StudentsReview - Berea College - Life at Berea Copyright 2016 StudentsReview, Ecliptical Technologies, Inc. http://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html Life at Berea - Comments en StudentsReview: Advice Review about Berea for Mathhttp://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html All I can say is that if you are bright and are looking for a career in industry or to make money by getting a job, or that is your first priority, surely come here. A bright student here can do that ... Sun, 03 Jan 2016 11:16:13 GMT StudentsReview 516-172265 516-172265 516 23 Math Male Undergraduate Class 2017 4th Year Advice All I can say is that if you are bright and are looking for a career in industry or to make money by getting a job, or that is your first priority, surely come here. A bright student here can do that with a little effort on his/her side.

If you wanna come here and become good (may be even an expert) in applied subjects such as economics or computer science, surely come here again. It is possible to do so.

However, if you are looking to be an intellectual, a leading expert, in the field of mathematics or theoretical physics, turn around and run. Run fast and run as far as you can. If you want to end up as a leading research expert in the field and create knowledge, I am sorry, turn around and run again. It is already very difficult to achieve such a goal at any place (even at Cambridge or Caltech or you name it), but Berea college is a special shit-hole for these kind of goals.
Sun, 03 Jan 2016 11:16:13 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Advice Review about Berea for Otherhttp://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html Berea College has a great mission statement, but the college is NOT for everyone. When I decided to attend the college I did not realize how unhappy I would become as time progressed. There are numero... Wed, 12 Aug 2015 12:19:19 GMT StudentsReview 516-169469 516-169469 516 53 Other Female Undergraduate Class 2019 2nd Year Advice Berea College has a great mission statement, but the college is NOT for everyone. When I decided to attend the college I did not realize how unhappy I would become as time progressed. There are numerous of things that bothered me about the college and town, but I am going to briefly discuss a couple of them.

First, in my department of studies I truly felt as though the professors did not care for me as a student and person (their actions spoke louder than their words). Second, many of the students are arrogant and depressing looking (and yes I am talking about Berea College studens). Lastly, I felt like a kid. I believe college is more than academics, but having the opportunity to grow in every other way that is not related to a letter grade. I can go on for days about Berea College and elaborate further on the things I talked about previously, but for the sake of this I am not.

I must express I may not make sense and seem all over the place, but it will take you attending the college to see.

If I can give any advice to prospective students it would be PLEASE do your research before coming here and do not let the lack of money be the only reason you apply. Also, if you come from a large, diverse, and fun city be prepared for the worse experience of your life. The only semi-fun thing to do in Berea is go to Wal-Mart.
Wed, 12 Aug 2015 12:19:19 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html
StudentsReview: Positive Review about Berea for Educationhttp://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html Like any school you get out of it what you put in. Berea is a great platform for your future.... Sat, 27 Sep 2014 11:35:24 GMT StudentsReview 516-137264 516-137264 516 15 Education Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Positive Like any school you get out of it what you put in. Berea is a great platform for your future. Sat, 27 Sep 2014 11:35:24 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html StudentsReview: Negative Review about Berea for Art & Design Departmenthttp://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html Not a very progressive school in action in terms of diversity. Few Black Students, Few Gay Students, Few Jewish Students. The teachers in my department were not very up to date in their field. I at... Sat, 21 Jun 2014 01:37:01 GMT StudentsReview 516-111581 516-111581 516 60 Art & Design Department Male Undergraduate Alumnus Class 2000 Negative Not a very progressive school in action in terms of diversity. Few Black Students, Few Gay Students, Few Jewish Students. The teachers in my department were not very up to date in their field. I attended graduate school and had to do a lot of catch up of material never covered. No co-ed dorms and you are pretty much treated as a kid. I moved to a large city after this and it was like starting over again getting used to diversity. There is very little alumni outreach other than asking for money and trying to engage is not really appreciated. Very insulated to itself. The people I met after college from the North East really showed me what a quality education can do in terms of thought and diverse thinking. Most students go there because the tuition is cheap but the life experience is backwards. If you can afford a college with a more liberal administration go there. All the presidents have been white heterosexual married men so that tells you everything. If you are a white heterosexual male this place thinks like that. Warren Wilson would be a much better choice and if I had been better informed I would have sought a more liberal college experience for undergraduate studies. Sat, 21 Jun 2014 01:37:01 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html StudentsReview: Neutral Review about Berea for Computer Sciencehttp://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html This will be the biggest mistake of your life. Be sure to research the average starting salary from this school compared to the nation average. You get what you pay for. Additionally, students that me... Tue, 13 May 2014 01:11:10 GMT StudentsReview 516-108183 516-108183 516 12 Computer Science Male Undergraduate Class 2014 4th Year Neutral This will be the biggest mistake of your life. Be sure to research the average starting salary from this school compared to the nation average. You get what you pay for. Additionally, students that meet the financial eligibility requirements for this college will typically be eligible for similar offers from state universities, especially in the student's home state...Do not be fooled by the PR department's doublespeak; you will regret attending this school. Tue, 13 May 2014 01:11:10 GMT http://www.studentsreview.com/KY/BAC_comments.html