StudentsReview - The University of Maryland University College - Life at UMUC Copyright 2022 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html Life at UMUC - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UMUC for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html I decided on UMGC (they changed their name. Now I know why) because as an on-post provider of educating military people they seemed good to us. However, as a veteran with ample financing, it is game-o... Fri, 18 Sep 2020 12:43:02 GMT StudentsReview 2353-186485 2353-186485 2353 52 Undecided Male Undergraduate Class 1924 1st Year Negative I decided on UMGC (they changed their name. Now I know why) because as an on-post provider of educating military people they seemed good to us. However, as a veteran with ample financing, it is game-on with their infestation of activists who hate. They have access to your account, your schedules and tools where they try to knock your enrollment out of the order because it will affect your payments. When you get wise to that, they?ll fix a systematic learning tool to be unworkable, and will ignore your complaints. If you attended this school in the military, trust me when I say it will be very different as a veteran. You will be seen as entitled, well funded, and someone to knock over. It is no wonder they changed their name to ?University Of Maryland Global Campus? Fri, 18 Sep 2020 12:43:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UMUC for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html This college has the worst online cybersecurity program that I have ever seen! The virtual machines were NOT SECURE! The instructors were Indian and tech support was also Indian! The required reading ... Sun, 19 Jul 2020 07:55:09 GMT StudentsReview 2353-186427 2353-186427 2353 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative This college has the worst online cybersecurity program that I have ever seen! The virtual machines were NOT SECURE! The instructors were Indian and tech support was also Indian! The required reading was over 10 years old! In the world of cybersecurity- that's dinosaurs reading! In addition, the course materials were poorly organized and confusing to work through! I would strongly recommend going to another university! Sun, 19 Jul 2020 07:55:09 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UMUC for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html Policies are broken, classes are repetitive, and they are more focused on getting you to sign pacts that you won't plagiarize, academic integrity and format than any actual content. This is definitely... Tue, 27 Aug 2019 11:00:18 GMT StudentsReview 2353-185518 2353-185518 2353 54 Communications Male Undergraduate Class 1920 3rd Year Negative Policies are broken, classes are repetitive, and they are more focused on getting you to sign pacts that you won't plagiarize, academic integrity and format than any actual content. This is definitely a school you attend in order to "tick the box" of education credentials, and not actually learn. Tue, 27 Aug 2019 11:00:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UMUC for School of Informationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html I'm a straigh A student and I took online classes at UMUC since 2016 to formalize my professional experience. How much a regret this choice! There's no textbook but the sources are a collage of tex... Thu, 01 Aug 2019 08:00:56 GMT StudentsReview 2353-185466 2353-185466 2353 62 School of Information Male Undergraduate Class 1920 3rd Year Negative I'm a straigh A student and I took online classes at UMUC since 2016 to formalize my professional experience. How much a regret this choice!

There's no textbook but the sources are a collage of texts pulled from websites, sometimes with tons of gaps and overlap, many times contradicting each other. Wikipedia would teach you better.

At UMUC they don't teach by examples: for most of the classes students are provided with abstract concepts and definitions and it's up to them to find a way to bring that down to earth. If they fail while converting concepts into practical actions on assignments, grades go down - few professors go an extra mile to properly TEACH the content.

There is too much emphasis on group assignments and online discussions, which is really challenging for online students. They ARE online students because they DON'T WANT to go to a real classroom, BECAUSE they socially interact on different ways. It is not uncommon to land on dysfunctional groups and struggle to defend your own grades when that happen.

UMUC might sound appealing to many, but please don't fall for it. It is not worth your time and money. There are probably better options available for online classes.
Thu, 01 Aug 2019 08:00:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UMUC for Financehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html So...this is an interesting school for my major. I expected to learn something, maybe have video lectures from professors, maybe even have assignments related to the textbook....but that didn't happen... Sun, 14 Apr 2019 02:12:38 GMT StudentsReview 2353-184534 2353-184534 2353 79 Finance Male Undergraduate Class 2019 3rd Year Neutral So...this is an interesting school for my major. I expected to learn something, maybe have video lectures from professors, maybe even have assignments related to the textbook....but that didn't happen.

First, 90% of my courses didn't even have lectures or textbooks. Lower level business courses used articles from places like Investopedia. Upper level Finance courses usually use links to journal articles or YouTube videos. Then, the discussion questions usually only relate to one resource. You just have to find that resource and you're good to go for the week. The essays are kinda weird as well. Every class has four "projects" which must be completed, one every two weeks. These projects never have anything to do with the work in those two weeks. You just have to google as much crap as you can and spew it at the paper. As long as your writing makes basic sense and it's in APA format you'll get an A. Just write random things that meander around an answer to the question. The faculty probably won't read it very hard. For several projects I have received someone else's graded papers.

Just follow along and write strictly to the prompt. The material may seem daunting, but the work has little to do with it. Just answer every part of the question in some way and you'll get an A. I have two classes left for a BS in Finance and haven't learned a damn thing. But I have written hundreds of pages about Finance. This may be good or bad, depending what you're looking for. I just want to finish my degree, I don't work in Finance. So overall I'm fine with it.
Sun, 14 Apr 2019 02:12:38 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MD/UOMUC_comments.html