StudentsReview - The University of Illinois - Chicago - Life at UIC/UIllinois-Chicago Copyright 2019 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html Life at UIC/UIllinois-Chicago - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about UIC/UIllinois-Chicago for Accountinghttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html UIC is underrated especially its business school. UIC has provided me an abundance of resources in my pursuit to obtaining my B.S. in Accounting. Just like any other university, it comes down to how m... Sun, 01 Apr 2018 03:17:38 GMT StudentsReview 444-182977 444-182977 444 1 Accounting Male Undergraduate Class 1920 2nd Year Positive UIC is underrated especially its business school. UIC has provided me an abundance of resources in my pursuit to obtaining my B.S. in Accounting. Just like any other university, it comes down to how much work you put in as an individual. At a school like UIC, as long as you maintain good grades (at least a 3.3 GPA), you will be able to land an internship at a large public accounting firm. Overall, its better to be an outstanding student at a normal university, rather than an average student at an exceptional university. Sun, 01 Apr 2018 03:17:38 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIC/UIllinois-Chicago for Anthropologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html For the class of 2006, UIC's Anthropology department was undergoing significant changes and students felt the brunt of it through limited personal and poor career advising. This was a program which wa... Mon, 17 Jul 2017 02:31:18 GMT StudentsReview 444-180539 444-180539 444 42 Anthropology Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative For the class of 2006, UIC's Anthropology department was undergoing significant changes and students felt the brunt of it through limited personal and poor career advising. This was a program which was moving away from theory and applied anthropology to archaeology and medical anthropology. My class was during the archaeology and medical anthropology times and it was under an administration facing annual state budget crises while trying to invest in many young faculty. Let me list key issues with the program in my time which may help you understand us and our frustrations and why many of us do not get involved as alumni.

As a small program in a large university, there is potential for personal attention and individualized mentoring. Despite my best efforts, none of that happened for me but it may have happened for others.

The Field Museum relationship program was a benefit for graduate students and not for undergraduates except for maybe five quietly chosen students per class year. Field Museum faculty primarily taught upper-level courses which were for either graduating undergraduates or graduate students. There was no networking at that point for students about to graduate. Also, most undergrads assumed that the program was a back-door to Field Museum work. No. Most Field Museum docents are retired volunteers who can commit to more than two years of work and last-minute scheduling changes during the week days. Most UIC students do not fit that expectation. The average UIC undergrad did not get fast-tracked to a paid (or even volunteer) research assistant position. Museum faculty were mostly unavailable to undergrads.

Most undergraduates should seek internships related to the job they want after graduation. This program did not provide that. A few students took loans to pay for fieldwork trips during the summers. This was not financially possible for most students. The result? Many students would have to leave Anthropology to find a job after graduation. This should be emphasized in all faculty interactions with students.

Undergrads were kept in the dark about most apartment events with very few exceptions. Each class had a few students who quietly won the two (then unadvertised) department scholarships, worked with Museum faculty as paid interns, and went on annual field site projects in ethnography or archaeology. Most undergrads took lecture courses and worked off-campus to pay for groceries while taking growing loans. To learn that there were unadvertised scholarships and that some students had multiple paid fieldwork experiences left multiple students feeling betrayed and bitter.

Take a look at who wins department awards. There could have been a strategy to invest limited department resources into a select few rather than the whole lot.

The arguable lack of significant anthropology career advising was more than disappointing--it was negligent. LAS advisors reasonably seemed to have had little idea about anthropology career guidance and they provided little help, as one would have expected. However, as a department student it was tempting to conclude that the multiple Anthropology undergraduate advisors treated the job as a service to their colleagues rather than to their students. It often seemed that the undergrad advisors were largely hands-off and the saying "I'm not going to hold your hand" was commonly used or expressed to alleviate personal responsibility for students unsure of what to do.

As a result, it was not unusual to meet double majors who found employment related to their second (not Anthropology) major. Many students entered careers in medicine or public health. A few students continued in Anthropology and became contract archaeologists, adjuncts, or professors. It's possible that things have improved since 2006.
Mon, 17 Jul 2017 02:31:18 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about UIC/UIllinois-Chicago for Educationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html My experience with UIC has been alright but more negative than positive. I would say the best part of these past couple of years has been the academics because I've had some very good professors. Howe... Sat, 11 Mar 2017 01:11:33 GMT StudentsReview 444-179197 444-179197 444 15 Education Female Undergraduate Class 2018 3rd Year Neutral My experience with UIC has been alright but more negative than positive. I would say the best part of these past couple of years has been the academics because I've had some very good professors. However, the problems come in with the faculty in charge of the department I am in. The advisers did not seem to care for their students. I was misinformed about what classes I should take and hardly got help in planning out my curriculum. Besides that, the faculty in the college of education does not seem to care for their students at all. I've never felt any compassion or helpfulness from them. Besides the academic prospect, I also did not get much out of the social aspect in coming to this school. I have met a good amount of people but it's a commuter school so everyone is very self-absorbed and does not make the effort to keep their social relationships going. Sat, 11 Mar 2017 01:11:33 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIC/UIllinois-Chicago for Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etchttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html The graphic design program is very new to UIC and quite frankly it should have been kept in the oven a little longer. The Art, Architecture, and Design building was supposed to be completely done with... Tue, 17 Mar 2015 02:28:27 GMT StudentsReview 444-158353 444-158353 444 14 Design Arts - Industrial Design/Graphic Design/etc Female Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Negative The graphic design program is very new to UIC and quite frankly it should have been kept in the oven a little longer. The Art, Architecture, and Design building was supposed to be completely done with renovations before the first design students came in, but that simply was not the case. Often times you will hear construction through the thin walls while in Class. The building has misleading winding stair areas (some leading to nowhere.) I was hoping we would have computer labs seeing as how it is a computer oriented major but instead we have to bring our laptops in every day and hope there is a power chord available. With the amount we spend on our lab fees, we should have free printing instead of off brand moleskine notebooks. We see the same exact teachers every semester and if you really don't like one, oh fucking well. Registering for classes is a nightmare for this major, we cannot choose which instructor we prefer nor can we choose proper class times to work with our work schedule ( I personally want more 9am classes so I can work in the same day to help pay for school.) the lack of lockers In this building is very upsetting to those who commute to school. Often times you will be expected to come into class when most of the work you could have done sitting at home on the computer.

I hate this school, I really fucking do. This program needs to be updated yesterday. You would think graphic design would be a more updated major but alas it's ran by people stuck in the dada movement who are obsessed with Paul rand and Saul bass.
Tue, 17 Mar 2015 02:28:27 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about UIC/UIllinois-Chicago for Biologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html College is really what you make of it. I'm a first year student here at UIC and my experience has been mostly positive. I didn't apply myself as much as I would have liked to this first year, and even... Tue, 23 Dec 2014 06:43:06 GMT StudentsReview 444-155492 444-155492 444 6 Biology Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Positive College is really what you make of it. I'm a first year student here at UIC and my experience has been mostly positive. I didn't apply myself as much as I would have liked to this first year, and even ended up dropping classes (which is okay) but it was completely avoidable if I had just attempted to study. You could say I became careless and too involved with the fun parts of college such as making friends and being involved in other UIC events. The quality of the education you will receive greatly depends on your teachers, but I have not had a teacher who was overly lacking. If you put in honest effort and try to gain something from your time at UIC you will be sure to reap its benefits. Tue, 23 Dec 2014 06:43:06 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIC_comments.html