StudentsReview - Knox College - Life at Knox Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Life at Knox - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Knox for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html You will either love this college or hate it. There are few neutrals. Visiting is essential. - Small school (means lots of 1-on-1 attention in the classroom, but also means everyone knows everyone'... Fri, 17 Mar 2017 07:27:27 GMT StudentsReview 415-179266 415-179266 415 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative You will either love this college or hate it. There are few neutrals. Visiting is essential.

- Small school (means lots of 1-on-1 attention in the classroom, but also means everyone knows everyone's business).

- Politically *very* liberal school.

- Rural. Gorgeous in the fall! No traffic. Easy parking.

- Lots of people smoking pot.

- Most people vegetarian or vegan. Cafeteria caters to this and has many dishes that are tasty that don't include meat.

- Lots of "unique" characters. If you were kind of weird in high school (or very weird...) you'll fit in well here.

- Professors do care, but you have to self advocate. They do play favorites (which rocks if you're a favorite).

- Security staff are a bunch of really awesome people (there's one power-trippy bad egg, but the rest of the guys are great).

- Be careful about the athletic department director. Especially if you are female.
Fri, 17 Mar 2017 07:27:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Knox for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html My thoughts on Knox College as a sophomore: - While I do enjoy the campus, Kox is starting to go downhill. It is becoming more and more apparent that they care more about money more so than the stu... Fri, 03 Mar 2017 03:09:27 GMT StudentsReview 415-179138 415-179138 415 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Neutral My thoughts on Knox College as a sophomore:

- While I do enjoy the campus, Kox is starting to go downhill. It is becoming more and more apparent that they care more about money more so than the students. The food quality is diminishing and is usually not well prepped. Most students hate the food and have protested about it. In addition, The campus plans on increasing enrollment despite the fact that we do not have room in the dorm buildings, and starting in 2017 students are not permitted to live off campus until their senior year. Tuition is also rapidly increasing.

- Politically, this campus can be a bit annoying. I am an independent, and although I lean more liberal there are times where students will attack those who have different opinions. I also noticed a lot of students tend to parrot whatever their professors or parents say. This is a bit disheartening since Knox claims to be open-minded and tolerant.

-Most of the professors here are decent. I only encountered one bad professor but that's to be expected at any institution. The classes are okay, although there are times where I feel as though students are given busy work.

-When I first came to Knox, Galesburg seemed nice. However, the novelty of the small town feel went away quickly. There is nothing to do around town, and as a minority, there have been times where I have been glared at or snarled at by white people. In addition, crime is high here. Knox likes to say students are safe, however, students have been in armed robberies while ON campus. The campus safety force seems to not respond to situations quickly half of the time and are known for being 20+ minutes late to respond to incidences.

-Relating to the above post, the transportation in town is not good. There is a bus system in town, however, it stops operating at around 5PM and is limited in where it goes. If you plan to go off campus, you do best either taking a cab or bringing a car if you can't find a friend to carpool with.

- With the exception of Alumni Hall and the new art building, Knox College is in serious need of renovation for all the buildings, especially the residence halls. I do not fault Knox too much for this since they do not have a large endowment. The upperclassmen dorm areas are nicer than the freshmen, however, there is still need for serious improvement.

-The social scene at Knox is not the best. Students are very cliquey and treats this school as if it's still high school. The party scene is not the best as well. Most of the frats do not play good music. If you enjoy drugs and alcohol then you may like the party scene, but otherwise you will not enjoy it. Regardless of your age, getting weed and alcohol is almost as easy as buying candy.

-It is very easy to get involved on campus. In addition, it is easy to get a leadership position and/or to start a new organization. There is honestly no excuse for anyone to not be involved on campus in some kind of way.

- Overall, Knox is an okay institution. Like any institution, there is definite room for improvement. Looking back, I wish I would had applied to other liberal arts schools.
Fri, 03 Mar 2017 03:09:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Knox for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Academically speaking, Knox is a place where your success as a student is predicated on the effort that you put in. There are so many resources at your disposal as a student, from peer-to-peer tutorin... Mon, 27 Feb 2017 01:24:16 GMT StudentsReview 415-179064 415-179064 415 17 English Male Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive Academically speaking, Knox is a place where your success as a student is predicated on the effort that you put in. There are so many resources at your disposal as a student, from peer-to-peer tutoring to accessible professors and office hours, and an incredibly helpful Career Center, there's little excuse for not taking advantage of your full tuition money.
Slack on the readings for class? Expect to have a much tougher time getting an 'A'. Put in the work outside of class? Your professors will notice.

More generally, Knox is a place where you can get a great education and discover what you want to do with your life while having a good time as well. The majority of students and faculty don't take themselves too seriously and recognize that students come to college for more than just academics (see: Flunk Day).
Mon, 27 Feb 2017 01:24:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Knox for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Even though Knox College is a small school, it provides big opportunities and an advanced education.... Mon, 27 Feb 2017 12:49:56 GMT StudentsReview 415-179062 415-179062 415 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2019 1st Year Positive Even though Knox College is a small school, it provides big opportunities and an advanced education. Mon, 27 Feb 2017 12:49:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about Knox for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Knox is an amazing place. It is not for everyone, but for the people who call it home, it IS home. I'm a Creative Writing major, and the English department is just absolutely beyond belief. The profes... Thu, 09 Feb 2017 05:39:07 GMT StudentsReview 415-178668 415-178668 415 17 English Female Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive Knox is an amazing place. It is not for everyone, but for the people who call it home, it IS home. I'm a Creative Writing major, and the English department is just absolutely beyond belief. The professors are incredible, intelligent, engaging, and so helpful and kind. They really care about your well-being and your growth as a student. I love it here. Sometimes I do wish I went to a bigger school, but Knox really has more to offer than any larger school could. You have a lot of individual attention and access to a lot of things that become competitive when at a larger school. Things are also cheaper in Galesburg, which is a plus. Thu, 09 Feb 2017 05:39:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html