StudentsReview - The University of Florida - Life at UFlorida Copyright 2023 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html Life at UFlorida - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about UFlorida for Music - Performancehttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html The University of Florida is absolutely the best university you can attend in Florida. This campus has it all - student diversity, campus activities, a great sports team, outstanding academics, everyt... Tue, 19 May 2020 12:24:19 GMT StudentsReview 304-186340 304-186340 304 26 Music - Performance Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive The University of Florida is absolutely the best university you can attend in Florida. This campus has it all - student diversity, campus activities, a great sports team, outstanding academics, everything. Now, if you really want to make the most out of your experience, try everything that you want to! Be confident in yourself! After all, you're now a Florida Gator and will attend what is practically Florida's Harvard. A public ivy like the University of Florida doesn't leave you unimpressed. Make the most of your college years and you'll be golden. It's great to be a Florida Gator! Tue, 19 May 2020 12:24:19 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UFlorida for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html Friends hire friends, shut up and put up, barely educated grad students teach classes in exchange for tuition, admins and staff answer to nobody. I have even caught instructors changing student exam a... Wed, 24 Apr 2019 07:08:26 GMT StudentsReview 304-184598 304-184598 304 6 Biology Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative Friends hire friends, shut up and put up, barely educated grad students teach classes in exchange for tuition, admins and staff answer to nobody. I have even caught instructors changing student exam answers and scantrons. I now use a pen with pencil on top. Students have no recourse other than superficial exercises meant to appear there is some sort of process. This school is very sinister and corrupt from bottom to top. Don't gamble your future here.

Don't let the new "pre-eminent" status & rabid intenal marketing campaigns fool you, this school should be a private corporation. It is shocking to me when I see & hear repeatedly how much disdain administrators across the board, in every dept have for students. These people truly hate your kids. Students generate revenue, a necessary evil, to keep funds rolling in for other investments like all the private, for profit medical facilities. This are not teaching hospitals. The research labs are not for teaching either - they are marketed to and leased out for profit to private companies. This school uses student tuition profits & government money to build all tgese for profit revenue streams. The campus? It is falling apart.

I made a horrible, horrible mistake in choosing to invest my time & money at this school. USF is run like a private equity company intersted in highest profit, lowest cost. It isn't about "education" at all. Keeping snot nosed, "untrustworthy, brats" running around keeps the "State University" status and grants flowing in. Students are dead last in priority. Where do the profits go?

My guess is that when it makes sense financially, USF will cut the undergrad school portion out, go private & be a wholly for profit institution - built in the backs of students and taxpayer dollars.

In the meantime, good luck finding a parking slot in one of the cracks and sluvers reserved for students, don't pay attention to the bags in the classrooms collecting rainwater on the ceilings, keep walking around, you will eventually find a working toilet or sink, oh... and be sure to use pen.
Wed, 24 Apr 2019 07:08:26 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UFlorida for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html I only had one class to finish in order to complete my degree. The Operating Systems class is so horribly taught that I tried with two different professors and I could not get through it. I would reco... Wed, 27 Mar 2019 12:14:42 GMT StudentsReview 304-184411 304-184411 304 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2019 4th Year Negative I only had one class to finish in order to complete my degree. The Operating Systems class is so horribly taught that I tried with two different professors and I could not get through it. I would recommend to stay away from the CISE dept and degree at UF. Just find another degree and graduate from there and take other classes from another school to get your degree. UF is not that prestigious that any job would look at your graduation from there and be wowed by it. Wed, 27 Mar 2019 12:14:42 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UFlorida for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html The beauracracy is slow and sometimes condescending towards students. Some professors could care less while others are attempting to acelerate learning. The general upkeep of the grounds is something ... Thu, 17 Aug 2017 12:26:31 GMT StudentsReview 304-180799 304-180799 304 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Class 1921 1st Year Neutral The beauracracy is slow and sometimes condescending towards students. Some professors could care less while others are attempting to acelerate learning. The general upkeep of the grounds is something else to be desired despite spotlighted renovations. If you respect some of the past academic achievements and athletic craze (that seems to claim a majority of the budget), this is your school. Thu, 17 Aug 2017 12:26:31 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UFlorida for Mechanical Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html Please, save yourself the time, money, and frustration that that this school will cause you. I didn?t start off as an engineering student, but I knew that I might end up trying it and wanted to go som... Tue, 13 Dec 2016 11:35:30 GMT StudentsReview 304-177385 304-177385 304 24 Mechanical Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Negative Please, save yourself the time, money, and frustration that that this school will cause you. I didn?t start off as an engineering student, but I knew that I might end up trying it and wanted to go somewhere with a good engineering school. This school was the wrong choice? all the professors care about is research. I?d say less than 10% of the professors I?ve had here actually care about the students and teaching. Most of the professors I?ve had so far in engineering courses can barely speak English, let alone teach us literal rocket science. Honestly, all this school cares about is its mediocre football team and research. The quality of instruction here is very low compared to other universities in the state where I have friends that are also doing engineering (UCF, UM, FIU). The MAE (Mechanical and Aerospace) advising department is even worse. The only advisors that actually do their jobs are the Freshman advisors, but once you?re past your freshman year you get a different set of advisors. Nobody is assigned a certain advisor beyond freshman year, so there are 4 advisors to deal with the entire college. I?ve sent emails to advisors and gotten no response on more than one occasion. Keep in mind, I can only speak for the MAE department, but I?d imagine the rest of the Engineering college isn?t much different. So if you?re thinking about coming here for engineering, explore your other options first. If you're thinking about coming here to party and watch football, look nowhere else...
The education isn?t the only thing that sucks about UF? The campus is laid out horribly, tons of wasted space everywhere and all of the buildings where you actually have class are in the Northeastern quadrant. But of course UF doesn?t tell you this until you?re already enrolled. If you don?t live on campus as a freshman, good luck making friends, because the University sure doesn?t encourage you to get involved in extracurriculars. Oh, and there?s not nearly enough on campus housing for all the freshman, so good luck getting a spot to live on campus if that?s what you?re planning to do. The student body here, in general, is a bunch of arrogant, immature, self-absorbed, narcissistic buttheads. I don?t know how else to explain it. Everyone here thinks that they?re the best thing since sliced bread and that this school is so much better than all of the other schools in Florida, when it?s not. Mostly everyone is a frat bro or a sorostitute, all they care about is the greek alphabet, getting trashed on gameday, and being the same as all of their stupid ?brothers? and ?sisters?. I?ve never met a more annoying group of people than the greeks at this school. I?ve been to other schools and it?s not like this at all. Don?t get me wrong, not all greeks are bad and I?m friends with plenty of them, but here, most of them are. This place is basically highschool round 2, cliques everywhere because most of the student body is from either Tampa or Miami and part of greek life.
On top of all of that, as if it could get any worse, Gainesville is a horrible place. The dining options are uninspiring, the traffic is awful, there is absolutely nothing to do around here that isn?t related to the horrendous university, there?s crime all around campus and on campus regularly, the on campus housing is way overpriced for the quality, and the nightlife sucks. Seriously, Midtown is the shittiest collection of bars I have ever seen. They charge cover everywhere pretty much every night, there?s never any good drink specials, and when it?s not so packed that you have to wait in line for an hour, there?s practically nobody there, there?s no in between.
Just go to FSU, you?ll get a better education and have way more fun. Plus, they actually have a football team that?s worth going to see every Saturday unlike our pathetic junk.
Tue, 13 Dec 2016 11:35:30 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/FL/UF_comments.html