StudentsReview - The University of Chicago - Life at UChttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html Life at UC - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UC for PreMed and Medicalhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html it's been many years since I've attended U of C, but I don't really miss it. at all. the school is directly responsible for my last six going on seven years of extremely poor health, most likely tri... Wed, 02 Jul 2014 05:30:21 GMT StudentsReview 442-112714 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-112714 442 36 PreMed and Medical Female Undergraduate Class 2011 1st Year Negative it's been many years since I've attended U of C, but I don't really miss it. at all. the school is directly responsible for my last six going on seven years of extremely poor health, most likely triggered by exposure to toxic mold in the dilapidating dorm building I was assigned to.

my memory is poor from chronic encephalitis, but I'll go over my remaining impressions:

-- there was never enough time to study. we had to take busses back and forth from campus, and then back and forth for dinner. sometimes the buses didn't show up. sometimes there was no dinner. waiting for buses and then walking and then having nothing to eat at the end of it all meant that I lost a lot of sleep, also a lot of meals.

-- the workload was ridiculous. we all quit doing the required reading eventually. I quit showing up for lectures as it was such a waste of time, time I could have spent studying. having mastered the art of maximizing grades while minimizing effort, I applied this skill to all my subsequent universities, w/ the result that all my professors are now convinced I'm a lazy bum with no interest in the course material (they may be half right). in the attempt to instill a work ethic, uchicago killed mine.

-- I got a better education at community college. when severe neurological problems precluded any course of serious study, took up a math degree at my local cc. this was over 9000 times better as there wasn't anything else required of me outside showing up for exams three or four times a semester, and acing them. there, I realized the joys of "paul's math notes", also adequate instruction.

-- the students have a problem with eye contact, also with not being terrible people. I used to think everyone hated me, but then, when I left, my ex-roomie informed me that they all loved me. I would never have guessed from the way I could never get anyone to acknowledge my presence when we passed on the way to class. also cliqueyness endemic to teenagers, and people who attend "elite" schools.

-- some people actually attended high schools which taught you things, besides jesus. unfortunately, we are also expected to compete with them at a curve set at a B-. undoubtedly this was meant to make us harder workers, but rather the result was harder drugs.

and yet I hear chicago calling my name again, probably because they offer proper financial aid. the question is, do I hate myself enough? I'm not sure that I do.
Wed, 02 Jul 2014 05:30:21 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about UC for Economicshttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html One of the most academically challenging universities in the world. If you don't have a passion for learning go elsewhere.... Sat, 28 Dec 2013 03:15:06 GMT StudentsReview 442-99264 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-99264 442 57 Economics Female Undergraduate Class 2017 1st Year Positive One of the most academically challenging universities in the world. If you don't have a passion for learning go elsewhere. Sat, 28 Dec 2013 03:15:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UC for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html In order to really understand the University of Chicago, you need to spend a weekend on campus with college students.... Sat, 14 Dec 2013 05:23:02 GMT StudentsReview 442-98444 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-98444 442 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2013 4th Year Neutral In order to really understand the University of Chicago, you need to spend a weekend on campus with college students. Sat, 14 Dec 2013 05:23:02 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UC for Religion/Religioushttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html I had a fantastic experience at the U of C--I met a lot of amazing people, and thought that the academics were stellar. I really thrived from the opportunity to take small seminar classes from top ac... Mon, 13 Aug 2012 07:27:33 GMT StudentsReview 442-88862 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-88862 442 39 Religion/Religious Male Undergraduate Class 2012 4th Year Positive I had a fantastic experience at the U of C--I met a lot of amazing people, and thought that the academics were stellar. I really thrived from the opportunity to take small seminar classes from top academics. It's a place for big thinkers, not close-minded vocational climbers. Insights come not only in class, but also at the house table or with friends from student organizations.

Despite the University's famously non-practical approach to academics, my time here taught me to think, and that's something that both grad schools and companies respect. With my humanities degree, I had a (management) job offer for a great company, making much more money than I deserved, and also a full scholarship offer from a top graduate school in my field. As long as you excel academically and in RSO involvement, you can easily be a top prospect for recruiters or grad schools.
Mon, 13 Aug 2012 07:27:33 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UC for Anthropologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html Literally the place where fun goes to die. I hate this place with all my heart. If I could do it all over again I would rather go to Kansas State University than Chicago. They are trying to conn stude... Tue, 15 May 2012 09:38:34 GMT StudentsReview 442-87361 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 442-87361 442 42 Anthropology Male Undergraduate Class 2013 3rd Year Negative Literally the place where fun goes to die. I hate this place with all my heart. If I could do it all over again I would rather go to Kansas State University than Chicago. They are trying to conn students into attending by artificially manipulating yield using protectionist strategies. If you want to preserve your sanity steer clear of this hell hole. I tried to transfer to a more fun place like Penn or Duke, but was unfortunately unsuccessful. This school is a waste of money. Students are arrogant and frankly even slightly racist. Tue, 15 May 2012 09:38:34 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UC_comments.html