StudentsReview - The University of Illinois Urbana - Champaign - Life at UIUC Copyright 2018 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html Life at UIUC - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIUC for Engineering Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html As an agricultural engineering student, I can say that participating in a major that hasn't had a department head in years is probably the most work you can do to pass while learning next to nothing. ... Mon, 15 Oct 2018 08:15:07 GMT StudentsReview 445-183808 445-183808 445 61 Engineering Department Male Undergraduate Class 1921 2nd Year Negative As an agricultural engineering student, I can say that participating in a major that hasn't had a department head in years is probably the most work you can do to pass while learning next to nothing. Ignoring math and physics, which you obviously learn stuff in despite it being difficult, all of my specifically required courses have been extremely challenging without anything being taught. I feel like my major just consists of very challenging busy work. Nearly every engineering course I have taken so far has had lectures with required attendance and no text book, where they teach you uses and history of the technology they discuss, while never teaching you how to do anything. This forces lab TAs to teach everything, but many TAs do not speak English well or necessarily know what is going on. This forces students to use subscription based services like Chegg to give them answers and explanations, and form study groups only to find that no one knows anything about what is going on. Every class relies so heavily on self teaching that you absolutely would learn cheaper, faster, and more thoroughly by taking a 4 year break from life and studying engineering principles in your parents basement. At least then you could learn in your language of preference. Mon, 15 Oct 2018 08:15:07 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about UIUC for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html I spent 4 years at U of I and I wish I could spend 4 more years there. It is the quintessential Midwestern university, and combines academic rigor with a robust social scene. Go Illini!... Mon, 09 Jul 2018 11:55:19 GMT StudentsReview 445-183393 445-183393 445 0 Unknown Male Undergraduate Class 2018 4th Year Positive I spent 4 years at U of I and I wish I could spend 4 more years there. It is the quintessential Midwestern university, and combines academic rigor with a robust social scene.

Go Illini!
Mon, 09 Jul 2018 11:55:19 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIUC for Kinesiologyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html Waste of my time and money.... Tue, 23 Jan 2018 09:42:42 GMT StudentsReview 445-182427 445-182427 445 21 Kinesiology Female Undergraduate Class 2017 4th Year Negative Waste of my time and money. Tue, 23 Jan 2018 09:42:42 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIUC for Unknownhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html Terrible dorms Unsafe city There were murders, robberies, rapes Horrible advising- they do not care An abundance of useless majors.... Thu, 07 Dec 2017 05:35:05 GMT StudentsReview 445-182175 445-182175 445 0 Unknown Female Undergraduate Class 2016 4th Year Negative Terrible dorms
Unsafe city There were murders, robberies, rapes
Horrible advising- they do not care
An abundance of useless majors.
Thu, 07 Dec 2017 05:35:05 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Negative Review about UIUC for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html If you come from any sort of non-traditional background, don't go here. This school doesn't care about you. I'm glad to have found that other people have felt the same, because honestly, this school i... Thu, 22 Oct 2015 01:43:34 GMT StudentsReview 445-171483 445-171483 445 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2016 4th Year Negative If you come from any sort of non-traditional background, don't go here. This school doesn't care about you. I'm glad to have found that other people have felt the same, because honestly, this school is terrible if you haven't had your life handed out to you in a silver platter.

If you come into any difficulties during your time at the university, the administration will do anything to make it seem like it's your fault. Especially if you're a non-traditional student.

I took a couple years off from UIUC (was first enrolled in 2009) because tuition was getting too expensive, so I worked full-time in the interim, and I don't qualify for many financial aid options.

When I came back last year, I was treated like crap. I asked for help to transition back into student life, and didn't get much of a response. So if you've been away for awhile from any academic work? Ha, good luck getting any assistance here. You're not a person here, just tuition revenue the administrators can bank on.

Want to major in CS? Good luck even registering for the entry-level classes. They're consistently overbooked, and the university clearly doesn't care enough to fix it. It's a problem that they've acknowledged and yet continue to drag their feet on. The excuse I've often heard for this is "budget problems", but the CS department is one of the most well off departments here, so I find that incredibly suspect.

They talk a big game about diversity but don't even care about their current students, so take that with a grain of salt.

Don't go here if you don't want to feel like trash. It's not a good place to go to if you're not a suburban kid from a wealthy background, and even then, if you run into any problems with health or family or some other personal issue, like I mentioned, this university will do anything to make your life that much harder because they don't have a real structure in place to help students individually.
Thu, 22 Oct 2015 01:43:34 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/UIUC_comments.html