StudentsReview - Knox College - Life at Knox Copyright 2017 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Life at Knox - Comments en StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Knox for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Knox has a fantastic schedule. It's a trimester system, where you take three classes at a time during three ten-week terms. There is a long winter break where you are home for both Thanksgiving and Ch... Tue, 23 May 2017 07:54:47 GMT StudentsReview 415-179983 415-179983 415 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 1920 1st Year Neutral Knox has a fantastic schedule. It's a trimester system, where you take three classes at a time during three ten-week terms. There is a long winter break where you are home for both Thanksgiving and Christmas (you don't go back to school in between), and there is no homework given over break.

Knox has taught me how to be more aware of social issues in society and to push myself to accept more people. It is certainly very liberal, but not in an absolutely obnoxious sort of way. That being said though, people can be very closed-minded to conservative views.

I love Knox's diversity. I have friends from all over the world, and have had the opportunity to meet people who have had much different lives from my own prior to Knox.

Knox professors are great. They really do care, and they are pretty fair about not giving absolutely unmanageable assignments. It definitely seems to be more about learning than about grades.

To potential art majors, Knox's art program is focused on abstract modern art. If that's your thing, great. For me, I was not a fan. Also, science resources are lacking. However, if you are interested in social studies, creative writing, international studies, or psychology, there are good resources.

There is a huge divide between athletes and non-athletes, and the social life tends to have many small, close-knit groups (teams, greek life, clubs, etc. seem to form the social groups). There are parties often at fraternities or (unregistered) parties in apartments and dorms, but you should get drunk if you want to have fun at them.

Knox has many things that you can get involved with, and many events on campus. However, often times these things tend to feel sparse and frumpy. Like, you'll go to gathering or something expecting there to be a bunch of people dancing, and you get there and it's 6 people trying diligently to have fun half-dancing to some mediocre music.

Another thing, which might not seem like a big thing, but it ended up having quite an effect on me, is that campus feels dead. There is a low population density, and in between classes, you might not even see anyone outside.

Overall, I appreciate my year at Knox. I have personally found that I want a bigger school and will be transferring, but many people have wonderful experiences at Knox.
Tue, 23 May 2017 07:54:47 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Knox for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Knox is a great school with opportunities available at every location. The professors are helpful and are willing to put in time and energy in assisting the students with their course load. The campus... Tue, 09 May 2017 03:11:48 GMT StudentsReview 415-179768 415-179768 415 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Neutral Knox is a great school with opportunities available at every location. The professors are helpful and are willing to put in time and energy in assisting the students with their course load. The campus is gorgeous and exciting due to the history involved. The student body is hyper active through playing sports, attending club meets, and organizing events. The course load can be challenging however, there are tons of resources for students. Overall Knox is a great school and a bang for your buck! Tue, 09 May 2017 03:11:48 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Knox for Psychologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html You will either love this college or hate it. There are few neutrals. Visiting is essential. - Small school (means lots of 1-on-1 attention in the classroom, but also means everyone knows everyone'... Fri, 17 Mar 2017 07:27:27 GMT StudentsReview 415-179266 415-179266 415 38 Psychology Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative You will either love this college or hate it. There are few neutrals. Visiting is essential.

- Small school (means lots of 1-on-1 attention in the classroom, but also means everyone knows everyone's business).

- Politically *very* liberal school.

- Rural. Gorgeous in the fall! No traffic. Easy parking.

- Lots of people smoking pot.

- Most people vegetarian or vegan. Cafeteria caters to this and has many dishes that are tasty that don't include meat.

- Lots of "unique" characters. If you were kind of weird in high school (or very weird...) you'll fit in well here.

- Professors do care, but you have to self advocate. They do play favorites (which rocks if you're a favorite).

- Security staff are a bunch of really awesome people (there's one power-trippy bad egg, but the rest of the guys are great).

- Be careful about the athletic department director. Especially if you are female.
Fri, 17 Mar 2017 07:27:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Knox for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html My thoughts on Knox College as a sophomore: - While I do enjoy the campus, Kox is starting to go downhill. It is becoming more and more apparent that they care more about money more so than the stu... Fri, 03 Mar 2017 03:09:27 GMT StudentsReview 415-179138 415-179138 415 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Neutral My thoughts on Knox College as a sophomore:

- While I do enjoy the campus, Kox is starting to go downhill. It is becoming more and more apparent that they care more about money more so than the students. The food quality is diminishing and is usually not well prepped. Most students hate the food and have protested about it. In addition, The campus plans on increasing enrollment despite the fact that we do not have room in the dorm buildings, and starting in 2017 students are not permitted to live off campus until their senior year. Tuition is also rapidly increasing.

- Politically, this campus can be a bit annoying. I am an independent, and although I lean more liberal there are times where students will attack those who have different opinions. I also noticed a lot of students tend to parrot whatever their professors or parents say. This is a bit disheartening since Knox claims to be open-minded and tolerant.

-Most of the professors here are decent. I only encountered one bad professor but that's to be expected at any institution. The classes are okay, although there are times where I feel as though students are given busy work.

-When I first came to Knox, Galesburg seemed nice. However, the novelty of the small town feel went away quickly. There is nothing to do around town, and as a minority, there have been times where I have been glared at or snarled at by white people. In addition, crime is high here. Knox likes to say students are safe, however, students have been in armed robberies while ON campus. The campus safety force seems to not respond to situations quickly half of the time and are known for being 20+ minutes late to respond to incidences.

-Relating to the above post, the transportation in town is not good. There is a bus system in town, however, it stops operating at around 5PM and is limited in where it goes. If you plan to go off campus, you do best either taking a cab or bringing a car if you can't find a friend to carpool with.

- With the exception of Alumni Hall and the new art building, Knox College is in serious need of renovation for all the buildings, especially the residence halls. I do not fault Knox too much for this since they do not have a large endowment. The upperclassmen dorm areas are nicer than the freshmen, however, there is still need for serious improvement.

-The social scene at Knox is not the best. Students are very cliquey and treats this school as if it's still high school. The party scene is not the best as well. Most of the frats do not play good music. If you enjoy drugs and alcohol then you may like the party scene, but otherwise you will not enjoy it. Regardless of your age, getting weed and alcohol is almost as easy as buying candy.

-It is very easy to get involved on campus. In addition, it is easy to get a leadership position and/or to start a new organization. There is honestly no excuse for anyone to not be involved on campus in some kind of way.

- Overall, Knox is an okay institution. Like any institution, there is definite room for improvement. Looking back, I wish I would had applied to other liberal arts schools.
Fri, 03 Mar 2017 03:09:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Knox for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html Academically speaking, Knox is a place where your success as a student is predicated on the effort that you put in. There are so many resources at your disposal as a student, from peer-to-peer tutorin... Mon, 27 Feb 2017 01:24:16 GMT StudentsReview 415-179064 415-179064 415 17 English Male Undergraduate Class 2018 2nd Year Positive Academically speaking, Knox is a place where your success as a student is predicated on the effort that you put in. There are so many resources at your disposal as a student, from peer-to-peer tutoring to accessible professors and office hours, and an incredibly helpful Career Center, there's little excuse for not taking advantage of your full tuition money.
Slack on the readings for class? Expect to have a much tougher time getting an 'A'. Put in the work outside of class? Your professors will notice.

More generally, Knox is a place where you can get a great education and discover what you want to do with your life while having a good time as well. The majority of students and faculty don't take themselves too seriously and recognize that students come to college for more than just academics (see: Flunk Day).
Mon, 27 Feb 2017 01:24:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/KC_comments.html