StudentsReview - Mohawk Valley Community College - Life at MVCC Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html Life at MVCC - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about MVCC for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html What can I say, the college offers too many basket-weaving type degrees that will, for the most part, get you nowhere unless you go further in your schooling. If you know you want to be a psychologist... Sun, 17 Apr 2016 07:15:22 GMT StudentsReview 2799-173312 2799-173312 2799 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Advice What can I say, the college offers too many basket-weaving type degrees that will, for the most part, get you nowhere unless you go further in your schooling. If you know you want to be a psychologist, sociologist, philosopher, teacher then going here will save you tons of money. If you want a job that pays well with just an associate, avoid these liberal type degrees because you can?t do much with them unless you go for your BA/MA/PHD. The school could be so much better if they got rid of half the degrees offered and focused on traditional degree programs. Then again the school would probably go bankrupt, and who would pay for the dean?s new vacation to Switzerland and a new car? If you want decent paying jobs rights out of school stick with medicine, engineering, accounting, math, trades, etc. For you artists and musicians out there, the dumbest thing you could ever do is go to school to become either one. You will be doing more busy work than actually doing what you want to do; going to school is probably the most counterproductive thing.

The only thing you can probably do with a degree in art or music is get a job in academia or star-bucks. Going to school might just destroy your passion so take heed. To sum up, soft science degrees will more than likely require BS/MA degrees to obtain well-paying jobs, with stem degrees you can get great paying jobs with associates and bachelor?s degrees that is if money is your motive. Don't come here to "discover" yourself or you will discover that being in debt and owing money is no fun, especially when it?s not bankrupt-able and you're low on the socioeconomic ladder. If you're the type who has the mentality that college will be the best years of your life what have you to say about the rest of it? Are your 30's, 40's supposed to be worse? Every moment should be the best in your life. Don't get trapped in that idiotic college experience mindset. Don't get me wrong, have fun but don't delude yourself into thinking the rest of your life won't compare.

There are many really smart and kind instructors and professors at this school; however, some are downright awful with bad attitudes to match. Textbooks are a hit or miss, sometimes you use them other times you wonder why you paid 200 dollars for one but it really depends on the field you are in. If you must have a textbook, buy one online, they are generally much cheaper. You can even use old editions, honestly the data is the same, what i mean buy this is calculus is calculus not matter which edition you use and unless we've grown a tail there is no justifiable reason to purchase a new anatomy book, a fibula is a fibula in 16th century books and modern books. If we grow a new tail bone that it might be justifiable to rip-off students with new editions.
Sun, 17 Apr 2016 07:15:22 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about MVCC for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html Some of the professors are good, but honestly, I think the faculty should be changed. I reported a case of molestation to them, and they have completely ignored the case and have done NOTHING about it... Wed, 02 Mar 2016 10:00:16 GMT StudentsReview 2799-172925 2799-172925 2799 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 1920 1st Year Negative Some of the professors are good, but honestly, I think the faculty should be changed. I reported a case of molestation to them, and they have completely ignored the case and have done NOTHING about it. I had to withdraw a class just to maintain a better sense of safety. The persons who actually tried to help could only do so much; the persons who were supposed to help, did absolutely NOTHING but practically BLAME ME for reporting the case.
If you're not concerned about safety, then go ahead and sign up to join this college! Otherwise, DO BEWARE.
Wed, 02 Mar 2016 10:00:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about MVCC for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html Administration sees you as a number. A lot goes into making the school look good. They claim you need a bachelor or grad degree to teach yet I've taken classes taught by instructors with certificates;... Sat, 28 Nov 2015 04:08:03 GMT StudentsReview 2799-171851 2799-171851 2799 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Negative Administration sees you as a number. A lot goes into making the school look good. They claim you need a bachelor or grad degree to teach yet I've taken classes taught by instructors with certificates;backwards school. The school forces the most useless classes unto you to graduate. These prerequisites are akin to going to the store and fulfilling your prerequisite shopping requirements before you you can purchase the item you want. "Excuse me sir but you have to purchase a bucket of shrimp, nail clippers and a bottle of shampoo before you can buy that tub of ice cream"; its the money. They have Capella University grads teaching, whether that's good or bad, you decide. Choose your classes wisely because quite a bit of them won't transfer. Anything lower than calc, physics, etc and you've wasted your money and time. Most gen eds will transfer; social sciences,humanities,English,higher maths. Take what you need that corresponds to the classes required at a 4 year school and get out quickly before you squander your money on things that will not transfer. If you take these useless classes you are essentially locked within their system to graduate with one of their useless degrees. I've dealt with my fair share of poor instructors who are only there for a paycheck. Go in and knock out as many general education "requirements" and similar classes that will transfer to your 4 year program and run. Only 1/4 of their degrees are worthwhile in terms of return on investment, everything else you can just read up on at the library without being charged ridiculous sums of money on in order to prove something. Sat, 28 Nov 2015 04:08:03 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about MVCC for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html This college was such a waste of my time and money, and the environment there was brutal and awful. It struck me that the administration saw us as money in a corporate way and nothing else. Others wer... Fri, 30 May 2014 07:06:17 GMT StudentsReview 2799-109832 2799-109832 2799 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Female Undergraduate Class 2015 2nd Year Negative This college was such a waste of my time and money, and the environment there was brutal and awful. It struck me that the administration saw us as money in a corporate way and nothing else. Others were unhelpful, distant or not even available at all. Then there were the students who treated professors and others like garbage and had little respect even for themselves. What a bad experience. I can't wait to get away from it. Do yourself a favor and go to a real college that will challenge you in a positive educational way, even if you have to pay more to get it. Really. Fri, 30 May 2014 07:06:17 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about MVCC for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html Mvcc really prepared me for my field of work. I have heard so many people bash this school. I find they are people who were not accepted into the program or people who flunked out and transferred to o... Tue, 09 Apr 2013 11:03:35 GMT StudentsReview 2799-93072 2799-93072 2799 30 Nursing Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Positive Mvcc really prepared me for my field of work. I have heard so many people bash this school. I find they are people who were not accepted into the program or people who flunked out and transferred to other schools. Any education is something YOU have to work at. You can't expect to be spoon fed info and have other people do your work for you or use all kinds of excuses. Ultimately each person has to pass the same boards! Tue, 09 Apr 2013 11:03:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/NY/MVCC_comments.html