StudentsReview - Florida International University - Life at FIU Copyright 2018 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html Life at FIU - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about FIU for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html No one is the same. One professor might be great and the other might be awful, same with students. You've just got to make the best of what you can while you're here. I doubt any university is differe... Wed, 24 Jan 2018 11:48:29 GMT StudentsReview 284-182429 284-182429 284 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Neutral No one is the same. One professor might be great and the other might be awful, same with students. You've just got to make the best of what you can while you're here. I doubt any university is different Wed, 24 Jan 2018 11:48:29 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about FIU for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html It's not worth the money you're just a number even if you have a high GPA they don't care if you need financial help good luck finding a scholarship unless you're in honors college, foreign, or are fi... Wed, 24 Jan 2018 11:24:50 GMT StudentsReview 284-182428 284-182428 284 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 1922 1st Year Negative It's not worth the money you're just a number even if you have a high GPA they don't care if you need financial help good luck finding a scholarship unless you're in honors college, foreign, or are first generation. If you're not bilingual don't waste your time looking for an on-campus job. The students here are not friendly, most professors can care less, and you will at least for one semester get a professor that doesn't speak English well so if you're not great with super heavy accents you'll struggle to understand. My GPA is close to a 4.0. As soon as I have a minute to apply to another university I will be out. Wed, 24 Jan 2018 11:24:50 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about FIU for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html This feels more like a money making business than a school, no one cares and no one helps, you're in it alone. You're just a number, they're more caught up with convincing everyone they're this wonder... Sun, 14 Jan 2018 10:55:53 GMT StudentsReview 284-182354 284-182354 284 54 Communications Female Undergraduate Class 1920 1st Year Negative This feels more like a money making business than a school, no one cares and no one helps, you're in it alone. You're just a number, they're more caught up with convincing everyone they're this wonderful school than they are with actually making it true. I'm transferring ASAP. Sun, 14 Jan 2018 10:55:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about FIU for Mechanical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html FIU was awesome. I got my engineering degree from FIU and I am proud to say that. Are UF, FSU, UM any better? i don't think so. calculus is calculus no matter where you take it, meaning the education ... Sat, 08 Oct 2016 12:43:14 GMT StudentsReview 284-176130 284-176130 284 24 Mechanical Engineering Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Positive FIU was awesome. I got my engineering degree from FIU and I am proud to say that. Are UF, FSU, UM any better? i don't think so. calculus is calculus no matter where you take it, meaning the education is the same.

I read a lot comments here complaining about how classes are difficult, well any class is difficult if you don't put in the time. Many people transfer from a community college and think going to a university will be the same as to a CC, and it is not. You wont get many chances, you may only get 3 exams and call it good, but that is part of life. I'm currently attending MIT, and guess what? it is no different than FIU. People have to study no matter what! again, calculus is calculus whether is taught at FIU or at MIT. In other words, don't blame the school or the teacher.

I also read many people complaining on how people are rude, mean and not friendly, you will find this kind of people everywhere. Yes, some people were not very friendly, but my point has always been, why am i going to school for? to make friends or study? make studying a priority and you will see the difference. Also, in any major city such as Miami, NYC, LA, DC, you will find the same kind of people. Move out to the middle of nowhere, and you will most likely find a little "nicer" people.

Disorganize, maybe, but what department isn't? there is always going to be disorganization. I'm currently attending a top notch school, and guess what? even MIT is disorganize! yes you read that right, disorganize. They use a system call Piazza, and it has been quite challenging. i don't think they ran a beta test before using piazza with a large size of people, and it wasn't very organize. My point is that no matter what school you go to, there is always going to be some sort of disorganization. You just have to do some extra research and be prepared that's all, don't blame the school..i could blame MIT for my lack of sleep trying to figured out this piazza thing, but i don't i just find a different approach and a different way to make it work for me.

Quality of learning, I learned a lot because i wanted to learn. The professors were a hit and miss, some were really good, some not so good, but that never stop me from grabbing a book and finding other methods to learn. Some professor went above and beyond to help me understand the material.

Overall - FIU was a very good school, a young public university who is slowly making its mark in the US. Is not as old and established like FSU or UF, nonetheless the education is no different than the schools mention above.
Sat, 08 Oct 2016 12:43:14 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/FIU_comments.html