StudentsReview - Ryerson University - Life at Ryerson Copyright 2015 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html Life at Ryerson - Comments en StudentsReview: Negative Review about Ryerson for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html This is for anybody thinking of going to Ryerson to study FASHION DESIGN or FASHION COMMUNICATIONS: DO NOT DO IT. Studying fashion at Ryerson was an absolute and total waste of time. It would have bee... Sat, 02 May 2015 09:17:53 GMT StudentsReview 4766-160737 4766-160737 4766 60 Art & Design Department Male Undergraduate Class 2008 4th Year Negative This is for anybody thinking of going to Ryerson to study FASHION DESIGN or FASHION COMMUNICATIONS: DO NOT DO IT. Studying fashion at Ryerson was an absolute and total waste of time. It would have been far more valuable to have studied BUSINESS and simply applied that to a fashion company.

Graduates of the fashion program are chronically underemployed/unemployed.

I cannot get back the years that I spent studying fashion at Ryerson but if I could talk to myself at 18, I would have told myself to get a more useful education. It was a rough ride after school finished and many graduates now work in retail, which can be done without this expensive degree. It also really paints you into a corner as far as applying to master's degrees and getting into other fields.

I 100% DO NOT recommend the Ryerson School of Fashion. It was a huge waste of money and time that did nothing to help me form a career.

Do yourself a favor and get a useful degree!
Sat, 02 May 2015 09:17:53 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about Ryerson for Business - Management and Administrationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html This is for people applying to business. If you are very smart, know how to succeed in school, and will be a student leader, then maybe go to Ryerson as a fallback. If you are average and will be gett... Sun, 02 Nov 2014 11:00:39 GMT StudentsReview 4766-152605 4766-152605 4766 7 Business - Management and Administration Male Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Advice This is for people applying to business. If you are very smart, know how to succeed in school, and will be a student leader, then maybe go to Ryerson as a fallback. If you are average and will be getting a GPA of 3.5/4.33 or below then absolutely do not go to Ryerson. Why? Because if you go to Western, Queens, UofT, UBC, York, etc. and achieve a 2.3/4, you can still get into capital markets, consulting, public accounting, etc. while at Ryerson you will need to get very close to 4.0 or above to get into these same fields. Even if you want to do marketing and go work for MLSE, Kraft, Coke, Pepsi, P&G, Nike, etc. just do not go to Ryerson. It's just the way it is. People can say "oh yay Ryerson is growing it's the best place to be right now". That is simply poor advice. If you want a good job, you are way better off going to the other schools, regardless of Ryerson's specialty programs and other noise. People are nice, downtown is really fun, courses are easy, etc. but you will not look back fondly on these memories if 4 years after graduation you still work at moxie's behind the bar. Sun, 02 Nov 2014 11:00:39 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Ryerson for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html There are a decent number of ok and good professors at Ryerson, but the terrible profs are so bad that I just can not bring myself to say one good thing about Ryerson. Avoid Mason, Mastoras and Panar ... Thu, 24 Apr 2014 03:22:52 GMT StudentsReview 4766-106696 4766-106696 4766 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2015 3rd Year Negative There are a decent number of ok and good professors at Ryerson, but the terrible profs are so bad that I just can not bring myself to say one good thing about Ryerson. Avoid Mason, Mastoras and Panar like the plague (except you can't because they teach mandatory courses). Their level of incompetence and uncaring knows no limit.
Overall the Computer Science program here is a complete joke. If you have half a brain you can pass anything easily. 3/4ths of a brain and you can be on the Dean's list every year.
Expect to learn nothing of value and waste four years of your life rotting your brain.
Try to take a 16 month internship (preferably two 8 month internships back to back at different places). It will be of infinite more value than anything else here. If possible don't do it between 2nd and 3rd year, you will come back to the realization that you still have 2 more years of crap to go, which after doing real world work feels like an eternity.

Also, Ryerson needs to get rid of the homeless people on campus. Disgusting.
Thu, 24 Apr 2014 03:22:52 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Ryerson for Nutritionhttp://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html The campus is fairly small, which I love. And is situated just a 5 minute walk from Downtown Toronto, therefore there is always something to do. All of my teachers speak English as a first language an... Thu, 06 Dec 2012 10:45:40 GMT StudentsReview 4766-90825 4766-90825 4766 73 Nutrition Female Undergraduate Class 2016 1st Year Positive The campus is fairly small, which I love. And is situated just a 5 minute walk from Downtown Toronto, therefore there is always something to do. All of my teachers speak English as a first language and are very personable. Program is competitive but worth getting into. Overall love my experience at Ryerson so far. Thu, 06 Dec 2012 10:45:40 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Ryerson for Aerospace Engineeringhttp://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html I'm currently an Aerospace Engineer entering my 3rd year at Ryerson. The faculty are very helpful and approachable, the course work for some profs are suitable others hard, and some less than desirea... Sat, 18 Aug 2012 12:10:32 GMT StudentsReview 4766-88930 4766-88930 4766 2 Aerospace Engineering Male Undergraduate Class 2014 2nd Year Neutral I'm currently an Aerospace Engineer entering my 3rd year at Ryerson. The faculty are very helpful and approachable, the course work for some profs are suitable others hard, and some less than desireable. The TA's seem to help you but can be snooty at times just like the students. The professors accommodate various schedules and try to listen/help the students. Sat, 18 Aug 2012 12:10:32 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/Canada/Ontario_RU_comments.html