StudentsReview - American University - Life at American Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html Life at American - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about American for Journalismhttp://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html I transferred from a terrible nearby university so it made me appreciate AU a lot. AESTHETICS: Campus is gorgeous. Flowers and botanical gardens. The buildings are either either new and updated or... Mon, 03 Aug 2015 01:33:10 GMT StudentsReview 261-168537 261-168537 261 20 Journalism Male Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Positive I transferred from a terrible nearby university so it made me appreciate AU a lot.

AESTHETICS:
Campus is gorgeous. Flowers and botanical gardens. The buildings are either either new and updated or old but well kept. Never lived or "partied" in the dorms so I can't say much about that. Always a little construction going on which can be an eye sore, but its never that bad.

ACADEMICS:
Very bright and qualified professors for the most part, but every school has some bad teachers. Almost all I have are very passionate about their work. You really learn a lot from just coming to class and I've NEVER been given any 'busy work.' Classes are also small when you take major specific classes.

TUITION:
Very expensive, definitely too much but its worth it (as long as your student loans are under $100k.)

TRANSFERRING:
I'd suggest going to community college for 2 years for a cheaper college as its is much less expensive that way (like I did) and transferring is great. That accepted almost all of my credits as classes they take. If youre going to transfer in I suggest taking a lot of liberal arts classes (take Calc!)so that you can take classes in your major which really matter.

CAREER HELP:
The career center is very good for resume help, interview prep and internship search, but when you're looking for a job talk to the professors. They know everyone in DC and can definitely get you an in even if your industry is hard to break into.

STUDENTS:
So rich snobs but lots of cool, regular, poor people like myself. LOL
Mon, 03 Aug 2015 01:33:10 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about American for School of Informationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html AU offers great programs if you're pursuing a career in international relations or anything involved in politics. They create a four year path for you and set you up for success. There are also many a... Wed, 11 Mar 2015 04:28:11 GMT StudentsReview 261-158032 261-158032 261 62 School of Information Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Negative AU offers great programs if you're pursuing a career in international relations or anything involved in politics. They create a four year path for you and set you up for success. There are also many activities offered on campus. But do not be fooled because AU has A LOT of issues that it needs to take care of. For the first weeks, the food offered at the dining hall seems great because there are many options and the food tastes great. After that weeks passes and the school year progresses, you notice the food gets substantially worse (the rice is not fully cooked, as well as the meat, and pasta); they seem to not know how to properly season food, and because the workers are paid so low and forced to work long hours, the workers are constantly seen fighting and yelling at each other and being rude to students. Not to mention each visit to the dining hall is basically $20 per trip, which is a huge rip off for the quality of it. As for the other food options on campus, there are not a lot of options and again, the workers are usually rude. In regards to AU being "prepared" for emergencies, they deserve a D. There were several instances where people I knew were in an emergency and AU's public safety did not know how to fully handle the situation; not to mention, AU does not like when an ambulance is called - they INSIST that you contact public safety first...even though they do not do anything except collect information about the residents. When it comes to the package system, AU loses packages all the time due to how unorganized it is. In regards to housing, each hall has its own infestations to deal with; whether it be ants, rats, or roaches, you will find at least one in each hall. If you ask for them to fix it, either they take their sweet time to do anything, or they try but the situation does not get fully resolved. Housing also does not seem to try their hardest to help those stuck in a tough roommate situation, even after constant pleads for help. So you better hope that you get a good roommate on the first try. With the amount of money each student has to pay, which is about $60 thousand a year, their should NOT be these many issues. If you have to basically sell your soul and pay that much, then AU should should get their act together asap. On a last note, this past school year (2014) AU accepted two times the amount of students they are supposed to, which would make one think that they would lower tuition, right? Nope, instead, they are increasing tuition and housing and dining rates in 2016 and again in 2017. It has also been rumored that they are going to cut acceptance rates after this year so as to make it seem as though they have a "low acceptance rate". This all makes it seem as though AU does not care for each individual student's education or experience, but rather, their money. Wed, 11 Mar 2015 04:28:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about American for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html Alright, for the females, Come with the mindset to work alot and not get laid (even if your standards in men are ok). 1. 70/30 female male ration. (the 60/40 is bullshit) 2. If your used to mes... Sat, 27 Sep 2014 02:54:31 GMT StudentsReview 261-136728 261-136728 261 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Alright,
for the females,
Come with the mindset to work alot and not get laid (even if your standards in men are ok).
1. 70/30 female male ration. (the 60/40 is bullshit)
2. If your used to messing around with hot guys it aint happening. why? bc there arent any hot guys here. A few averagely attractive ones (very rare, usually athletes, chill at the gym but besides that no one knows where they are), then there's the average looking ones (who generally think their the shit bc the pretty girls crowd around them) Then the unattractive ones, the majority, who are also asexual due to their lack of exposure to sex. The rest are gay.
3. if you are a very pretty female you will score with an average dude but don't expect much more. Either lower your standards or go off-campus and a. chill with the old creepy foreign guys at clubs or b. chill with old guys at bars
Focus on education or else you will become desperate and needy for male attention as the rest of the straight female population.
This review isnt meant to scare you but to provide realistic facts about this schools gender scene so you will come prepared and without any great expectations. In fact I wish someone would have told me before hand.
Sat, 27 Sep 2014 02:54:31 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about American for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html AU is definitely one of those schools that has a lot of really good things going for it - but royally messes up in a few key areas. The Good: Generally the programs in the 4 specialized schools ... Mon, 30 Jun 2014 06:06:22 GMT StudentsReview 261-112418 261-112418 261 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Neutral AU is definitely one of those schools that has a lot of really good things going for it - but royally messes up in a few key areas.

The Good:

Generally the programs in the 4 specialized schools (SIS, SOC, Kogod, and SPA) are very good academically.

Overall, professors are generally helpful and willing to put in extra time at office hours.

Lots of the professors are well-connected in DC and will write recommendation letters.

Students are generally well-informed of the world around them.

Pretty easy access to DC and all it has to offer.

Usually the departments and professors are flexible with deadlines, student needs, requirements etc.

The school is has some high-ranked programs and the school overall climbs in the rankings every year (and they are expanding the campus with new buildings for some of the less well-known departments which will surely jumpstart those programs). In ten years, the reputation of the school will be stellar and my degree worth a lot.

The Bad:

Housing and Dining Department generally sucks at doing what it is supposed to. Both are fraught with poor management and services. You can get good food at an okay price (by DC standards) but you have to look for it.

Pretty much any program not in one of the four specialty schools is tiny. Some of these programs are still good - but the course offerings are so slim that you are basically forced to take what is offered at whatever time it is offered.

Lack of suitable labs and tech centers. The Business school has a fantastic IT lab but basically any other technical major is stuck with really sub-par facilities. (This will be fixed in a few years but for now it sucks).

Standards are very haphazard. The business school is the only school that attempt to standardize lower level core classes. Everywhere else, your learning and grade are based entirely on the instructor. I've had 100 level classes that were harder than my 400 level ones solely because of the teacher.

For a school with a stellar IR program, I found that the language department kind of sucks. There are some fantastic professors, but most are adjuncts who are native speakers (and clearly know their stuff) but are thoroughly unable to teach other people.


Overall:

AU is definitely about what you put into it. To be honest, in most programs outside of the hard sciences you can totally coast, learn nothing, and get a B or B+. However if you put effort in and truly want to learn you will learn loads.

Also be aware, that if you are looking into SIS: Once you get passed your lower level classes (after about two years), choosing your upper level classes defines whether you will actually get anything out of the degree. 50% of the classes are good. The other 50% are complete BS classes that don't teach much of anything so choose accordingly.

On a side-note: I found that the business school was very underrated. The job placement is fantastic, they help you get internships, etc. SIS basically leaves you to your own devices - they can look at your resume and tell you where to apply. But the business school has deals with companies in the area to take only their students for certain positions and (provided you are doing well in school) they will basically give you the internship.
Mon, 30 Jun 2014 06:06:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about American for Philosophyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html I want to follow up a previous review that I made about AU. When I was wrongly evicted from the dorm at AU in 1997, I received the following response from The Housing Dept signed by Julie Weber: ... Tue, 15 Apr 2014 02:29:47 GMT StudentsReview 261-105951 261-105951 261 32 Philosophy Male Undergraduate Class 1997 2nd Year Negative I want to follow up a previous review that I made about AU.
When I was wrongly evicted from the dorm at AU in 1997, I received the following response from The Housing Dept signed by Julie Weber:

"For 'reasons of confidentiality', I will not discuss,the client's, case with you. American University is firmly committed to a policy of non-discrimination, including compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act."

First of all, I would like to reply to this letter now, so that prospective students might understand a little more about why I was evicted from my dorm, and how this action violated my rights.
First of all, the University does not care about confidentiality nor privacy. They ransacked my room while I was in the hospital. They accused me of "ritualistic behavior" for having a "crucifix," in my room. So, I take it, that practicing your faith is "ritualistic" and therefore against the rules. This was also never discussed at all with me nor my attorney.

Also, I did nothing wrong while I was at the Dorms. I was a diligent student with a B+ average.

I was successfully treated at a hospital for a brief stay while in between semesters, and this should have been a private situation handled between me and my doctors.

Instead, the administration handed down a self-autonomous decision to evict me from my room. In addition Ms. Weber, and the administration did so in a dismissive and arrogant fashion, as demonstrated by their terse, unapologetic, correspondence.
Tue, 15 Apr 2014 02:29:47 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/DC/AU_comments.html