StudentsReview - Florida Atlantic University - Life at FAU Copyright 2020 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html Life at FAU - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about FAU for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html There are two types of students who attend FAU: those who were stuck here, due to personal/financial/geographic reasons, and those who are too dumb to get accepted anywhere else. Professors through... Sun, 11 Oct 2020 11:31:20 GMT StudentsReview 281-186523 281-186523 281 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 1922 1st Year Negative There are two types of students who attend FAU: those who were stuck here, due to personal/financial/geographic reasons, and those who are too dumb to get accepted anywhere else.
Professors throughout the university are horrible at teaching and research, yet love to go on power trips, sexually harass others, etc.
Most of the work you receive is busywork, and lectures are often very bare.
As for the College of Engineering/CS specifically, it should not exist. The faculty/admin let students get away with cheating, and make their classes nearly impossible to fail, because ABET requires a certain graduation rate. There are many people receiving their degrees here who do not know stuff from introductory classes, but many of them still land important positions (like the engineers for the FIU bridge).
However, if you like to party, sleep in, and not do any work for 4 years, this is the perfect university. Just be careful, because some FAU students can be dangerous.
Sun, 11 Oct 2020 11:31:20 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about FAU for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html The advising is terrible and you really have to take things into your own hands to graduate. they have a really bad Online system where you make appointments but the advisors seem to cancel a lot. I h... Tue, 11 Feb 2020 06:29:05 GMT StudentsReview 281-185973 281-185973 281 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Neutral The advising is terrible and you really have to take things into your own hands to graduate. they have a really bad Online system where you make appointments but the advisors seem to cancel a lot. I have even gotten forgot about in the waiting room. They simply don't really care about you as a student. I have had multiple problems and have gone to advising for help and have gotten different or wrong Solutions. Tue, 11 Feb 2020 06:29:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about FAU for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html The school doesn't care about their students in the least. During hurricane Dorian they sent us an email saying we can stay at a shelter nearby since they don't have a storm shelter themselves. The on... Sun, 09 Feb 2020 01:26:29 GMT StudentsReview 281-185967 281-185967 281 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Class 1923 1st Year Advice The school doesn't care about their students in the least. During hurricane Dorian they sent us an email saying we can stay at a shelter nearby since they don't have a storm shelter themselves. The only concern they showed in the email was them saying "If you go to a shelter, don't wear FAU gear" because they prioritize pubic image over public safety. There was also a rat infestation in the dining hall and they let us eat there six days after they discovered the rat without fumigating or saying anything. Then they fed us in the food court afterwards but it was all food from the rat infested caf so it didn't make a difference. The courses aren't challenging and customer service sucks. I was also told I'd be paying half of what I did. I'm transferring Sun, 09 Feb 2020 01:26:29 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about FAU for Nursinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html FAU is an amazing school and I am so glad I chose this school! I did have my doubts about coming because my peers in high school viewed FAU on a lower level when compared to the other Florida colleges... Sat, 01 Feb 2020 09:52:29 GMT StudentsReview 281-185943 281-185943 281 30 Nursing Female Undergraduate Class 1923 1st Year Positive FAU is an amazing school and I am so glad I chose this school! I did have my doubts about coming because my peers in high school viewed FAU on a lower level when compared to the other Florida colleges. However FAU made sure I was involved with my major (nursing) within the first semester, can not say the same for my friends attending other Florida colleges. Also, FAU has a brand new tutoring center for the sciences that is my favorite place to study.
As for the social aspect, you can make friends if you become involved. You can join a sorority to be involved, or you can do as I did and make friends in your classes. There are parties here often (Almost every night), so if that is what you want then you can easily access that. However, if that is not for you then you can easily avoid them as well.
FAU has single dorms available for freshman and believe me that was a blessing. I would highly suggest a single. I feel safe walking back to my door at 1:00 in the morning from the library. Overall FAU has impressed me.
Sat, 01 Feb 2020 09:52:29 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about FAU for Linguisticshttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html I loved my Undergraduate experience at FAU. I attended 2011-2016 and it was my first time away from home. Very safe and calm city. The campus is beautiful and dorms were well kept.... Sat, 28 Dec 2019 12:37:25 GMT StudentsReview 281-185875 281-185875 281 68 Linguistics Female Undergraduate Class 2016 4th Year Positive I loved my Undergraduate experience at FAU. I attended 2011-2016 and it was my first time away from home. Very safe and calm city. The campus is beautiful and dorms were well kept. Sat, 28 Dec 2019 12:37:25 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FAU0_comments.html