StudentsReview - The University of Chicago - Life at UChttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html Life at UC - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UC for Language - French/Spanish/etc.http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html I went to the U. of C. many years ago, and although my academic experience was good, I wouldn't go there again if I were making the choice today. Chicago was a rather depressing place to be--more lik... Mon, 23 Feb 2015 02:20:05 GMT StudentsReview 442-157511 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-157511 442 22 Language - French/Spanish/etc. Female Undergraduate Class 1975 4th Year Negative I went to the U. of C. many years ago, and although my academic experience was good, I wouldn't go there again if I were making the choice today. Chicago was a rather depressing place to be--more like a graduate school than a college. Although there definitely were activities students could participate in, as well as informal parties/get-togethers, I do think there's truth to the perception that the U. of C. is where fun goes to die. Overall, my experience there was not fun, though I liked my department a lot and made good friends while there. The weather is terrible, the skies are often gray/overcast, and I really did feel like I was sort of stuck there for four years. If the "life of the mind" is all you really care about, you'll probably like Chicago, but if you want to have fun too and a more "well-rounded" college experience in a location with more sunny days (and happier students), go elsewhere. There were a lot of unhappy students at Chicago when I attended?I certainly wasn't the only one biding my time and counting the days till I could leave. I got a great education, though--no regrets really there, though in my day there wasn't much in the way of career counseling/planning. Mon, 23 Feb 2015 02:20:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UC for Social Workhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html I regret attending a snobby university.... Fri, 28 Nov 2014 01:53:47 GMT StudentsReview 442-154333 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-154333 442 66 Social Work Female Undergraduate Alumna Class 2000 Negative I regret attending a snobby university. Fri, 28 Nov 2014 01:53:47 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UC for PreMed and Medicalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html it's been many years since I've attended U of C, but I don't really miss it. at all. the school is directly responsible for my last six going on seven years of extremely poor health, most likely tri... Wed, 02 Jul 2014 06:30:21 GMT StudentsReview 442-112714 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-112714 442 36 PreMed and Medical Female Undergraduate Class 2011 1st Year Negative it's been many years since I've attended U of C, but I don't really miss it. at all. the school is directly responsible for my last six going on seven years of extremely poor health, most likely triggered by exposure to toxic mold in the dilapidating dorm building I was assigned to.

my memory is poor from chronic encephalitis, but I'll go over my remaining impressions:

-- there was never enough time to study. we had to take busses back and forth from campus, and then back and forth for dinner. sometimes the buses didn't show up. sometimes there was no dinner. waiting for buses and then walking and then having nothing to eat at the end of it all meant that I lost a lot of sleep, also a lot of meals.

-- the workload was ridiculous. we all quit doing the required reading eventually. I quit showing up for lectures as it was such a waste of time, time I could have spent studying. having mastered the art of maximizing grades while minimizing effort, I applied this skill to all my subsequent universities, w/ the result that all my professors are now convinced I'm a lazy bum with no interest in the course material (they may be half right). in the attempt to instill a work ethic, uchicago killed mine.

-- I got a better education at community college. when severe neurological problems precluded any course of serious study, took up a math degree at my local cc. this was over 9000 times better as there wasn't anything else required of me outside showing up for exams three or four times a semester, and acing them. there, I realized the joys of "paul's math notes", also adequate instruction.

-- the students have a problem with eye contact, also with not being terrible people. I used to think everyone hated me, but then, when I left, my ex-roomie informed me that they all loved me. I would never have guessed from the way I could never get anyone to acknowledge my presence when we passed on the way to class. also cliqueyness endemic to teenagers, and people who attend "elite" schools.

-- some people actually attended high schools which taught you things, besides jesus. unfortunately, we are also expected to compete with them at a curve set at a B-. undoubtedly this was meant to make us harder workers, but rather the result was harder drugs.

and yet I hear chicago calling my name again, probably because they offer proper financial aid. the question is, do I hate myself enough? I'm not sure that I do.
Wed, 02 Jul 2014 06:30:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about UC for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html One of the most academically challenging universities in the world. If you don't have a passion for learning go elsewhere.... Sat, 28 Dec 2013 04:15:06 GMT StudentsReview 442-99264 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-99264 442 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive One of the most academically challenging universities in the world. If you don't have a passion for learning go elsewhere. Sat, 28 Dec 2013 04:15:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UC for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html In order to really understand the University of Chicago, you need to spend a weekend on campus with college students.... Sat, 14 Dec 2013 06:23:02 GMT StudentsReview 442-98444 Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-98444 442 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Neutral In order to really understand the University of Chicago, you need to spend a weekend on campus with college students. Sat, 14 Dec 2013 06:23:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html