StudentsReview - The University of Illinois Urbana - Champaign - Life at UIUC Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html Life at UIUC - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIUC for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html If you come from any sort of non-traditional background, don't go here. This school doesn't care about you. I'm glad to have found that other people have felt the same, because honestly, this school i... Thu, 22 Oct 2015 01:43:34 GMT StudentsReview 445-171483 445-171483 445 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2016 4th Year Negative If you come from any sort of non-traditional background, don't go here. This school doesn't care about you. I'm glad to have found that other people have felt the same, because honestly, this school is terrible if you haven't had your life handed out to you in a silver platter.

If you come into any difficulties during your time at the university, the administration will do anything to make it seem like it's your fault. Especially if you're a non-traditional student.

I took a couple years off from UIUC (was first enrolled in 2009) because tuition was getting too expensive, so I worked full-time in the interim, and I don't qualify for many financial aid options.

When I came back last year, I was treated like crap. I asked for help to transition back into student life, and didn't get much of a response. So if you've been away for awhile from any academic work? Ha, good luck getting any assistance here. You're not a person here, just tuition revenue the administrators can bank on.

Want to major in CS? Good luck even registering for the entry-level classes. They're consistently overbooked, and the university clearly doesn't care enough to fix it. It's a problem that they've acknowledged and yet continue to drag their feet on. The excuse I've often heard for this is "budget problems", but the CS department is one of the most well off departments here, so I find that incredibly suspect.

They talk a big game about diversity but don't even care about their current students, so take that with a grain of salt.

Don't go here if you don't want to feel like trash. It's not a good place to go to if you're not a suburban kid from a wealthy background, and even then, if you run into any problems with health or family or some other personal issue, like I mentioned, this university will do anything to make your life that much harder because they don't have a real structure in place to help students individually.
Thu, 22 Oct 2015 01:43:34 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about UIUC for Financehttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html Unbelievable great place to go to school. The diversity of the university and community is fantastic. There is so much to do. You have to be an introvert not to enjoy the campus.... Sun, 31 May 2015 01:44:56 GMT StudentsReview 445-161964 445-161964 445 79 Finance Female Undergraduate Class 2018 1st Year Positive Unbelievable great place to go to school. The diversity of the university and community is fantastic. There is so much to do. You have to be an introvert not to enjoy the campus. Sun, 31 May 2015 01:44:56 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UIUC for Nutritionhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html I did not plan on going to a big school, but I am glad I did. There is always so much to do on campus. There is definitely a place for everyone. I feel like people here in general are pretty open. The... Tue, 10 Mar 2015 07:48:47 GMT StudentsReview 445-158014 445-158014 445 73 Nutrition Female Undergraduate Class 2017 2nd Year Positive I did not plan on going to a big school, but I am glad I did. There is always so much to do on campus. There is definitely a place for everyone. I feel like people here in general are pretty open. The night life is fun, always something to do at night. I do wish some of my classes were more challenging, though I think the difficulty depends on the major. Sometimes I do question how people got in to UIUC, as there is a wide variety of intellectual ability. Overall, UIUC offers the classic college experience. Great campus. Tue, 10 Mar 2015 07:48:47 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIUC for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html I really didn't like being here and I don't feel that I had the best college experience. I lived in the 6pack and most of the kids were non engliish speaking asian, which i don't have a problem with b... Sat, 28 Feb 2015 03:24:16 GMT StudentsReview 445-157627 445-157627 445 7 Business - Management and Administration Female Undergraduate Class 2017 5th Year Negative I really didn't like being here and I don't feel that I had the best college experience. I lived in the 6pack and most of the kids were non engliish speaking asian, which i don't have a problem with but no one wanted to be friends on my dorm foor. I made friends in class but most classes were a joke Sat, 28 Feb 2015 03:24:16 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIUC for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html Math department at the UIUC caters to the needs of the professors, not the students. There is no collaboration among the students, professors have office hours - 1 hour a week- but they clock you out ... Sat, 14 Feb 2015 05:59:40 GMT StudentsReview 445-157354 445-157354 445 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Negative Math department at the UIUC caters to the needs of the professors, not the students. There is no collaboration among the students, professors have office hours - 1 hour a week- but they clock you out if you stayed even 1 more minute longer. Many professors in Math department do not speak English well enough to be good professors. The class selection is suitable for pure math, but not an applied math person. Math modelling classes are not offered, and financial math is only offered to Actuarial Science majors. Differential equations class is pure theory, no applied diffeq to economics, etc. Conclusion: if you like studying independently and want to be a pure math major and further apply for grad school in math, then the department may offer the right chance for you. Otherwise - do not come to this school for math. Chose Stats or Actuarial Science. Sat, 14 Feb 2015 05:59:40 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html