StudentsReview - Wheaton College - Life at WChttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html Life at WC - Comments en StudentsReview: Positive Review about WC for Englishhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html I had an incredible experience at Wheaton College. One thing I think Wheaton does very well is engender a healthy respect for academia. Also, I made incredible friends who are intelligent, authentic, ... Fri, 03 May 2013 01:51:40 GMT StudentsReview 447-93640 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 447-93640 447 17 English Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive I had an incredible experience at Wheaton College. One thing I think Wheaton does very well is engender a healthy respect for academia. Also, I made incredible friends who are intelligent, authentic, and know how to have fun. Fri, 03 May 2013 01:51:40 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html StudentsReview: Positive Review about WC for Philosophyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html If you're a serious evangelical Chistian, Wheaton is the best school in the world. The academics are challenging and meaningful, especially of you study humanities or science. You will work hard in ... Sun, 18 Dec 2011 06:28:45 GMT StudentsReview 447-83796 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 447-83796 447 32 Philosophy Male Undergraduate Class 2010 4th Year Positive If you're a serious evangelical Chistian, Wheaton is the best school in the world. The academics are challenging and meaningful, especially of you study humanities or science. You will work hard in any program, but the easiest are Business and Education. The science classes are the best at any Christian school anywhere, though the professors aren't quite as open and inspired as in other majors. It's a liberal arts school, so expect to take a lot of classes outside your major, but also expect them to be very high quality. Overall, Wheaton students take academics very seriously, and the Wheaton faculty is inspired and open. It's not rare for a professor to tear up in class because they care so much about what they teach - and that's pretty special.

The social life is good, though you have to be proactive to get involved. I highly recommend a summer program like HoneyRock or Wheaton in the Holy Lands to get the full Wheaton experience. Your friends will be very intelligent but usually fun loving. Theyre not as lame as the administration would like your parents to believe. Be prepared to a lot of late night academic conversations, and be prepared to be challenged as much by your peers as your professors.

Additionally, the number of missionary kids (mks) at Wheaton is one of the schools hidden gems. The importance of a worldwide, global emphasis is truly special at Wheaton, making the largely (though by no means completely) conservative student body far more flavorful and open minded than you might expect. Wheaton is a community as much as a school; be prepare for it.

Travel with a Wheaton program! You won't regret it.

Go to Wheaton! It's a great school and its relatively small number of graduates show up in important places all over the world!
Sun, 18 Dec 2011 06:28:45 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Neutral Review about WC for Philosophyhttp://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html Wheaton is perhaps the most highly academic college experience in the world for an Evangelical Christian - which, to be fair, is not a historically academic group as a whole. But if you care moving f... Wed, 07 Dec 2011 09:07:10 GMT StudentsReview 447-83490 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 447-83490 447 32 Philosophy Male Undergraduate Class 2004 4th Year Neutral Wheaton is perhaps the most highly academic college experience in the world for an Evangelical Christian - which, to be fair, is not a historically academic group as a whole. But if you care moving far beyond the superficial in your understanding of your world, and gaining a broad and diverse academic foundation for your life while living as a Christian, there is not a better school.

Incoming freshmen are stoutly conservative and lean towards closed minded. But a highly thoughtful and challenging faculty breaks most students of this within a couple of years - many (not all) students remain conservative, but they know why and they are more engaging than the conservative evangelical stereotype.

I had a wonderful experience with students at Wheaton, who as a whole are supportive, open, and highly intelligent. The athletes can be cliquish, and don't get a ton of student support. Students spend a ton of time studying, and little time out and around. There is a "Wheaton Bubble" you hear about from early on. But students have a lot of opportunity to socialize, though in pretty tame and non-edgy ways. If you like to party and drink, Wheaton is NOT for you, just know that coming in. There is an underground party movement at Wheaton, but only 10-15% of students ever experience it (I was one for a time) and most of them are 21+ upperclassmen.

As for coursework, get ready to work. You will have a ton of reading and writing, and serious labwork if you are a science major (I was Philosophy/premed). But the work is very helpful and meaningful, very rarely is there much busywork. And faculty are very available to help, though you do have to be proactive about seeking help. If you want to study humanities or theology, Wheaton is incredible. The science department is shockingly serious and professional for a Christian school. The social sciences are above average though not quite as strong as science and humanities. Business classes are average and the students less inspired as a whole than the rest of the school. The art department is below average. And if you didnt know, Wheaton has a large and active music cobservatory, and a good number of your peers will be conservies.

The administration is far, far more stodgy the faculty and students, and if you are in any way progressive, it will bother you. Still, they are far from judgmental and you won't be discriminated against. My brother is gay and at Wheaton, and while he's had some issues, he says he would certainly return. The students are especially kind and supportive to him, even if they don't agree with an active gay lifestyle.

Wheaton has some wonderful summer and study abroad programs. Among the best are Wheaton in the Holy Lands (which is bar-none the best Holy Lands summer program around), Honduras Project, Youth Hostel Program in Europe, and the programs at HoneyRock and the Black Hills science station. I highly recommend these programs, they are absolutely life changing. Classic study abroad programs are referred to outside agencies, and don't expect the credits earned to be much use. But the summer study programs off campus, and the social justice type extracurriculars are truly outstanding.

Here's my bottom line. If you're militantly liberal, or dead set on partying or living an alternative lifestyle, dont come. If you don't want to work hard or plan to study fine arts, look elsewhere. But I obviously loved Wheaton, and I made some wonderful friends and took huge steps forward into a deeper academic life. Expect to work, and expect to have a good time, with a little effort. Expact to question your faith and your beliefs, and to go a little crazy because of it. Expect to have your mind forced open. Expect to get involved and spend some summers in Wheaton programs if you want the full Wheaton experience. With some effort and sweat and courage, Wheaton is a place where a Christian can grow like nowhere else in the world. I highly recommend it.

Please email me if you have specific questions!
Wed, 07 Dec 2011 09:07:10 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about WC for History/Histories (art history/etc.)http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html I came to Wheaton expecting to absolutely hate it (long story of why I came). Needless to say, it has changed my mind. I would recommend it 100% to any thinking Christian. The other students will p... Sat, 08 Oct 2011 04:36:34 GMT StudentsReview 447-81686 Copyright 2014 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. 447-81686 447 41 History/Histories (art history/etc.) Female Undergraduate Class 2011 4th Year Positive I came to Wheaton expecting to absolutely hate it (long story of why I came). Needless to say, it has changed my mind. I would recommend it 100% to any thinking Christian. The other students will probably not challenge you a lot - lots of silly rich white kids - but the faculty WILL. If you want good, strong academics in a friendly environment, this is your place. It is devoutly Christian but the faculty's brains are not turned off - they make you think about your beliefs.
I have to admit that I didn't like other students very much - they are all very much 'prep' stock and have little imagination. However, I will say this: they are all extremely friendly. There is very little rudeness here, and many of the kids have warm, good hearts, even if they don't have much going on upstairs. By senior year, though, many of them have started thinking because the faculty gives them no other choice.
Yes, the drinking rules are a pain, but you know what? If you don't like it, don't come. Easy as that. If drinking is that important to you - and trust me, I do enjoy it - then make your choice. Don't come and then whine.
One word of warning: if you want to be an art student, do not come to Wheaton. Yes, it is a lovely place with genius faculty and nice kids. Will you be challenged as an artist? Absolutely not. I'm only into art as a hobby and even I could see that the art department falls way, way flat. Art critique and history classes are pretty good, but the actual art classes themselves are not worth your time.

All that being said, I thought I had nothing to learn from these people. I was wrong. Keep your chin up and your mind open, and you will learn so, so much. You are at college for learning, not campus life. This school is about learning, not campus life, even though lots of freshies came here thinking it was all about campus life. If you want learning, you will learn here. The professors here have so much to teach you. You will grow - and growing is painful. But you WILL grow.
Sat, 08 Oct 2011 04:36:34 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/IL/WC_comments.html