle requires effort and dedication. The city of Berkeley is a very transient place, you will meet some people who you will never see again, some you will see regularly but never have cause to interact, and some that will remain part of your life for a long time. UCB itself is a huge bureaucracy, so be prepared to learn how to maneuver and master heirarchies, chains of command, and the art of persuasion. Take time to woo those professors, staff, and community members from which you would like letters of recommendation, those come in handy. Live off campus, partake in the nightlife, spend a few weekends in the city. There's very little in the world you can't do or try that you won't find in Berkeley. Wed, 30 Sep 2015 07:03:58 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UC-Berkeley for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html Great background academically and socially.... Wed, 16 Sep 2015 12:38:48 GMT StudentsReview 199-170944 199-170944 199 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Great background academically and socially. Wed, 16 Sep 2015 12:38:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UC-Berkeley for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html I've graduated for more than 10 years from CAL and my undergrad years in chemical engineering department is the most grueling years in my life. There was very little camaraderie among students and bet... Mon, 27 Apr 2015 07:11:04 GMT StudentsReview 199-160229 199-160229 199 8 Chemical Engineering Female Undergraduate Class 1999 5th Year Neutral I've graduated for more than 10 years from CAL and my undergrad years in chemical engineering department is the most grueling years in my life. There was very little camaraderie among students and between students and professors. The academic studies, while challenging, lacked meaning, as it was very detached from the day-to-day world. Some TAs and school administrators were jerks. Despite having no social life and feeling miserable all the time, I don't regret my experiences at CAL. I loved the fact that the program really emphasized lab work and writing lab reports. The experimental techniques I learned back then are still relevant today. It humbled me academically as I tried to survive in the pool of bright and hard-working souls. It also made me a better worker for life. The degree itself carries a lot of weight when you go look for a job, although it still took me a few months to find the first job. I would go to Berkeley again, given the chance, Don't expect to enjoy the experience, but you will look back with a lot more appreciation and insight. Mon, 27 Apr 2015 07:11:04 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UC-Berkeley for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html The school is insanely difficult. This is not a problem because in some cases it is fairly difficult, however in some undergraduate prerequisite classes there is a swath of professors who are bad at t... Sun, 22 Feb 2015 05:58:41 GMT StudentsReview 199-157501 199-157501 199 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Neutral The school is insanely difficult. This is not a problem because in some cases it is fairly difficult, however in some undergraduate prerequisite classes there is a swath of professors who are bad at teaching, while continuing to keep the course material difficult. Without prior background knowledge in these courses I find it hard pressed to survive and do well without spending a lot of time in them. This is not to say all the teachers are bad, it is just saying that a couple of awful professors have been ruining my overall learning experience. Sun, 22 Feb 2015 05:58:41 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCB_comments.html