StudentsReview - The Florida Institute of Technology - Life at FIT Copyright 2018 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html Life at FIT - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about FIT for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html Florida Tech (especially DMES) is a very hands-on university with a lot of focus on applied research. The professors have real-world experience and the curriculum reflects the knowledge one needs in t... Fri, 29 Jan 2016 04:52:44 GMT StudentsReview 283-172542 283-172542 283 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Florida Tech (especially DMES) is a very hands-on university with a lot of focus on applied research. The professors have real-world experience and the curriculum reflects the knowledge one needs in the professional life. The college policies and rules also give one the independence that is required to build maturity (they do not hold you hand) that is needed to succeed in life after college! Overall an excellent school! A+ Fri, 29 Jan 2016 04:52:44 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about FIT for Mechanical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html These people only care about money. They value group opinions instead of hard evidence. They racially discriminate against international students. The irony is that they these posters that are suppose... Wed, 15 Jul 2015 02:45:11 GMT StudentsReview 283-163236 283-163236 283 24 Mechanical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2015 1st Year Negative These people only care about money. They value group opinions instead of hard evidence. They racially discriminate against international students. The irony is that they these posters that are supposed to deter the racial discrimination, where as the Associate Dean of Engineering, the professors and almost everyone up the ladder will discriminate against you, if you are international student. STAY AWAY. Wed, 15 Jul 2015 02:45:11 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about FIT for Physicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html This school is not that great. I deeply regret not going to any of the other schools I got into, including some ivy leagues. The academics are okay, not too challenging, you can slip through the syste... Mon, 13 Jul 2015 12:38:35 GMT StudentsReview 283-163162 283-163162 283 33 Physics Female Undergraduate Class 2016 3rd Year Negative This school is not that great. I deeply regret not going to any of the other schools I got into, including some ivy leagues. The academics are okay, not too challenging, you can slip through the system even if you are not learning much. The facilities are pretty good for a small school. It is hard to find intelligent people, a lot are smart, but very few are intelligent and intellectually stimulating. A lot of the people are also unnecessarily dramatic, immature, and self centered; it was surprising to see the small amount of people that actually cared about world news, the arts, literature, and frankly, anything other than themselves. If you like sciences/engineering but are also interested in an enriching environment then do not go to this school. The arts and humanities are awful, not because of the staff, but because humanities require student participation, and if the students are incapable of profound thought, then the classes suck. Ohh, and they also spend an insane amount of money on ridiculous things (football team, propaganda, etc) instead of on their students and academics. I was not miserable, I made lots of friends, joined a sports team, kept a high GPA, and had the classic college experience, but nevertheless I did miss intellectual stimulation. I love science, and the science at this school is fine, but for a truly well rounded education go somewhere else. I wish someone would have warned me about the lack of intellectual engagement at this campus. Mon, 13 Jul 2015 12:38:35 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about FIT for Electrical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html GRADUATION CLASS OF 1988 FIT was an excellent experience for me. I majored in electrical engineering and left with a bachelors degree. I became a residence assistant and also worked as a security d... Thu, 26 Mar 2015 06:24:14 GMT StudentsReview 283-158794 283-158794 283 16 Electrical Engineering Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive GRADUATION CLASS OF 1988
FIT was an excellent experience for me. I majored in electrical engineering and left with a bachelors degree. I became a residence assistant and also worked as a security dispatcher to help pay the bills. With this degree I started working for a large communications company in Georgia as a design engineer at a starting salary higher than all of my friends (small by today's standards). I felt like I was well prepared for this job. I was competing with engineers from Georgia Tech, Clemson and even MIT. Currently I have been with a medium sized semiconductor company and have progressed nicely up the ranks. Currently I have a small staff working for me including 2 engineers from Columbia and 1 from Cornell. Those three are all about my age.

FIT is like most universities. You get out of it what you put into it. I studied a great deal while there and feel like I had a very good career as a result. Among my accomplishments are 9 patents and 5 company awards for excellence in engineering. I have been the head architect for products that have generated over $10 Bil in revenue (wish I got a cut).

In short, go there. Study a lot! Take advantage of all that there is offered. Stay away from the beach - too much sun isn't good for you! You'll be rewarded.
Thu, 26 Mar 2015 06:24:14 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about FIT for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html If you can comfortably afford this university, by all means; go. If not, you can easily find your degree at a much cheaper price... Thu, 26 Feb 2015 05:23:17 GMT StudentsReview 283-157587 283-157587 283 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Negative If you can comfortably afford this university, by all means; go. If not, you can easily find your degree at a much cheaper price Thu, 26 Feb 2015 05:23:17 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIT_comments.html