StudentsReview - The University of Florida - Life at UFlorida Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html Life at UFlorida - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UFlorida for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html UF will require you to take IUF1000, What is the Good Life? This course is a waste of time and resources and the University should have no academic credibility whatsoever for even offering a course as... Thu, 21 Apr 2016 06:44:10 GMT StudentsReview 304-173348 304-173348 304 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative UF will require you to take IUF1000, What is the Good Life? This course is a waste of time and resources and the University should have no academic credibility whatsoever for even offering a course as asinine as this one, no less requiring it of all undergraduates. Thu, 21 Apr 2016 06:44:10 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UFlorida for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html I was accepted to UF via the PaCE (Pathways to Campus Enrollment) program which did not allow me attend classes on campus until I completed all pre-reqs online or as a transient at another university.... Tue, 12 Apr 2016 04:35:24 GMT StudentsReview 304-173277 304-173277 304 52 Undecided Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Neutral I was accepted to UF via the PaCE (Pathways to Campus Enrollment) program which did not allow me attend classes on campus until I completed all pre-reqs online or as a transient at another university. UF is definitely a conservative, white school. If you're not a "good ol boy" you're never going to be fully accepted. The school has undergone a lot of construction recently and the area is definitely experiencing growing pains. Many of the professors are either distant and unfriendly or very much into social drinking and craft beer. Most of my classmates seem conservative, close minded and narcissistic. I'm seriously considering transferring, but I'm limited to the state of Florida because of Florida Pre-Paid. Tue, 12 Apr 2016 04:35:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UFlorida for Philosophyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html This is a horrible school that did not contribute to my success in any way. In fact, it impeded it. I went to this school thinking it would be a happy medium between leaving Florida altogether or goin... Sat, 12 Mar 2016 06:16:48 GMT StudentsReview 304-173003 304-173003 304 32 Philosophy Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative This is a horrible school that did not contribute to my success in any way. In fact, it impeded it. I went to this school thinking it would be a happy medium between leaving Florida altogether or going to some local university like FAU or UM, neither of which were appropriate choices for me. The financial aid department was unprofessional and skeevy. They made every effort to not be helpful and to not follow up on requests made. The college advisors discouraged students of a certain color from pursuing areas of study that they deemed inappropriate for them or beyond their ability. I know this because I would discuss my situation with other white students, and they did not experience the same treatment. UF has a racist history and a corrupt infrastructure that is focused on catering to the freshman populace and the naive parents who treat college like a summer camp. Deep learning is not encouraged. I majored in philosophy. The department as it stands is crawling with prejudice, elitism and disregard for contrasting points of view. The professors would, again, discourage students of a certain color, usually black, from pursuing philosophy as a career choice, or would give such students poor grades for the same effort as white students. The department was predominantly white and male, with the exception of one Asian male and one white female. The students at that school were ignorant and racist. I would hear racist slurs and comments thrown around on a daily basis, with no consequences given to the students. I developed depression at that time, because of the toxic environment. So, I naturally sought help from the counseling system there. Again, I encountered the same mistreatment. The first thing they wanted to do was numb me with medication instead of helping me with my situation or acknowledging my experiences as valid.

Other grievances:
-Dirty library with loud students who left trash strewn about in study areas. It was also hard to find a seat or space or chair to actually sit down and do work at. It was always packed to capacity because of the inordinate amount of students enrolled and the lack of resources there to accommodate them.
-Poor limited food choices.
-Expensive dormitory areas.
-The almighty football team and the evil Greek system taking precedence over everything else. The Greek system continually pumped out homogenized drones who would ?stick to their own kind?.
-The surrounding area was a dumb and did not have anywhere near "the progessiveness" that the school touted.

I hope that they will be able to shut-down the school and reboot it, with an eye toward improving on the mistakes of their racist history and focusing more on education and the well-being of students instead of "football" and other trivial social rituals that doubt amount to squat in the real world.
Sat, 12 Mar 2016 06:16:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UFlorida for Public Healthhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html I wish that I had picked a different school. UF has too many students, classes are too large, too many TA's teaching and not nearly enough professors, not enough support from advising staff and majori... Wed, 03 Feb 2016 02:29:54 GMT StudentsReview 304-172600 304-172600 304 64 Public Health Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative I wish that I had picked a different school. UF has too many students, classes are too large, too many TA's teaching and not nearly enough professors, not enough support from advising staff and majority of the professors DO NOT CARE ABOUT THE STUDENTS OR EVEN TEACHING for that matter! Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else....unless you are pre-med since Shands Hospital is linked to the school or if you get a sports scholarship. School is also in a high crime area! Wed, 03 Feb 2016 02:29:54 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html StudentsReview: Advice Review about UFlorida for Aerospace Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html UF is a waste of time and money. My advice is take your money and your brain elsewhere.... Mon, 02 Nov 2015 12:13:27 GMT StudentsReview 304-171610 304-171610 304 2 Aerospace Engineering Female Undergraduate Class 2019 3rd Year Advice UF is a waste of time and money. My advice is take your money and your brain elsewhere. Mon, 02 Nov 2015 12:13:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html