StudentsReview - The University of Alabama - Life at UAlabama Copyright 2018 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html Life at UAlabama - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UAlabama for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html A school which cares more about it's football program than it's students. I have not had a single professor in my department who actually cares about the students or their professional goals. Comp... Tue, 21 Nov 2017 12:11:06 GMT StudentsReview 42-182023 42-182023 42 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2018 4th Year Negative A school which cares more about it's football program than it's students. I have not had a single professor in my department who actually cares about the students or their professional goals.

Computer science professors are standoffish and see teaching as a burden they have to do. I have had multiple teachers refuse to help me, and many others who dodge questions and dance around the issues instead of thinking to help me out.

One professor actually failed an ENTIRE class one year. did he get reprimanded? Nope. He gives unfair lectures and anytime you go to his office hours he seems noticeably bothered that you are there.

The University doesn't care about the Computer Science department either. We started off with a building and a Computer Science lounge for students. Over the course of the last few years, we have everything. We are now stuck in the middle of a Chemistry building, and as nomads that have to travel far distances for each class. The advisers we have don't know a thing about Computer Science, and there isn't much help from the faculty regarding really anything.
Tue, 21 Nov 2017 12:11:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UAlabama for Undecidedhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html The staff at UA are absolutely clueless. They seem to be undereducated local Alabama people. No one knows what the HELL is going on and they are not clear about academic policies or transfer policie... Tue, 05 Apr 2016 05:09:41 GMT StudentsReview 42-173197 42-173197 42 52 Undecided Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative The staff at UA are absolutely clueless. They seem to be undereducated local Alabama people. No one knows what the HELL is going on and they are not clear about academic policies or transfer policies. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE! I will stay at my NORTHERN SCHOOL, where people can find their way out of a paper bag. LOL. Tue, 05 Apr 2016 05:09:41 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UAlabama for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html This school can create strong opinions. I fall into the strongly positive side. Great experience with my major and social life. I met my wife there. Got into a solid graduate school after my time at B... Sun, 31 Jan 2016 02:51:06 GMT StudentsReview 42-172562 42-172562 42 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Class 2013 5th Year Positive This school can create strong opinions. I fall into the strongly positive side. Great experience with my major and social life. I met my wife there. Got into a solid graduate school after my time at Bama. If you don't like football, this isn't your school. If you want a small liberal arts education, go elsewhere. This place is big, getting bigger and you can get lost in the shuffle. It is Greek oriented. But you can have a good time without Greek life. You have to work a little harder to find it. Alabama is different from the Northeast. I wouldn't trade my time at Bama for anything. But be prepared to work hard to have a good scholastic and social life. Sun, 31 Jan 2016 02:51:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UAlabama for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html From a first glance the campus looks pretty nice, most of the buildings have been updated and renovated. The quad is nice with many old, big trees and other aesthetically pleasing landscape. The more ... Mon, 11 Jan 2016 05:23:05 GMT StudentsReview 42-172373 42-172373 42 54 Communications Male Undergraduate Class 2017 4th Year Negative From a first glance the campus looks pretty nice, most of the buildings have been updated and renovated. The quad is nice with many old, big trees and other aesthetically pleasing landscape. The more time i spent on the campus, the more obvious the issues became. I would first like to say that the campus is essentially "run" by greek life. Coming from out of state, this seemed like the best thing to meet new people and get involved, which it did. After being involved with this organization for two years, I began to realize just how backwards this campus is. As much as they would like to disagree, in my opinion, the greek system here just creates a greater divide between the student population, to the point of putting down those who aren't involved. This leads to a great deal of conformity and and puts down individuality. They say that they strive to make you and the community better through philanthropy and other means. While it is true some have made an impact, mine included, this is not normally the case. As for academics, I understand my major isn't the most difficult, but I also changed it several times. I would like to see the college offer a wider range of majors and minors. Recently they have began to address this and created the "new college". This gives students the opportunity to create their own major. As this progresses this could help to alleviate some of those previous issues. From my experience with advisors, some were very accessible and willing to help, while others seemed almost annoyed and unwilling to advise, as well as even give false information. As for campus safety, the immediate campus itself is fairly safe. There are many phones positioned throughout campus with a direct line to the local police department should any issue arise. However when leaving campus, this becomes a more unsafe environment. The school sends out an email to all students alerting them when issues such as robberies occur. Sad to say the past year or so these notifications have become much more frequent. Mon, 11 Jan 2016 05:23:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UAlabama for Political Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html I am an out of state student from NYC. UA gave my a huge scholarship and at first I was hesitant to go to school in the deep south but I love it. The campus is amazing and the people are so friendly.... Fri, 04 Dec 2015 08:27:00 GMT StudentsReview 42-171931 42-171931 42 58 Political Science Male Undergraduate Class 2017 3rd Year Positive I am an out of state student from NYC. UA gave my a huge scholarship and at first I was hesitant to go to school in the deep south but I love it. The campus is amazing and the people are so friendly. Fri, 04 Dec 2015 08:27:00 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html