StudentsReview - The University of California - Davis - Life at UC-Davis Copyright 2019 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html Life at UC-Davis - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about UC-Davis for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html I would say that Davis has a MAJOR problem with over-enrollement. There is not enough housing, classrooms, and spaces to study on campus. If you are a CS Major, please consider going to another place.... Wed, 07 Nov 2018 04:37:20 GMT StudentsReview 200-183890 200-183890 200 12 Computer Science Female Undergraduate Class 2019 3rd Year Advice I would say that Davis has a MAJOR problem with over-enrollement. There is not enough housing, classrooms, and spaces to study on campus. If you are a CS Major, please consider going to another place. I am currently a senior and it is IMPOSSIBLE to get enrollment in all my classes. So far I have not had a quarter where I was able to get ALL of my classes. On top of that the CS department does not have enough professors and a majority of them are not great at teaching. One professor in particular is known to send over 2/3 of his students to the Student Judicial Affairs. This professor even sends innocent people who don't cheat, and I know many of my friends had got in trouble for cheating when they were innocent. At the end of the day, be super mindful of which professor you take, and if you do end up at Davis, don't have high expectations of receiving an 'amazing' education. Most of the learning you will do will come from self-teaching. Wed, 07 Nov 2018 04:37:20 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UC-Davis for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html Highly recommend attending another school. Extremely disorganized with student files to the point where the money is not worth it. You are another number. There is no helpful advice, each staff always... Thu, 26 Jul 2018 03:36:52 GMT StudentsReview 200-183470 200-183470 200 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 1921 2nd Year Negative Highly recommend attending another school. Extremely disorganized with student files to the point where the money is not worth it. You are another number. There is no helpful advice, each staff always tells you to head somewhere else or to ask for someone else, even if you are in the right department. The tuition is not worth the education. Half of the professors just give you terrible grades because they have been teaching for so long. The list can go on about the negative things about this school, such as they are actually not environmentally friendly. During a drought, UCD stated to use less water but at 3am-5am and 7-9pm the water sprinklers were running. The only thing good is that you can do what you want around campus (freedom), and there is a good gym. The students working in stores and in the UCD staff when handling money are dishonest. I have had my credit card number stolen from the book store a countless number of times. Thu, 26 Jul 2018 03:36:52 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UC-Davis for Electrical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html College definitely helped me. I wish I could have gotten a higher degree and in another field.... Tue, 28 Nov 2017 11:41:02 GMT StudentsReview 200-182093 200-182093 200 16 Electrical Engineering Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive College definitely helped me. I wish I could have gotten a higher degree and in another field. Tue, 28 Nov 2017 11:41:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UC-Davis for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html Very cut-throat. I thought that I'd learn more about my major, but instead I've learned how much knowing the right people can either make or break your gpa. Oh also, you've got to hide your homework f... Sat, 25 Nov 2017 03:08:36 GMT StudentsReview 200-182054 200-182054 200 8 Chemical Engineering Female Undergraduate Class 1921 2nd Year Neutral Very cut-throat. I thought that I'd learn more about my major, but instead I've learned how much knowing the right people can either make or break your gpa. Oh also, you've got to hide your homework from the kid that will take pictures of it when you're not looking. Also, last quarter, someone stole the homework that should've been returned back to us. Sat, 25 Nov 2017 03:08:36 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about UC-Davis for Chemical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html Outside of my major, I enjoy everything about UC Davis. I like the surrounding town, the school's enthusiasm for encouraging students to get into clubs or other extracurricular, and the downtown that ... Sat, 30 Sep 2017 01:12:23 GMT StudentsReview 200-181186 200-181186 200 8 Chemical Engineering Female Undergraduate Class 1922 1st Year Advice Outside of my major, I enjoy everything about UC Davis. I like the surrounding town, the school's enthusiasm for encouraging students to get into clubs or other extracurricular, and the downtown that is situated next to my school.

My chemical engineering professors are overall been great. Most are incredibly sharp and know their field well.

However, when it comes to the student, the chemical engineering department takes the cake in competitiveness. My friend warned me before going here, "Just do what you have to do to succeed." There's backstabbing, students withholding information from each other, homework gets stolen, copied, -- or if you aren't careful too some slackers might take pictures of it to duplicate later, most kids don't know what the chain rule or derivative is, code is shared, and a good number of students are purchasing drugs to do well. Worst of all, most of the teachers are too busy with research to notice the problem and the more you cheat or don't help others, the better you do.

I've spoken to other friends outside my major and this problem is unique to my department. If I had the chance, I would've transferred to UC Davis as another major. (I heard that chemistry isn't like this.)

Just my two cents. Could just be my class... but my friend who graduated two years ahead of me gave me that advice. My other friend who graduated a year above me sent me a Google Drive with all his old exams to "even out the playing field".

Also, if you're a transfer... you'd better make those connections quickly. If you don't have access to old exams or know the right people regardless of how you study, you're going to do below the curve.

Also, if you're worried about doing the right thing... just remember that there's plenty of people who aren't afraid to do questionable things to get ahead.

And you're graded on a curve with them.

Overall, great school. The chemical engineering department needs to be revamped.
Sat, 30 Sep 2017 01:12:23 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/CA/UCD_comments.html