StudentsReview - The Longy School of Music of Bard College - Life at LMB Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html Life at LMB - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about LMB for Music - Performancehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html Be warned that Longy is promoted in a very deceitful manner. They love to play up how intimate and friendly they are, but once there, they treat you as if you are a burden and have no right to make le... Sun, 14 Jun 2015 03:20:01 GMT StudentsReview 2393-162309 2393-162309 2393 26 Music - Performance Female Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Neutral Be warned that Longy is promoted in a very deceitful manner. They love to play up how intimate and friendly they are, but once there, they treat you as if you are a burden and have no right to make legitimate complaints. Administrators go out of their way to duck responsibility for any of the dramas they routinely create which is why the school will never fundamentally change for the better.

The administrator students have to deal with is that pompous a---ole Wayman Chin. Anytime students go to speak to Wayman about issues, concerns, etc., either because he has asked them to or because a student wants to resolve an issue, Wayman responds with rudeness, condescension, nastiness, personal attacks, an inability to hear what he does not want to hear, and defensiveness. I have found that it is far better to deal with grumpy bureaucrats at a huge state university than to deal with an unprofessional creep like Wayman Chin. He is a very immature person who seems out to abuse whatever power and authority he can get. Apparently he got this position with no faculty input, no search by a committee, and very little experience. Hmmmm....just what kind of school does this?

Did I learn and grow a lot while at Longy? Yes. Do I love being in the Boston area? Yes. Could I have gotten a comparable education elsewhere? Yes. Was it worth putting up with Longy's huge dark side. No.

Make your own decisions and opinions concerning Longy, but you now cannot say you weren't warned!
Sun, 14 Jun 2015 03:20:01 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about LMB for Music - Performancehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html Numerous times while walking by classrooms between classes, I saw numerous private lesson teachers eating, texting, using their cell phones instead of being focuses on their students. Longy sure charg... Mon, 08 Sep 2014 02:08:12 GMT StudentsReview 2393-126238 2393-126238 2393 26 Music - Performance Female Undergraduate Class 2018 4th Year Negative Numerous times while walking by classrooms between classes, I saw numerous private lesson teachers eating, texting, using their cell phones instead of being focuses on their students. Longy sure charges a lot of tuition so why do they hire teachers that act like that? If a student started texting during their lesson while their teacher was trying to help them, they most likely would be reported to the a--hole dean. But why is it all right for their main teachers to do this and what their tuition dollars?

This is Longy in a nutshell. Do yourself a favor and don't bother even auditioning for the school. There are plenty of better schools.
Mon, 08 Sep 2014 02:08:12 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about LMB for Music - Composition/Theoryhttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html It is impossible to pursue graduate education or even transfer credits as part of an undergraduate degree completion program with Longy's Undergraduate Diploma. The program is utterly useless and shou... Fri, 07 Feb 2014 01:32:32 GMT StudentsReview 2393-101146 2393-101146 2393 25 Music - Composition/Theory Male Undergraduate Class 2000 4th Year Negative It is impossible to pursue graduate education or even transfer credits as part of an undergraduate degree completion program with Longy's Undergraduate Diploma. The program is utterly useless and should be discontinued. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 01:32:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about LMB for Music - Performancehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html The teachers here take everything too personally and try to meddle in your life too much. If you are not understanding something they take it personally and treat you like crap rather than try to help... Tue, 23 Oct 2012 05:56:55 GMT StudentsReview 2393-90003 2393-90003 2393 26 Music - Performance Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Negative The teachers here take everything too personally and try to meddle in your life too much. If you are not understanding something they take it personally and treat you like crap rather than try to help you. Longy is so small it is no different from being in high school, with all of the cliques, drama, and everyone knowing everyone's business. I hated high school and had hopes that college would be different; Longy sure let me down.

The only social activities at school include parties and dances that are basically junior high-ish dances with alcohol. So boring and it feels like a step backward rather than a step into a new life chapter.

The school is not large enough to provide resources for students either. The administration could care less about that. I went to the student services people for help with finding a doctor and advice for an apartment in the area and they were pretty unhelpful. They are supposed to be able to support students but just said they didn't know when I asked about a doctor. Not good.

The location is great, however; Cambridge and Boston have so much going on, all the time. Easier said than done, but it is great to get out, meet other people, and go to concerts not at Longy. If you decide to go to Longy, please make the effort to do that. You must be self-motivated to create a life away from Longy drama or you'll go crazy.

I love my main (piano) teacher and he is the only reason keeping me here. I'm thrilled with the musical progress I've made but think I may be better off somewhere else. I'm looking into several schools for a possible transfer.
Tue, 23 Oct 2012 05:56:55 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about LMB for Music - Performancehttp://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html Longy School of Music is a community music school that woke up one day and decided to start giving masters degrees. I went there for my graduate degree to study with a specific teacher, who was wonder... Thu, 28 Jun 2012 01:31:07 GMT StudentsReview 2393-88137 2393-88137 2393 26 Music - Performance Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative Longy School of Music is a community music school that woke up one day and decided to start giving masters degrees. I went there for my graduate degree to study with a specific teacher, who was wonderful. The program and the curriculum, however, are a total mess. The school does not have any real coursework to speak of, some of the most blatant anti-intellectualism I have ever seen in an academic institution, very few resources to offer its students, and almost no full-time faculty (hardly any with a doctorate in field). Longy needs a complete overhaul, and from what I understand, this is the consensus among the students and alumni.
My hopes that Longy's new affiliation with Bard College will give it what it needs to survive are high- but my expectations unfortunately are not.
Thu, 28 Jun 2012 01:31:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/MA/LSOM_comments.html