StudentsReview - The Savannah College of Art and Design - Life at SCAD/SAD Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html Life at SCAD/SAD - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about SCAD/SAD for Interior Designhttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html This was not the school for me. Most kids here are pretty anti-social, and the people who are sociable are very cliquey. My experience was pretty poor here, planning on transferring soon.... Sat, 09 Jan 2016 12:13:49 GMT StudentsReview 342-172349 342-172349 342 71 Interior Design Female Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Negative This was not the school for me. Most kids here are pretty anti-social, and the people who are sociable are very cliquey. My experience was pretty poor here, planning on transferring soon. Sat, 09 Jan 2016 12:13:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about SCAD/SAD for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html I graduated in SCAD in 2015. and have worked as Student Ambassador, Resident Assistant, and Summer Seminar Assistant for SCAD. I must say that SCAD has a lot to offer in terms of resources and facilit... Fri, 05 Jun 2015 06:48:25 GMT StudentsReview 342-162099 342-162099 342 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative I graduated in SCAD in 2015. and have worked as Student Ambassador, Resident Assistant, and Summer Seminar Assistant for SCAD. I must say that SCAD has a lot to offer in terms of resources and facilities, however, I find that for digital media department, a lot of professors need recent industry experience and try to teach students emerging technologies. Also, I would not recommend living on-campus because it is ridiculously expensive and depending on the dorm, you might end up paying for a required meal plan which costs $11 per meal- which is very expensive for what you will get. Also, a hard stool would cost you around $80 to have it replaced if you damage it, and they will try to have you pay ridiculous amount of slight damage you cause to the dorm. I've realized that although certain aspects of SCAD is very nice such as facilities and networking opportunities, I would consider looking at other art schools too before solely investing on SCAD. This might be true for all art schools, but schools are business and like others, SCAD would want your money. Sometimes, I find that they only care for incoming freshman and neglect what current students are suffering. Fri, 05 Jun 2015 06:48:25 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about SCAD/SAD for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html Doesn't worth the money. At all. First of all they lie everybody about the scholarship. First they say that you've received this much as an ANNUAL amount, but once you're in, they cut it to 2/3. SCAM... Sat, 16 May 2015 07:48:29 GMT StudentsReview 342-161615 342-161615 342 60 Art & Design Department Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative Doesn't worth the money. At all.
First of all they lie everybody about the scholarship. First they say that you've received this much as an ANNUAL amount, but once you're in, they cut it to 2/3. SCAM.
Also they'll tell you there are more scholarships once you're in. don't ever count on that. I've been there 2 years, never seen a single soul get more funds than what they offered in the first place.
Secondly, they call themselves "the university of creative careers" while the career adviser may never even see you during your whole time of study (true story- happened to a couple of people) and will never answer your emails and inquiries ( happened to myself, all the time). In some departments even the career adviser herself is a recent graduate student. It doesn't matter if the student/adviser has a lot of connections and is a successful one in her field herself, but unfortunately this is not the case here.
In one sentence, the day you graduate, they kick you out of school, and you are ALL BY YOUR OWN. of course they always want to hear about your success stories to brag about, you know.
And last but not least, Savannah is beautiful and all, but what I was looking for as an student/ job seeker was knowing people in the filed, and making connections. They have a career fair every year, but it's mostly about small local businesses, so if you'r in film/digital media/fashion/writing/sequential arts, it's gonna be a time waster.
All and all, if I had the knowledge I have today, I would never waste my time and money in SCAD, I'd go to a big city, meet real people, and attend a school that really cares about students, and not wants to rip them off, even on the commencement day by trying to sell them $200 mandatory gowns.
Sat, 16 May 2015 07:48:29 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about SCAD/SAD for Perfomance Artshttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html If you told current professors that both your grandparents had been killed. Their response would be, just get your work in on time and do not miss more than the allowed classes or you will fail... Sun, 03 May 2015 10:37:09 GMT StudentsReview 342-160826 342-160826 342 43 Perfomance Arts Female Undergraduate Class 2016 4th Year Negative If you told current professors that both your grandparents had been killed. Their response would be, just get your work in on time and do not miss more than the allowed classes or you will fail Sun, 03 May 2015 10:37:09 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about SCAD/SAD for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html The faculty at this school are completely rude and unhelpful. Giving you dirty looks and insulting you to your face. Also, for a school with many international students, some of the professors are pre... Fri, 01 May 2015 12:48:45 GMT StudentsReview 342-160491 342-160491 342 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Negative The faculty at this school are completely rude and unhelpful. Giving you dirty looks and insulting you to your face. Also, for a school with many international students, some of the professors are prejudice and degrade out of contry students. For a school that charges roughly $50,000 to attend, a lot of the eqequipment and facilities are very poor. Many students get sick off of SCAD's own for since it is so poorly kept, and to eat this disgusting food costs $13 dollars a meal. Everything at this college is way overpriced, sucking the money out of all the students. Once you pay a ton of money to the school, you now get the privilege of buying hundreds of dollars worth of art supplies. And now, the school is telling their students they must have a text book for their classes, which are more hundreds of dollars, and you never even use them. Also, the faculty doesn't care about the safety of their students because when something does happen, they cover it up and don't tell any of the students so they don't hurt their reputation, leaving a random, sensible, honest professor to tell their students what is actually going on. When just getting to know SCAD, and just arriving, they baby you and show you wonderful things and treat you fairly well so you are sucked i,to it and want to attend, especially on SCAD days and parent days, then they really step everything up.Do not attend SCAD. Save your money at a reasonably priced college where you can get fair scholarships and enjoy yourself and not be in deep debt for the rest of your life. Fri, 01 May 2015 12:48:45 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/GA/SCAD_comments.html