StudentsReview - The Savannah College of Art and Design - Life at SCAD/SAD Copyright 2018 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html Life at SCAD/SAD - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about SCAD/SAD for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html I expected to go to SCAD thinking it was my dream school, an art school, somewhere I could finally be with people like me. When in reality it seems more like a state school masquerading as an art scho... Wed, 06 Dec 2017 02:12:29 GMT StudentsReview 342-182169 342-182169 342 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Class 1921 1st Year Negative I expected to go to SCAD thinking it was my dream school, an art school, somewhere I could finally be with people like me. When in reality it seems more like a state school masquerading as an art school. The kids are all snooty, the teachers are full of themselves. And the courseload for the same class is so different for each teacher that I learned the same thing in high school whereas the next person learned so many new things. The food is awful, and the school only cares about money. It came to a point that I was so unhappy and somewhat depressed and my parents called SCAD to see what they could do and they did nothing. Happy I got outta there after a semester! (also beware savannah is boring if you don't have money to spend.) Wed, 06 Dec 2017 02:12:29 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about SCAD/SAD for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html Excellent design school, definitely get the most from the course of study if you are willing to put in the extra work. When presented with a hard working student each professor would dedicate any extr... Wed, 06 Dec 2017 11:32:31 GMT StudentsReview 342-182167 342-182167 342 60 Art & Design Department Male Undergraduate Class 2000 4th Year Positive Excellent design school, definitely get the most from the course of study if you are willing to put in the extra work. When presented with a hard working student each professor would dedicate any extra time necessary to improve that students portfolio, which in our industry is an absolute necessity and is more important than a written resume. My first design job was offered to me explicitly because I came from this school, and I moved up from there. Wed, 06 Dec 2017 11:32:31 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about SCAD/SAD for Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html Scad did little to help my career. They make promises I should not have taken at face value. I wanted to believe them . Keep in mind that Scad is an admissions machine and tuition and bodies in seat... Fri, 20 Oct 2017 12:22:03 GMT StudentsReview 342-181547 342-181547 342 14 Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etc Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative Scad did little to help my career. They make promises I should not have taken at face value. I wanted to believe them . Keep in mind that Scad is an admissions machine and tuition and bodies in seats are their number one priority.
That said I could have gotten better education and industry contacts at a cheaper school in a major metropolitan area.
Fri, 20 Oct 2017 12:22:03 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about SCAD/SAD for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html SCAD is over priced for what it was. I still feel that about 90% of the things I learned were self taught. The things that I did at SCAD, I could of learned at Community college. Of the courses I took... Sun, 23 Jul 2017 07:48:18 GMT StudentsReview 342-180595 342-180595 342 12 Computer Science Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Neutral SCAD is over priced for what it was. I still feel that about 90% of the things I learned were self taught. The things that I did at SCAD, I could of learned at Community college. Of the courses I took that were most helpful in the long run. into to Linux , Algebra, and Basic programming.
Before I came to SCAD I was already doing Graphic design, and non-linear editing , Stop motion ect. What was nice was being able to play with some more expensive equipment. But to be Honest I would of been able to do that for a LOT cheaper if I had gone to a SUNY school in NYS.

Currently I am enrolled in our local community college . Paying CASH, for some Information assurance related classes . Even when I got a job in a "related" field, it was more of a computer tech position. Which is a field I"m now training in. So I MIGHT have a chance to start paying back my Federal loans. After doing 7 years in film in post production only once did I really do anything that I would even remotely consider being something taught to me at SCAD. That's a pretty poor return on a nearly 200K investment.

In retrospect , I wish I had done more networking , note , if you need contacts, I share, I do still have contacts in several places.
I moved to the midwest and started doing Volunteer Firefighting EMS, and run a small farmstead while taking classes to work towards my IA certs , and raise my kids. I still do some boutique studio work , and a lot of Graphic design (not part of my major) , Painting , and a lot of hands on crafts . I have taught myself felting , tanning , and a lot of interesting from scratch skills.But unfortunately non of these really pertain to my major.

I learn more on the job then anywhere else.


If you go, go to play with there equipment , have stories written you want to film, use there facilities . But expect to be exhausted and broke for 4 years. SCAD is NOT helpful in finding you work OR internships post College. I felt rather abandoned.
Sun, 23 Jul 2017 07:48:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html