StudentsReview - Adirondack Community College - Life at ACC Copyright 2021 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html Life at ACC - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about ACC for Criminalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html while the campus is nice and the new dorm buildings are wonderful I have had many problems. There is not very good communication between students and faculty on important matters such as when the add/... Thu, 13 Feb 2014 02:01:33 GMT StudentsReview 2718-101456 2718-101456 2718 44 Criminal Female Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Negative while the campus is nice and the new dorm buildings are wonderful I have had many problems. There is not very good communication between students and faculty on important matters such as when the add/drop class period ends and when business hours for financial aid and the business hours are. The emails system, internet connection, and other important online necessities such as Angel and Banner are constantly down. It's a great inconvenience and I will be transferring as soon as my housing contract with the dorms is up! Thu, 13 Feb 2014 02:01:33 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about ACC for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html I've been here since the school made the switch from being just "ACC" to becoming a SUNY school, and it has made A LOT of changes since then. It is your typical Community College in the sense that the... Fri, 29 Mar 2013 03:06:08 GMT StudentsReview 2718-92849 2718-92849 2718 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2013 3rd Year Positive I've been here since the school made the switch from being just "ACC" to becoming a SUNY school, and it has made A LOT of changes since then. It is your typical Community College in the sense that there aren't a lot of on-campus activities, so making friends and having a sense of school spirit is a little more difficult to achieve (unless you're not afraid to put yourself out there, most everyone is very friendly). But the dorms (which are beautiful and spacious) will be fully completed for the Fall 2013 semester and I can only assume that will remedy that. I originally came for the Nursing program, but it is so competitive that getting into the program seems nearly impossible, no matter how good your gpa is. But overall, I fell in love with this Adirondack school, the professors are very intelligent and helpful, the cafe food is great, the library is decent, parking sucks, 2 convenient campuses plus a SUNY Plattsburgh branch campus.. If SUNY ACC had a 4 year Psychology program, I wouldn't leave. Fri, 29 Mar 2013 03:06:08 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about ACC for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html I think ACC is a great platform to transfer to other schools.... Wed, 06 Feb 2013 09:13:46 GMT StudentsReview 2718-91837 2718-91837 2718 60 Art & Design Department Male Undergraduate Class 2013 2nd Year Positive I think ACC is a great platform to transfer to other schools. Wed, 06 Feb 2013 09:13:46 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about ACC for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html The nursing dept. at ACC is the most unorganized department I have ever seen at any school. They do not make enough spots in classes for the number of students they have who need a spot. Although yo... Tue, 22 May 2012 12:02:40 GMT StudentsReview 2718-87464 2718-87464 2718 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 2012 3rd Year Negative The nursing dept. at ACC is the most unorganized department I have ever seen at any school.
They do not make enough spots in classes for the number of students they have who need a spot. Although you are supposedly guarenteed a spot somewhere, you may not find out when your class is until a week before it starts.
When an instructor is out, they expect the students to be self taught instead of having a reasonable back up instructor to step in.
Several of the instructors just read off of the paper that comes with the curriculum without checking to make sure the information is accurate. We have been given incorrect information in lecture and then when test time came around and we all got the question wrong, the instructor said we should have known the answer anyway.
Tue, 22 May 2012 12:02:40 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about ACC for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html Retiree, took an opportunity at the encouragement of the staff to apply for the nursing program. I was accepted and then THEY switched my major to liberal arts since. They could not accomodate me in ... Sat, 15 Oct 2011 05:37:16 GMT StudentsReview 2718-81918 2718-81918 2718 30 Nursing Female Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Negative Retiree, took an opportunity at the encouragement of the staff to apply for the nursing program. I was accepted and then THEY switched my major to liberal arts since. They could not accomodate me in the nursing program. I applied AGAIN while taking core credits and maintaining an above average grade of almost 90 and was yet again turned down without ever being given an answer as to why. The nursing program appears to be a LOTTERY SYSTEM! Having a straight "A" will not help you. Sat, 15 Oct 2011 05:37:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/ACC0_comments.html