StudentsReview - The University of Alabama - Life at UAlabama Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html Life at UAlabama - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UAlabama for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html There is one professor in particular who provided a negative experience--Prof. Richard Borie. He was the only professor teaching certain major-required courses. He was unapproachable for help, a hard ... Wed, 13 May 2015 11:54:06 GMT StudentsReview 42-161501 42-161501 42 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative There is one professor in particular who provided a negative experience--Prof. Richard Borie. He was the only professor teaching certain major-required courses. He was unapproachable for help, a hard grader, gave really hard exams suitable more for graduate student-level work and was the reason I ended up with a lower than expected GPA. The Borie courses were combined grad/undergraduate courses, but the course work was not leveled. Everyone took the same tests and the curve was based on graduate and undergraduate performance. I felt the expectations for success were unrealistic. I was constantly struggling in Borie's class due to the lack of help or additional explanation when I asked for it. The department should look for a replacement for him. Wed, 13 May 2015 11:54:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UAlabama for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html This place is awful, do not expect any faculty or staff to help you with ANYTHING. The people here will hate you unless you are actively part of a fraternity or sorority. When signing up for classes t... Tue, 02 Dec 2014 02:48:59 GMT StudentsReview 42-154544 42-154544 42 53 Other Male Undergraduate Class 2000 Negative This place is awful, do not expect any faculty or staff to help you with ANYTHING. The people here will hate you unless you are actively part of a fraternity or sorority. When signing up for classes they don't tell you that most classes are online. NOT worth the $40k+ that out of state students pay. Ive wanted to come here since I left the womb, Ive been here for one semester and I cant get out fast enough. The University covers up things like shooting threats and daily robberies. Do not make the mistake of coming here.


P.S. the wifi is out every 10 minutes.
Tue, 02 Dec 2014 02:48:59 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UAlabama for Communicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html I am a freshman at the University of Alabama and I honestly do not like it at all. People here are very self-absorbed and rude. Most of the girls are complete brats who only care about going to partie... Mon, 03 Nov 2014 08:10:49 GMT StudentsReview 42-152686 42-152686 42 54 Communications Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Negative I am a freshman at the University of Alabama and I honestly do not like it at all. People here are very self-absorbed and rude. Most of the girls are complete brats who only care about going to parties EVERY NIGHT. If you don't dress "like them" with long T-shirts that cover your shorts, you will most likely be judged. Also if you are not wearing designer clothes/shoes/accessories, you're probably seen as "poor". If you are not from the Alabama or the South, I would highly recommend reconsidering this school. Especially if you are not planning on joining a Fraternity or Sorority.

One of my friends was rushing for a certain Sorority and when they walked in they had to take off their shoes and an active member of the sorority came around and checked to see who was wearing designer shoes and who wasn't...
They are complete brats who care only about themselves and their image. I wouldn't be surprised if the whole greek system flunks out.

The culture shock is tremendous. Everything in the "deep south" is different than any other state. I am from Chicago so the culture here is not something I like. I'll just say it is very different in every aspect, (how people dress, act, talk, carry themselves). It is just not something I like. There really is no "southern hospitality" on this campus. People down here call Chicago a "war zone" but in reality people from Chicago or anywhere in the Midwest are a heck of a lot nicer than anyone on this campus.

Lastly, there is absolutely nothing to do on this campus except party. Don't get me wrong I am a big partier but I don't want to go out every single night because it gets old really fast.. The Strip is super boring and quite scary at night. There are a lot of weirdos driving around it looking for drunk college girls coming out of the bars late at night.
Mon, 03 Nov 2014 08:10:49 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UAlabama for Telecommunicationshttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html Avoid this place like the plague. One of my biggest regrets in life. Love the campus and the communications program but the people here are some of the worst people on the planet. If your goal in life... Sat, 13 Sep 2014 10:45:03 GMT StudentsReview 42-129663 42-129663 42 78 Telecommunications Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Negative Avoid this place like the plague. One of my biggest regrets in life. Love the campus and the communications program but the people here are some of the worst people on the planet. If your goal in life is to join a sorority of fraternity then this is the place for you but you probably won't graduate so don't bother spending mommy and daddy's money. Sat, 13 Sep 2014 10:45:03 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UAlabama for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html If u want to learn something really useful, this school is not your choice. If u just want to waste time here for some Greek life with the sothern farmer it is ur place.... Sat, 12 Apr 2014 04:02:03 GMT StudentsReview 42-105876 42-105876 42 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Class 2016 2nd Year Neutral If u want to learn something really useful, this school is not your choice. If u just want to waste time here for some Greek life with the sothern farmer it is ur place. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 04:02:03 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/AL/UAT_comments.html